We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to check out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #7 of 131 hotels in Miami
fort lauderdale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Did not want to check out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just spent a much too short weekend at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami. We had a beautiful suite with a view of the Miami skyline that we decided to keep in spite of the hotel's offer to upgrade us to an even bigger room. Lovely minimalistic sort of decor with very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. After a day of golf the tub was perfect!
We had friends join us for cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in our room - room service was terrific and fast. We then had dinner on the terrace at Cafe Sambal and we all enjoyed sushi and fish with a beautiful view of downtown.
This isn't the sort of hotel where you walk outside and down the street to a lot of action filled restaurants and clubs but we enjoyed the peacefulness of the property. We've done the South Beach scene in the past and it's a lot of fun but here we got exactly what we were looking for.
Very professional and very nice staff and we would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    661
    214
    83
    37
    34
See reviews for
147
397
64
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

For our engagement, I prepared a special day for my fiance with a night at the Mandarin Oriental. The hotel was perfect, we had a flawless stay. Everything was great, from check-in to check-out. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Jackie, the front desk rep, was exceptional! Our room had an awesome view of the bay and Brickell. I love the setup of the entertainment system, the gorgeous bathroom that opens up to the bedroom. The hotel is located right by Brickell Key and connects to a small park and walkway that goes around the island. We had breakfast and dinner at Cafe Sambal that I highly recommend. This property really convinced me to stay at other Mandarin Oriental hotels - I hope they are all equal in quality and service.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to ask for a nice located room. Bay views are fantastic - Our room had a balcony, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I attended a conference at the Mandarin, Miami in early May. I have to say that this hotel has it's act together. The attention to detail, the high quality serivce, the impeccable grounds, food views and location were exceptional. The staff is trained in the classic Japansese model of service. Even the housekeeping was incredibly friendly and always making sure we had everything we needed. I nornally stay in South Beach when i visit Miami, but I think this hotel is a great alternative. The hotel is on Brickell Key which is an exclusive residential community. The location is convenient to shopping and dining and only about 10 minutes to the beaches.
My only complain is that there is no bar. You can order a drink in the lounge or at the pool but they go "somewhere" to prepare it. Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the moment you arrive the staff is friendly, prompt and very professional. Terrific restaurant options on-site from Azul which is their more formal, to Cafe Sambal...fresh seafood, sushi and cocktails overlooking the bay with patio setting. Lunch by the pool is very relaxing with beautiful bay views. Super comfy beds, robes, balcony on the water. I have been back three times in past month and will again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin for my cousin's wedding. Walking into the lobby was amazing, its very zen. You feel peaceful immediately. The staff is kind and very helpful.

Our room on the 16th floor was done beautifully, however, not loving the openness between bathroom and room.

Room service was precise in delivering and setting up. Also, when I asked for a steamer I immediately had one delieverd.

I also was in my cousins suite, it was a corner unit on the 14th floor. Beautiful!

Would definitely stay at Mandarin properties going forward. Four Seasons, you have competition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mandarin Oriental is located in Miami's downtown shopping and commercial area of markets and is close to company's like microsoft, Cadilaac and key regional offices of verizon, American Bank, and others. Guests can experience a full range of services at a very competitive price. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate our well-appointed guest rooms, spirited and friendly service and a full range of amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being from Hong Kong I'm very familiar with the brand and their reputation. This MO was not quite up to scratch, there was a distinct lack of the feeling of opulence that you get at Asian MOs, but it was certainly pleasant enough. The staff were knowledgable and helpful, the rooms spacious and the view from our room was a nice surprise (we could see out to the ocean) but the noise from the hallway was remarkably (annoyingly) loud. I felt the reception/lounge area would have benefitted from a proper bar or at least the pool bar should remain open in the evenings. The pool area lacked the sumptuousness of a luxury hotel and the 'beach' was much smaller than it appears on their website. It was a $30 taxi ride to South Beach but if you're in Miami on business and need to be downtown then this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I apologize that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. I am sorry for the disruption that you experienced with the noise in the hallway. Our colleagues are trained to be considerate and discreet at all times.

We focus on maintaining the overall look and décor of the hotel to ensure absolute comfort and a relaxing environment. Furthermore, we are always looking for ways to improve and ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience. Guests comments are important to us and taken into great consideration on ways the hotel can improve upon.

Although, we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the noise and high energy of the beach. The tranquility and surroundings of the pool and manmade beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet respite for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city. The hotel is situated minutes away from Mary Brickell Village, which offers an eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Thank you again for sharing your comments of your recent stay. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Miami Mandarin
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include two high-energy restaurants, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.