We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just a quick overnight stay.....on my way back home to Costa Rica......check in was fast, professional, yet very friendly......received a complimentary upgrade to a Dynasty Suite......it was beautiful......comfortable......and much appreciated......room service was quick and the staff were very helpful and wanted to make sure everything was OK......the server in the AM even offered to adjust the TV for me......before I left I booked two rooms for my return in October.....this time for a three night shopping trip......already looking forward to that trip!

Tulemar Dave

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    246
    91
    40
    37
See reviews for
178
456
68
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We sent for days at the Mandarín about a mouth ago. Location is dynamite. Staff very friendly but over twelve years of operation the hotels needs a major remodeling. The room and furniture looks worked and needs maintenance.

Room Tip: Top floor with the view of the building and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to the standards we strive to provide to all our guests. We focus on maintaining and updating the guest room furnishings and décor while ensuring total comfort for all of our guests.

The hotel is also undergoing an extensive refurbishment of its restaurants and lobby lounge area which will include a luxury bar that is scheduled to open at the end of the year.

We appreciate your feedback and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall this hotel is acceptable as a 5 star. The rooms are very good with all amenities that you would expect with great views. We did not like the bar or lack of bar that was just a seating area within the main entrance area. We also felt that the staff were a little precious especially trying to get a table in the downstairs restaurant and the bar. A little like they were doing you a favour ! Would I go back ? No I would try elsewhere. There is no warmth to this hotel leave it to the business travellers only.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with our colleagues and reinforce training, efficiency and attention to detail as we wish for all our guests to have a memorable and enjoyable stay at the hotel.

The hotel is undergoing an extensive refurbishment of its restaurants and lobby lounge area which will include a high end bar that is scheduled to open in mid-November of this year.

We appreciate and respect your comments and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a weekend break at the Mandarin Oriental Miami - and I really loved. First of all, the location is just perfect - (far) away from the hustle and bustle of South Beach (which I visited and did not like at all ). The island in which the hotel is located offers great jogging/walking opportunities; hotel has great views over the bay area as well over the skycrapers of downtown. I liked the layout of the rooms. I loved laying by the pool area so much that I never even visited the 'beach' they have in the hotel. Service in the pool is good, although a bit slow at times. Food was great in the hotel - especially breakfast was to die for.

In general, the service was top-notch - to give you an example I was warmly greeted by my name when I was escorted to my breakfast table.

There were some hickups too. Perhaps the biggest downside in the hotel is MO bar - of which I've visited several of other Mandarin Oriental hotels in different continents. It lacked the typical 'MO vibe' and actually was a rather dull lounge area in the lobby. The check-in was also a rather odd - I had booked a car with a driver (Mercedes 500) to pick me up from the airport and then take me to Design District (DD). I was hoping to have a quick check in before continuing to DD. Check in was quick but I was a bit astonished when the clerk - after happily welcomed me - told that my room was downgraded - WHAT! Well I accedpted it as I was in a hurry and as he told me that they have a very nice alternative room in a top floor. I think the reason for downgrading (they also reduced the daily price) was that on Sat. evening the hotel (beach and pool area) hosted a wedding ceremony and it might have been quite lound in the room that I had originally booked (room with a large balcony). In fact I'm sure that I enjoyed more the high-floor room as it had fantastic views.

I would definitely return.

BTW: If you like plane watching this is a hotel for you!

Room Tip: High floor rooms definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is bar none: views of the water and city lights is always perfect. Access to an array of menu items and restaurants on location is key. The food very well prepared. Service outstanding, quite possibly the best I have encountered.
It would be a good idea for valets to have umbrellas for patrons coming out of their vehicles in the rain. That is the only minuscule criticism i can make.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel! The view of the ocean was spectacular! We had the most incredible room with a large balcony, which was great for reading out in the sun! The only downside is that it is far removed from the strip, but great if you want to stay in the business district! The service was excellent, the food was AMAZING, and the views were incredible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights last week, and I have to say that it exceeded my high expectations! The customer service was always available and very helpful. Service at Cafe Sambal and the Azul was excellent and first-class. It happened to be my birthday one of the nights while I was dining in the Azul and the waiter gave me a birthday card signed by the staff of the kitchen wishing me a happy birthday. It was great, they were extremely friendly and professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Despegar.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.