We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beauty in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Beauty in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental in Miami is located on Brickell Key Island - a very exclusive area east of downtown. This property lives up to the Mandarin Oriental phenomenal reputation! The decor, atmosphere, suites and service is impecable and the view from your balcony - breathtaking!!
Azul is there signature restaurant - and is literally one the finest dinning experiences in all of Miami and South Beach. The only negative and reason for not giving the Mandarin five stars is its Spa .... in much need of renovating and enlarging.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    251
    98
    43
    37
See reviews for
185
482
70
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband & I frequently visit Miami and like to try out a different hotel every time. Mandarin Oriental has long been our list, but we've avoided it due to the often $500-$700/night rate. However, we saw a $350/night rate recently and decided to take advantage. It was worth every penny!

If you want to be in downtown Miami, you will love the location. It's just a couple blocks from all the best downtown restaurants, but you get the peace and quiet of being located across a small bridge on Brickell Key. If you want to visit South Beach, it's a short 15-minute drive.

The hotel was beautiful at every turn, but I expected that.

It was the flawless service that really exceeded my expectations. The staff goes above and beyond. A perfect example was the night my husband and I were sitting at M-Bar having drinks. We were debating ordering late night room service once we got back to our room, but were hesitant because we have a habit of doing that and then falling asleep before it arrives. Our server, Eric, suggested that he print a copy of the room service menu for us and he could pre-order it for us while we continued to enjoy our cocktails so that our room service would be waiting for us as soon as we got to our room. We loved the suggestion and the night worked out beautifully thanks to Eric. The staff anticipated and took care of our every need.

The only downside of the hotel that I could see is that the pool is rather small, but there were plenty of seats around it on the weekend we were there so that didn't even bother us.

I'm still not sure I would pay $600+/night, but anything less really is worth it for what you get in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The service and staff where of the highest level, and made it clear it is a 5 star hotel in every gesture. The rooms are spacious, very well decorated and with a small balcony that we enjoyed very much. We used to stay at the Ritz Carlton, but Mandarin is definitely a notch up in every way. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Impeccable service, great decor, high quality rooms and a fabulous view of the Biscayne Bay makes this one of the best properties I have stayed in. Great location on Brickell Key, away from busyness of South Beach and Downtown, but with quick access to both. There isn't an area that I could point out and say that this property needs to significantly improve on - overall, an outstanding property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A few friends and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Miami, because we wanted to stay away from the smaller South Beach hotels and crazy crowds. We were not disappointed. When we arrived at the hotel around 1pm, we were a little put off that we werent able to check in early but were told that because the Miami Heat just made the NBA finals, the hotel was completely full. Probably because the media and Spurs were all filing into the city. Also, it just so happens that the Spanish National Football (soccer) team was also staying at the hotel. So...celebrities and athletes galore.
The hotel was very accomodating and suggested we sit by the pool for some food and drinks while we waited for our room. 1st round on the Mandarin, of course. They just a sour situation into a positive and it was a great start to our trip. Drinks are easily $16-$20 each.
The hotel is very clean, modern and the service is excellent. Pool and lounge areas have great views and is not overly crowded. If you just go for the spa alone, it's worth it. They treat you like a million bucks. It's a great place to stay to get away from the typical South Beach scene.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Mandarin Oriental Miami for second time and love the hotel. We usually try to pick a hotel which is calm and quiet enough for perfect relaxation. The location is ideal, it's close to Miami Beach but still located in more quiet neighbourhood. The pool isn't the biggest possible but nice anyway. We didn't experience any crowd so we were abe to get sunbeds at any time of the day. The pool bar is very nice and welcoming and serves really good dishes. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and most importantly quiet. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are spacious and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All is very nice and perfect, only thing: no free WIFI and no free Business Center Internet Access. We needed to print our flighttickets and had to pay 6 USD for access and 0.75 per printed page. Bit dissapointing for a hotel on this level. Besides> nice rooms, nice location, friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.