We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My perfect getaway !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 hotels in Miami
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“My perfect getaway !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent service and room amenities . Even though I stayed there at the same time as Real Madrid Team and the hotel was surrounded by the fans, I still could find peace and privacy.
The staff was so nice , friendly , and very professional.


However; I would not recommend this hotel for those looking for lively South Beach atmosphere.

But if you are looking for peaceful place to stay , you should not look elsewhere :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    234
    88
    40
    36
See reviews for
170
435
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Its a quite Hotel near Downtown Miami. Its large but feels like a boutique hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. Room service was fast and food decent. Great for a business traveller who needs to be close to Downtown but wanst an hotel on the water with great views to relax in the evenings. My only complaint was the a/c wasn't running very well and I prefer a cold room. I would have asked to switch but, didn't feel up to all the bother.

Room Tip: Check A/C when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While South Beach is unquestionably a better place to be located for access to night life and beaches, the Mandarin Oriental is a great option for business travelers or conference attendees who won't have time in their schedule to leave the hotel. It's unquestionably the best hotel in the downtown area. While swimming isn't permitted off the man-made island, it does have a great swimming pool and beach area. Only downside is that it is surprisingly hard to get taxis to pick up from the hotel in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stay four nights and our experience was fantastic. Room had a great view, beds were really good and room was full with details to pamper the guest, like audio tv system, it was great! The bathroom was very roomy and was plenty of all kind of little luxuries that you don't get in other places. The beach area was really nice and relaxing, great view of the bay, though no access to the sea through it as we thought but it was a great spot to rest. Pool was very nice too, hotel was not busy so this was a very nice place to lounge around. If you like to jog or walk Brickell key is the place to do it, 1.3 miles around with wonderful views everywhere you go, sea, city scape, manicured gardens everywhere, a lot of people exercising or walking their dogs makes the exercise so enjoyable. Everyday after I return from my morning jogging I was welcomed back at the door with cold water, hand towel, apples and a great smile opening the door for me.
Concierge service was fantastic, they gave us great tip on what to do anywhere to go. All the staff was fantastic, Cindy at the front desk, always helpful and wonderful with suggestions. Valet parking was fantastic too!! Even though we are coffee drinkers and there was no coffee maker in the room, complimentary coffee was provided in the mornings from 5:00 to 8:30AM, I would suggest the hotel to offer complimentary coffee in the evening too. Room service was prompt and excellent too.
Try Mary Brickell village place for more affordable food options. It's in walking distance and had excellent options to have a nice lunch or dinner, specially "Burger and beer joint "place, hamburgers were fantastic, the free trolley outside the hotel will take you here too, the trolley is a great way to enjoy around without worrying about the traffic.
Visit Bayside marketplace for other dining options, it's not far either and has a great environment and live music.
I think my only complain would lack of free Wi-Fi even in the lobby, I'm sure management will hear us on this
Thanks to all the staff and Mandarin Oriental for a fantastic vacation, hope to come back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

From checkin to checkout this is everything you would expect from a five Star international hotel. We were celebrating our 25 Wedding Anniversary and decided to spend 3 nights at the Mandarin Oriental.

The room on the 20th floor had a fabulous view of downtown and the Bay. The room was a Mandarin Oriental Executive Suite and was a delight. The only down side was having to pay extra for wifi and no in room coffee/tea making facilities.

The Concierge was very helpful in suggesting alternative restaurants to the Hotels and helped us to find the Big Red Bus tour location.

Dining at the Hotel is an option, however, a cheaper option, are the restaurants clustered around the Mary Brickell Village, which is a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I enjoyed a brief stay-over in Miami recently. Although it was one night, the stay was pure relaxation. The room with a view of Miami Beach was extraordinary, a lovely patio with lounge chairs made for a great place to just relax and read my book while enjoying the South Florida climate. In true Mandarin tradition, the room was both lush and comfortable, in fact the bed is so comfortable, my concern is always over-sleeping. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was perfect! The staff attentive, capable and friendly. Although the location is a bit off the beaten path on Bricknell Key, some (including myself) find this seclusion from the sobe crowds a refreshing change....Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked this hotel online as part of the "see more of Miami" deal. We paid for two nights and got our third free. Situated on Brickell key the location is quite exclusive. The hotel itself is beautiful and we lucked out with a suite on the top floor with views of downtown and out over the water. We loved the room and it's facilities, but weren't really there long enough to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer as our aim was to get out and about and experience Miami. We didn't dine at the hotel or use the spa and the weather kept us away for the pool/beach area.

Nevertheless we had a lovely stay at the Mandarin Oriental which is well located for exploring the Mary Brickell Village and bayside marketplace - both if which are an easy walk from the hotel.

My only complaint would be that at a hotel of this standard I wouldn't expect to pay extra for Internet access - but we did! Also, Valet parking was the only option for the car and was expensive at about $36 per day! They should include the internet and valet parking in the room rate!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor overlooking the city skyline - the views are to die for - you won't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.