We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

After a busy stay in New York, the Mandarin was the perfect place for me and my wife to relax for a few days. The hotel itself is excellent. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The bathroom was massive. Staff were always polite and very helpful and we made good use of the fitness suite which was fairly well kitted out. The pool was a little small for the size of the hotel, but overall it is a great place to stay. As other reviews have said, it is about $25 taxi to south beach, but there are a few nice restaurants close by in a small complex just off Brickell key.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank supersunfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
ayrshire scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami for our honeymoon was truely a wonderful experience. From the moment you walk into the foyer, you enter a calming, relaxed environment.
We found the staff to be very friendly and extremely approachable. The concierge provided great information on restaurants to visit. Staff at the pool and the beach were very attentive, making up beds and bringing water throughout the day. The beach is beautiful and extremely relaxing and the pool and outdoor spa bath also ideal.
The rooms were extremely spacious,especially the bathroom and were kept immaculately clean by the maids who visited twice daily. Every day, a goodnight mat was left on the floor, alongside a next day weather report and a quote with an orchid. each of these little touches added to the experience.
The views were simply stunning looking over biscayne bay.
Although the hotel is located in downtown Miami and requires transport to South beach, the superb facilties at the hotel encourage you to spend most of your time at the hotel which we did. There are plenty of places near to the hotel to eat and drink, one of the best being the Rosa mexicana only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I would definately recommend staying at the Mandarin in Miami as I found it to be very luxurious. I am now looking at staying at one of the hotels in another country as I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday in the Mandarin in Miami.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eaglesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Mandarin Oriental Miami has luxury in it's backpocket. We felt like we were royalty from the airport to the property and back again. Everything we desired was a phone call away with a staff that delivered graciously. The views were beautiful and the rooms were like little jewel boxes. The smallest details were seen to and perfected.

It was truly two days of comfort.

  • Liked — The room and the view
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Counselorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the hotel recently for 3 nights. The Hotel location was a disappointment. Although you have a nice view over Biscayne Bay, I would have preferred to be on South Beach which was a $25 cab ride each way. The hotel is not really up to the usual Mandarin Oriental standard. Having stayed at Mandarin Oriental properties in Asia, this one looks dated. The rooms are nothing special. Very little asian influence and very bland. The bathrooms are a good size and well equipped, but again, nothing special. I guess I have high expectations of Mandarin Oriental and have never been disappointed (up until now). On the plus side, the concierge, and Giselle are worth a mention. She was fantastic in assisting with restaurant reservations and an excellent choice of bars/clubs etc. The pool at the Hotel is also a good size, but again, looks dated. The private beach is really not much bigger then a sand-pit and not at all what I expected! Would I stay here again, well....you know what, probably not. I bet there are other properties in Miami for a similar price but of a much higher standard and in a much better location. I guess to sum up, the hotel was average and more worthy of a Sheraton, but not a typical Mandarin Oriental.

  • Liked — The Concierge Team lead by Giselle
  • Disliked — Location and Hotel decoration
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian&Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

In September 2007, I stayed here for three nights on business and it was a fantastic time. I booked through the Mandarin website hotel directly and received a great deal - probably because it was toward the end of summer (low season) - but still nice time. The room had a unique layout and was wonderful since it was not your typical box hotel room you see more and more of these days in chain hotels. King bed very soothing, sofa and seating area cozy and comfortable.

Bathroom was maginficient - great soaking tub and see through shower so you can see outside - great shower head. Toiletries top notch as expected.

The small things really made it, for example, the mini box of chocolate waiting for you, the full ice bucket set up for you every night and the orchard.

The only problems I had were hotel key demagnetized and the television was old and picture quality very fuzzy.

Had some time off from business and spent it in the pool - so calm.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — television
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scottyb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I recently had a fantastic stay at the Mandarin in MIA. The service was excellent from start to finish. The door/valet staff was friendly, engaging, and above all knowledgeable!

The room was spotless, all of the mundane details that some places miss were addressed with overwhelming consistency.

They truly exceeded my every expectation which is not an easy thing to do. Great job!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HotelHelixAGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Overall a fantastic property with incredible levels of service. The only downside is no beach - but, took the shuttle/option of using Casa Casuarina (former Versace mansion) on South Beach one day and it was such a nice change of pace. Pricey but worth it - you don't mind paying premium prices when you get what you pay for. Just be aware the hotel is NOT on the beach and in fact has very little beach/swimming compared to actually being on South Beach. On the other hand, it is more relaxing and not as hectic as the overall South Beach experience. Rooms are perfect - no problems - great bed and great bathroom. I have stayed in two room types and any room at this property from a furnishings/functionality perspective is very nice. No request went ignored and overall staff training/experience level is second to none.

  • Liked — Everything - high levels of service and perfection to guest requests.
  • Disliked — Somewhat of an off the beaten path location and remote - but worth it.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#4 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing