We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

After a busy stay in New York, the Mandarin was the perfect place for me and my wife to relax for a few days. The hotel itself is excellent. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The bathroom was massive. Staff were always polite and very helpful and we made good use of the fitness suite which was fairly well kitted out. The pool was a little small for the size of the hotel, but overall it is a great place to stay. As other reviews have said, it is about $25 taxi to south beach, but there are a few nice restaurants close by in a small complex just off Brickell key.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    249
    96
    42
    37
See reviews for
184
472
70
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami for our honeymoon was truely a wonderful experience. From the moment you walk into the foyer, you enter a calming, relaxed environment.
We found the staff to be very friendly and extremely approachable. The concierge provided great information on restaurants to visit. Staff at the pool and the beach were very attentive, making up beds and bringing water throughout the day. The beach is beautiful and extremely relaxing and the pool and outdoor spa bath also ideal.
The rooms were extremely spacious,especially the bathroom and were kept immaculately clean by the maids who visited twice daily. Every day, a goodnight mat was left on the floor, alongside a next day weather report and a quote with an orchid. each of these little touches added to the experience.
The views were simply stunning looking over biscayne bay.
Although the hotel is located in downtown Miami and requires transport to South beach, the superb facilties at the hotel encourage you to spend most of your time at the hotel which we did. There are plenty of places near to the hotel to eat and drink, one of the best being the Rosa mexicana only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I would definately recommend staying at the Mandarin in Miami as I found it to be very luxurious. I am now looking at staying at one of the hotels in another country as I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday in the Mandarin in Miami.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Mandarin Oriental Miami has luxury in it's backpocket. We felt like we were royalty from the airport to the property and back again. Everything we desired was a phone call away with a staff that delivered graciously. The views were beautiful and the rooms were like little jewel boxes. The smallest details were seen to and perfected.

It was truly two days of comfort.

  • Liked — The room and the view
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the hotel recently for 3 nights. The Hotel location was a disappointment. Although you have a nice view over Biscayne Bay, I would have preferred to be on South Beach which was a $25 cab ride each way. The hotel is not really up to the usual Mandarin Oriental standard. Having stayed at Mandarin Oriental properties in Asia, this one looks dated. The rooms are nothing special. Very little asian influence and very bland. The bathrooms are a good size and well equipped, but again, nothing special. I guess I have high expectations of Mandarin Oriental and have never been disappointed (up until now). On the plus side, the concierge, and Giselle are worth a mention. She was fantastic in assisting with restaurant reservations and an excellent choice of bars/clubs etc. The pool at the Hotel is also a good size, but again, looks dated. The private beach is really not much bigger then a sand-pit and not at all what I expected! Would I stay here again, well....you know what, probably not. I bet there are other properties in Miami for a similar price but of a much higher standard and in a much better location. I guess to sum up, the hotel was average and more worthy of a Sheraton, but not a typical Mandarin Oriental.

  • Liked — The Concierge Team lead by Giselle
  • Disliked — Location and Hotel decoration
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

In September 2007, I stayed here for three nights on business and it was a fantastic time. I booked through the Mandarin website hotel directly and received a great deal - probably because it was toward the end of summer (low season) - but still nice time. The room had a unique layout and was wonderful since it was not your typical box hotel room you see more and more of these days in chain hotels. King bed very soothing, sofa and seating area cozy and comfortable.

Bathroom was maginficient - great soaking tub and see through shower so you can see outside - great shower head. Toiletries top notch as expected.

The small things really made it, for example, the mini box of chocolate waiting for you, the full ice bucket set up for you every night and the orchard.

The only problems I had were hotel key demagnetized and the television was old and picture quality very fuzzy.

Had some time off from business and spent it in the pool - so calm.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — television
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I recently had a fantastic stay at the Mandarin in MIA. The service was excellent from start to finish. The door/valet staff was friendly, engaging, and above all knowledgeable!

The room was spotless, all of the mundane details that some places miss were addressed with overwhelming consistency.

They truly exceeded my every expectation which is not an easy thing to do. Great job!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Overall a fantastic property with incredible levels of service. The only downside is no beach - but, took the shuttle/option of using Casa Casuarina (former Versace mansion) on South Beach one day and it was such a nice change of pace. Pricey but worth it - you don't mind paying premium prices when you get what you pay for. Just be aware the hotel is NOT on the beach and in fact has very little beach/swimming compared to actually being on South Beach. On the other hand, it is more relaxing and not as hectic as the overall South Beach experience. Rooms are perfect - no problems - great bed and great bathroom. I have stayed in two room types and any room at this property from a furnishings/functionality perspective is very nice. No request went ignored and overall staff training/experience level is second to none.

  • Liked — Everything - high levels of service and perfection to guest requests.
  • Disliked — Somewhat of an off the beaten path location and remote - but worth it.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.