We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in a wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here 2 nights as a stay-cation. We needed a little break and didn't want to stray far from home. This hotel is quite unique for Miami, first the Asian style and then it's location. Located on Brickell Key, it's a residential island, across a bridge from the Financial Center of Miami. The rooms enjoy nice views, even those overlooking the skyscrapers of downtown. The rooms a very large, uncluttered, and have a very luxurious bathroom. The small outdoor balcony had 2 chairs. It was pleasant to sit there in the evening. The infinity pool is nice, but small. The wait staff was helpful, but not intrusive. My daughter and I had pedicures in the spa, which is one of the best in the city. We ate lunch outside at Cafe Sambal. The food was Asian fusion, delicious, and they were doing a brisk business on a Friday at 1pm. The hotel has a private, man-made beach, but we did not go, since we live on the beach, it didn't seem worth it for us. They do have cabanas, loungers, sand and full service there on the beach. I like this hotel as an alternative to the craziness of South Beach. Lot's of international clientele and they can arrange shopping trips for out of town visitors. Very popular for the international traveler. 5 star plus!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    275
    106
    46
    42
See reviews for
204
538
74
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We originally booked a Hotel on South Beach for our stay in Miami, but quickly realised its really not a great area if you're on a family trip with small kids. We decided to move to the quieter Bay area and found this hotel.

We had an absolutely fantastic stay! The booking and check in process was quick and efficient, the lobby was very impressive with its views out towards the Bay, the staff were all attentive and polite and the rooms are immaculate, modern and stylish. Its also worth noting that the food is really good. We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant (you get really good views of the city if you sit outside) and the food was top notch - the sushi was particularly good. I can also say hand on heart that the room service was the best I've ever had in any hotel, with a special mention going to the delicious Pad Thai.

We also found the location to be excellent; In a much quieter area than south beach but still close enough to the beaches and downtown for an evening trip.

I really would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Miami. Its absolutely worth every penny and has ensured I always look up the Mandarin Oriental chain whenever I travel abroad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I returned once again to a tranquility of zen. Miami is a crazy city, but I always stay here due to the peacefulness, service and calming zen atmosphere. The service Claudio provides in Azul is amazing. He is an asset and I've been coming to this MO for years and am glad to see him on my returns. I once again recommend staying here over any other place in Miami.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Mandarin in Miami. What a wonderful stay. We were celebrating our anniversary and truly enjoyed ourselves. We arrived early (before noon) to the Miami area and I called the Mandarin to see if we could check in earlier than 3pm. Laura ( the person who I spoke to over the phone prior to getting there) first offered us a handicapped accessible room as all the other rooms were being cleaned. I told here that I preferred to have a regular room and she told us that we would have to wait but, that we could indulge in spa services or use the pool facilities during our wait. So we took a taxi over and once we reached the front desk she had a room ready for us before the usual 3:00 check-in time. We were so appreciative as we were a bit tired from waking early to travel. She personally walked us up to our room and assured us that if we wanted anything that she would be more than happy to assist us. Very nice touch in my opinion. I have never had the person that checks you in walk you to your room. Nice personal touches that patrons remember. Upon learning that we were celebrating our anniversary the hotel sent up some chilled chocolate covered strawberries to our room. Also, they program your television to read Welcome Mr. and Mrs. Blah blah blah when you first check into your room. Once again, nice personal touches that make the stay a little more special. The rooms were immaculate, tastefully decorated in simple Asian themes. View was very beautiful. Nice view of the Biscayne bay and nearby buildings. The beach was good for sunning but you can't really swim. At about three o'clock some big iguana looking lizards come out and walk around the beach area which is a little annoying but they are supposedly harmless and the staff kind of shoos them away. The pool area is very nice and you can purchase pitchers of mojitos or other fruity cocktails and snacks. The staff is very attentive and works hard to be pleasing. We also enjoyed the food. The chef (Chef Phillips) found out that we were vegan and prepared some mouth watering vegan banana pancakes and other tasty breakfast items for us. He came over and personally introduced himself to us and asked us if he could make any other special items for us in consideration of our vegan diet. We thought this was great. In my opinion, these types of things make a vacation extra special. Much of the staff made small talk and tried to personally connect with us which my husband and I appreciated because it makes you feel like they go a bit above what is customary. Overall, a great time. NIce staff, beautiful grounds, breakfast is really good, drinks were good too. We ate out at area restaurants that were not too far of a walking distance and cabbed it to another restaurant. Food at the hotel is pricey but most luxury hotels are that way. The only recommendation I would say to the Mandarin is that they should not charge patrons of room service $4.00 for a pitcher of ice water. Your patrons are already paying top dollar, no need to nickel and dime us for water. However, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

First, you really cannot go wrong with the Mandarin brand. We stayed at this property all over the world and they exceeded my expectation every time. This Miami hotel is absolutely gorgeous and if you have a room with a city view like we did, that will be certainly an added plus.

No need to describe the ultra plush room, bathroom and amenities - all first class. A lot of thinking also went into designing a fully functioning working desk with power plugs, audio and HDMI plugs. Love it.

Then there is the Mandarin service. Nothing compares and this should be the gold standard for all luxury hotel.

If you stay at this hotel, make sure you take a stroll (or a jog) around the hotel island. Beautiful scenery around the water. You will not be disappointed.

As some reviewers said, this hotel is worth every penny. Our only regrets is we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A great hotel in the heart of the city. Absolutely beautiful and worth every penny. Our suite overlooked the Miami Skyline. The staff was awesome. They really pay attention to every detail here. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was huge. If you can swing it, do it.

Room Tip: View of the skyline is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just spent a much too short weekend at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami. We had a beautiful suite with a view of the Miami skyline that we decided to keep in spite of the hotel's offer to upgrade us to an even bigger room. Lovely minimalistic sort of decor with very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. After a day of golf the tub was perfect!
We had friends join us for cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in our room - room service was terrific and fast. We then had dinner on the terrace at Cafe Sambal and we all enjoyed sushi and fish with a beautiful view of downtown.
This isn't the sort of hotel where you walk outside and down the street to a lot of action filled restaurants and clubs but we enjoyed the peacefulness of the property. We've done the South Beach scene in the past and it's a lot of fun but here we got exactly what we were looking for.
Very professional and very nice staff and we would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.