We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hardware, service still needed to improve.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #4 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice hardware, service still needed to improve.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there for 7/4 weekend, and The hotel is on a small island, or "key".
The room, and spa are very beautiful. I had a Thai massage, and it was pretty good, though not the best I've had. The breakfast is good.

The pool is small, and service at the pool is lacking. I am not sure if this is anything to do with automatically added tip of 18% on everything thing you order. The best part is you can run around the small island, it's about 1 mile, and island is pretty quiet.

The exercise area is way to small, and crowded. I guess the hotel does not want guest to spend time there.

The front desk service has much to be desired. The girls are not as helpful as they should be.

Overall, this particular hotel is below the par of other Mandarin Oriental, such as the ones in DC, NYC, and certainly not the ones in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with our pool and front office teams and reinforce our training that focuses on providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive. We do not tolerate negative behavior from our colleagues and will address this matter seriously.

As far as our gratuity policy, it is up to the guest’s discretion and it can be adjusted accordingly.

Thank you for your valued feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    304
    123
    49
    42
See reviews for
255
637
88
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The service here is top notch. Rooms are nice sized. Food was Delicious .Pool was perfect temperture They have a seperate lounging area away from pool that is sand however hotel is not on the beach. Location is walking distance to some action however your not in the heart of it. Which i loved!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Mandarin Oriental and it was an amazing experience. The hospitality of the staff was incredible. Everyone was attentive to our needs. The view of the bay was incredible. The spa was heavenly. I would definitely visit again. I give them A+++++++++.

Room Tip: Bay view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel! The rooms are so clean and nice! Great place to stay on a family vacation! It was a great location with an outstanding view. Amazing service! I would definitely recommend this hotel if your going to Miami!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

World top service! They really make you feel good...
Also a great location with a fantastic view. Great restaurants on site and the decor it is very nice and super relaxing.
We will go back next time we will be in Miami.
I really loved it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

my parents just spent there aniversary there for a few nites and you guys treated them like royalty.they cant stop raving how wouderful everything was from the room to the spa that my mom has now booked her birthday there in august. thanks you really took great care off them

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

AMAZING stay in May at the Mandarin Oriental. We arrived VERY early in the morning and while our room was not ready the Front desk immediately offered us a complimentary breakfast which was EXQUISITE and was really what we needed after being up before dawn. From the moment we checked in it was the attention to detail in everything that stood out.

The room itself was EXACTLY as advertised and the view of downtown and the ocean was amazing. We used the balcony every day. The private beach on the property was wonderful. If you are looking for noise and hustle and bustle then you probably want to stay somewhere right in south beach but if you want somewhere close to anything you may want to do including great bars and restaurants and somewhere to get away from it all yet be in the thick of things when you choose to this is the place for you.

The spa was excellent and the restaurants in the hotel were also excellent but you have quick and easy access to all areas of Miami if you want to explore.

Thank you so much to everyone for delivering exactly what we wanted with all of the extras that we did not expect but were thrilled to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive with city and ocean view. It was a slightly larger room with a great balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Viceroy Miami
Viceroy Miami
#15 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.