We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #4 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
California, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

the staff was amazing here. The service was excellent. Its very nice hotel. My room faced east for sunrisres. it would be nice to have temperature in room adjustable to 60 degrees below the preset minimum of 65 degrees. I enjoyed the running trail of 1.3 miles around the island. Nice pool area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    304
    123
    49
    42
See reviews for
255
637
88
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

What can you say, its a Mandarin property first and foremost. Awesome location and the staff was amazing. Love..Love the private beach..you will not find a bad room. I will definitely be back! The beach area was a great spot and had every amenity you could imagine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

MO truly treated my girlfriend and I like royalty! MO was very attentive to our needs, from start to finish. Such a beautiful hotel and perfect experience. Very, very luxurious hotel and the customer service is superior! MO gave us so much more than we imagined and it was truly the best priced hotel. The service desk was very informative, and after a long travel everything was such smooth sailing. Outstanding service from Devin! The valet parking staff was so respectful and polite. Thanks so much Aieser and Angel!! They made returning to MO each day a delight. Best 3 day weekend I could ask for from a hotel! The room is exactly as the pictures on their website, so beautiful and clean. Housekeeping did an amazing job as well! My girlfriend loved her birthday surprise! Thank you Layal! Such a beautiful chocolate truffle!
Bottom line: Everyone we came in contact with provided superior customer service. We received more than we paid for and it was just a beautiful experience. The spa and pool was very beautiful as well! MO is away from the busy Miami strip but still close access to everywhere. Very peaceful and spectacular!! Do look forward to visiting again, as this was our first time there. Truly a Mandarin Oriental Experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

To be candid, this is not the nicest Mandarin Oriental. However, it is still a pretty nice hotel. Brickell Key is quiet area near the business district and we appreciated being away from the hustle and bustle of Miami Beach. We enjoyed the spa, breakfast, pool area (with passed complimentary smoothies and fresh fruit) and appreciated the quality of the turndown service. The negatives - the hallways were stained (significant ink stains on the carpet) and there was some damage to the wall in our room. Generally, our "upgraded" room was nice, but not special. It was also strange that the bathroom was so open to the rest of the room. The beach area is not a real beach, and the shipyards are in view. I was completely unimpressed with the concierge desk - very inexperienced and I also got the feeling that the staff was more concerned with being expeditious than accommodating. I similarly felt that way about checkout. We requested a late checkout, which was granted. However, our key was still deactivated prior to our checkout. When we were locked out of our room after the pool, the manager (Luis) was very unapologetic, which seems inconsistent with a luxury brand. If, in fact, our key was going to be deactivated, we should have been told that when we were extended late checkout. If it was such a problem for the hotel, we should not have been granted late checkout. I did not appreciate Luis's attitude, where he reluctantly extended our late checkout by 10 minutes to placate us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very important to us.
I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with our colleagues and reinforce training, efficiency and attention to detail as we wish for all our guests to have a memorable and enjoyable stay at the hotel.

I will also address the lapses in services you experienced by some of our colleagues and take corrective measures.

Although we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with a Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man made beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

We focus on maintaining and updating the guest room furnishings and decor while ensuring total comfort for all of our guests. We will certainly take your comments concerning the guest room into consideration and make immediate improvements.

Again, our apologies for the disappointing stay. I do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity with a return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami in the future. Please contact the Executive Office for any future assistance.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Don't let the prices of this hotel sway you, staying here is worth every single solitary penny you will spend. From the open air lobby to the gorgeous rooms, there isn't a thing that I would change about this property. I highly recommend getting a room with a city view, nothing beats sitting out on the expansive balcony and taking in that gorgeous night skyline. Take a dip in the infinity edge pool, order a few drinks and learn what true relaxation really is. Amazing atmosphere, equally amazing staff! We have stayed here several times in the past and look forward to many future visits as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better view of the skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a 5-night stay in this hotel. There were minor issues when we checked into our room eg expired light bulbs, batteries in safe and tv controller depleted, but these we're attended to promptly. We requested, and received, a complimentary tea tray in our room for the duration of our stay. We've stayed at MO hotels in a number of locations and they've all been excellent, however I totally object to being charged high prices (or at all, for that matter!) for wifi when travelling far from home and, for that reason, will stay elsewhere in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

this was a great hotel and I would recommend it...service was amazing and the food was great... prices were nice too, I stayed for 3 days had a beautiful time close to everything... must stay.... we had visited before but never stayed at this hotel next time we visit we will make sure to stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Viceroy Miami
Viceroy Miami
#15 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.