We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 130 hotels in Miami
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during May, Nice hotel very friendly staff !!! Clean large rooms, great food at the pool bar with excellent service and very reasonable prices for miami. Very nice food and service at cafe sambal where we had dinner on 2 nights! Every night room service would knock on our door to see whether we needed anything and to leave us 2 bottles of cold water which was complimentary and a very nice gesture! Great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    229
    86
    38
    36
See reviews for
161
429
67
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

In Miami on business and this was my first stay at the property. Location is great for the views it offers but not an easy walk to restaurants etc. So think twice before a stroll in the heat. Taxi may be best bet. Check in was smooth as staff extremely pleasant from taking car through instructions to elevator. Room was spacious, well appointed and clean. And again, the view was superb. Very relaxing. I actually hated I didn't get to stay in more during visit. Slept like a baby and did not want to get up the next morning. Only disappointment, no coffee in room and found the bedside radio on the cheap side and difficult to operate. Breakfast was excellent. Ordered off menu and everything from preparation to service, perfect (but be careful when signing check as tips are already included and neither staff at restaurant or bar mentioned this). Will definitely be making this place my destination of choice when in Miami!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This will be a very candid review from start to finish.
I came from Atlanta to celebrate my birthday at the Mandarin Oriental. Upon check-in my room was not ready but that was not really an issue for me. I was offered a complimentary beverage while I waited but decided to visit Bayside instead for lunch and left my bag at the front desk. The front desk staff was absolutely amazing. The lobby is large and beautiful with the smell of heaven in the air.
About my room: on the 15th floor overlooking the bay and the City its beautiful in the daytime and spectacular at night. The arrangement of the room is elegant and artistic. The bed was not comfortable for me as it was extremely firm, the pillows and comforters carried a sweaty smell of old feathers, there was hair in my shower that did not belong to me and I was the only guest. Only because I am a critic I noticed it because it did blend into the marble tile. The tub is deep and comfortable for one person, height of the toilet both are accurately positioned lol I prefer aerodynamic toilets that are low and comfortable such as this one TMI. Overall I give the room a 3 even though it's really beautiful the firm bed and smelly pillows and comforter took away from it.
The spa:
You can make a car payment with the amount that you spend in the spa but oh my goodness it is worth it. Talk about service, quality, knowledge and variety. Estephania at the front desk of the spa is absolutely in the right position. Cheryl was my massage therapist and I say kudos to her. It's rare that you find a therapist that you don't have to say anything to so my body and spirit absolutely appreciated her on my birthday. The cleanliness of the spa is exceptional and I thoroughly enjoyed the sauna and the shower experience. I rate them at 5.
Cafe Sambal:
Speechless. The food, the service the love... the plating of the food, the hostess, the servers, the sushi bar, the kitchen staff... its too much to talk about so this 5 will sum it up. I'm not sure though why they have such an elaborate breakfast buffet because it does appear that a lot of it goes to waste. A 20/30 percent scale down will minimized waste and still offer a variety. its not just food in there its cuisine. kudos to Chef Robert and Chef Doug, to Stephanie, Ynell, Xoxoxo. To the pastry chef, thank you for making me cry and the person behind the wok I say yummy!
The pool and sand area:
the pool is small but quaint, so is the jacuzzi. I loved the hammocks and the sand area. Found it extremely relaxing and I spent many hours just enjoying the day there with the beautiful iguanas. the service in both areas by Enrique were appreciated.
The M bar:
Not what I expected. You can do so much better with that beautiful open space. It's more of a lounge area than anything but the service was great and watching the HEAT in the lounge / M bar was a nice treat. Truly, with a name like the M bar you really need to step it up a notch or two. Maybe I was just expecting more. Rated a 2 but 4 for service by staff.
Thank you to the staff that always opened the door for me. Thank you to bellhop, valet and all staff that work outside in the heat of Miami. This was absolutely a beautiful experience and your hospitality was greatly appreciated and truly memorable.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental in Miami is located on Brickell Key Island - a very exclusive area east of downtown. This property lives up to the Mandarin Oriental phenomenal reputation! The decor, atmosphere, suites and service is impecable and the view from your balcony - breathtaking!!
Azul is there signature restaurant - and is literally one the finest dinning experiences in all of Miami and South Beach. The only negative and reason for not giving the Mandarin five stars is its Spa .... in much need of renovating and enlarging.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband & I frequently visit Miami and like to try out a different hotel every time. Mandarin Oriental has long been our list, but we've avoided it due to the often $500-$700/night rate. However, we saw a $350/night rate recently and decided to take advantage. It was worth every penny!

If you want to be in downtown Miami, you will love the location. It's just a couple blocks from all the best downtown restaurants, but you get the peace and quiet of being located across a small bridge on Brickell Key. If you want to visit South Beach, it's a short 15-minute drive.

The hotel was beautiful at every turn, but I expected that.

It was the flawless service that really exceeded my expectations. The staff goes above and beyond. A perfect example was the night my husband and I were sitting at M-Bar having drinks. We were debating ordering late night room service once we got back to our room, but were hesitant because we have a habit of doing that and then falling asleep before it arrives. Our server, Eric, suggested that he print a copy of the room service menu for us and he could pre-order it for us while we continued to enjoy our cocktails so that our room service would be waiting for us as soon as we got to our room. We loved the suggestion and the night worked out beautifully thanks to Eric. The staff anticipated and took care of our every need.

The only downside of the hotel that I could see is that the pool is rather small, but there were plenty of seats around it on the weekend we were there so that didn't even bother us.

I'm still not sure I would pay $600+/night, but anything less really is worth it for what you get in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The service and staff where of the highest level, and made it clear it is a 5 star hotel in every gesture. The rooms are spacious, very well decorated and with a small balcony that we enjoyed very much. We used to stay at the Ritz Carlton, but Mandarin is definitely a notch up in every way. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Impeccable service, great decor, high quality rooms and a fabulous view of the Biscayne Bay makes this one of the best properties I have stayed in. Great location on Brickell Key, away from busyness of South Beach and Downtown, but with quick access to both. There isn't an area that I could point out and say that this property needs to significantly improve on - overall, an outstanding property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.