We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Miami
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Okay ... this hotel is quite expensive but you get a 5 star service, surroundings, pool, food.
I love the location, on a small island. So you can run around in the island in the morning to get ready for the Mandarin wonderful breakfast. The hotel reception is superb, "grandiose" and the rooms are beautiful. Fee great to walk around the hotel premises.
The pool is nice (next to the run path surrounding the island).
Great experience overall. If I can afford it this is the hotel i will go back to next time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    252
    98
    43
    37
See reviews for
185
484
70
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It is a given when you are with your favorite person- anywhere you vacation is divine. However in this case, I can't explain what an amazing experience we had. I have never written a review in all the years I have been traveling but this was a must! The grounds and location were top notch...but what really blew our minds was the impeccable service we received from check-in to the unfortunate check-out! Every single staff member were incredibly accommodating and friendly...as if they couldn't do enough for us...the front desk, valet, concierge, housekeeping, wait staff and above all...the Pool and "Beach" staff...especially Cesso and Enrique...we will miss them!
Thank you-Thank you...for one unforgettable experience! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Mandarin Executive...would do it again or even upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Instead of staying at our usual favorite place in Miami Beach, we decided to try the Mandarin in downtown Miami. We never regretted it. While the hotel seems to be dedicated to both business and leisure travelers, we didn't feel for a moment that we had a corporate experience. While lacking "the beach" the setting of this hotel on Brickell Key offers great views, convenience to restaurants in the metro area, and a neighborhood feeling, right off Brickell. Service -- from bell men, to front desk agents, to staff in restaurants were uniformly superb, always available and aiming to please. Breakfast at La Mar was first rate. The Spa was serene and welcoming. The gym could use some updating, but the setting is perfect for runners.

Room Tip: High floor, with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

As anybody who is considering booking this hotel will know, this was a pretty expensive hotel and we were expecting 5 star treatment when we arrived. This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were expecting a special experience. When we arrived we did not get the standard of room we had booked as we arrived late at night and the hotel was fully booked. They were apologetic and assured us that we would be moved to the room we had booked for the rest of our stay, They compensated us with a bottle of champagne and $100 hotel credit. We agreed with this as it was late and we were tired. We packed up our bags the next day ready to be moved. When we went to reception they told us that the room we had booked was not available and we would be able to move the following night. We were annoyed but they said there was nothing they could do and that we should not have been told that we would be moved. We found out later that Forbes were having a convention there so they obviously prioritised their custom over ours. Over the four days and nights we were there little problems mounted. Room service was an hour and a half late and breakfast took 45 minutes to be delivered so we decided to make an appointment with the manager Pearline to just highlight our concerns. She listened to us and seemed to be quite understanding and agreed that the service was not satisfactory but ultimately decided to do nothing to compensate us. When we checked out the next day we checked our bill, having spent almost another $1000 on food, drink and services during our stay and no adjustments were made. We were quite unhappy but as we had the rest of our honeymoon to look forward to we said we'd leave it there and move on. The concierge called a cab and after 45 minutes waiting and watching a couple who arrived after us been given a complementary shuttle to the airport from the hotel we were quite upset. We asked to speak to the manager again and the on duty manager Mark came out. He listened to our concerns and agreed that the service we received was not satisfactory and that he would again review our bill. Later that day we did get reimbursed $150.

The hotel looks fantastic and it would be easy to believe that it is fantastic but when you dig a little deeper this is well short of a five star experience and we would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing on this very special occasion. I regret that we did not provide the level of service we strive to extend to all our guests and I apologize for the inconveniences experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team and make immediate improvements.

I hope you will give us another opportunity and I am at your service for any future assistance.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Miami for four nights in February and had a wonderful experience from the time I arrived until the time I left. The hotel was beautiful and service was superior. Rooms were large and beautifully decorated. You will feel instantly relaxed as soon as you walk in. The large marble bathroom featured a large shower, large soaking tub, and separate toilet area. The balcony offers wonderful views and adds to the serene experience.

The pool area is very relaxing and offers a wonderful view of the bay. The man-made beach is also a wonderful relaxing area.

Every element of the customer service was exceptional. If I could give the service more than five stars, I would. I was regularly greeted by name as I entered and exited the hotel. The concierge service was extremely helpful as well, recommending fantastic dinner spots.

The food at the hotel was also delicious. For breakfast, I visited the coffee stand which offers an assortment of bagels, pastries, and other similar selections. For lunch, I ate at the restaurant by the pool, which offers an assortment of sushi, sandwiches, salads, and burgers. For dinner, I visited Azul, which offers delicious Asian Fusion cuisine. I highly recommend ordering the key lime pie for dessert.

One thing to keep in mind is that South Beach/Miami Beach is a little bit far from the hotel. You will need to take a taxi that will take about 20-30 minutes (depending on traffic) and will cost about $30. That being said, the hotel is in a serene location on Brickell Bay - very private, safe, and amazing views of downtown Miami and the ocean.

I highly recommend the Mandarin Oriental Miami, and am looking forward to staying there again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mandarin for one night prior to our flight back to the UK.

The stay was enjoyable from start to finish - excellent location, lovely room and attentive staff, we couldn't ask for more! We did have breakfast on the day of our departure and it was excellent, both a la carte and from the buffet.

If we are back in Miami we would certainly return to the Mandarin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the MO Miami after transferrring from a noisy SoBe Hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Despite being a large, multi-use hotel we felt that the staff were very polite, familiar and were able to recognise us from day to day. Our room was verycomfortable, and on return (we had visited the Caribbean in between trips to Miami) we were upgraded to a Junior Suite.

Rooms are well furnished, extremely clean and light - both of our rooms had large balconies and views over Brickell. The bar was lively and had a good atmosphere, and La Mar is a superb restaurant and surprisingly good value for money. The breakfast buffet is very good - a wide choice of food and a lively atmosphere. We would definitely return if visiting Miami again, and reinforced already very positive impressions we have of the Mandarin Oriental as a chain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.