We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With cousins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“With cousins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mandarin Oriental is located in Miami's downtown shopping and commercial area of markets and is close to company's like microsoft, Cadilaac and key regional offices of verizon, American Bank, and others. Guests can experience a full range of services at a very competitive price. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate our well-appointed guest rooms, spirited and friendly service and a full range of amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    252
    100
    43
    37
See reviews for
185
488
70
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being from Hong Kong I'm very familiar with the brand and their reputation. This MO was not quite up to scratch, there was a distinct lack of the feeling of opulence that you get at Asian MOs, but it was certainly pleasant enough. The staff were knowledgable and helpful, the rooms spacious and the view from our room was a nice surprise (we could see out to the ocean) but the noise from the hallway was remarkably (annoyingly) loud. I felt the reception/lounge area would have benefitted from a proper bar or at least the pool bar should remain open in the evenings. The pool area lacked the sumptuousness of a luxury hotel and the 'beach' was much smaller than it appears on their website. It was a $30 taxi ride to South Beach but if you're in Miami on business and need to be downtown then this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I apologize that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. I am sorry for the disruption that you experienced with the noise in the hallway. Our colleagues are trained to be considerate and discreet at all times.

We focus on maintaining the overall look and décor of the hotel to ensure absolute comfort and a relaxing environment. Furthermore, we are always looking for ways to improve and ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience. Guests comments are important to us and taken into great consideration on ways the hotel can improve upon.

Although, we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the noise and high energy of the beach. The tranquility and surroundings of the pool and manmade beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet respite for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city. The hotel is situated minutes away from Mary Brickell Village, which offers an eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Thank you again for sharing your comments of your recent stay. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the mandarin Orient for an on-property conference. Rooms are fantastic, spacious, comfortable, well-appointed. Facilities are too-notch. Service could not be better. Restaurants are great and outdoor amenities - patios, beach, running trail - all fantastic. Close enough to airport for easy transit, though contested at rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved this Hotel. A pleasant surprise. The Bay Area was just gorgeous! Close to everything. The Resort Amenities are fabulous. I would defiantly go back again. We had our car, so it was easy to get around to South Beach and all the fabulous restaurants in the Area. The Fitness Center was the best. Top of the line equipment, Bay view, and anything you could need, fruit, water, towels.
The food was delicious at the Hotel and the service was outstanding. We had the most beautiful weather, and the beach sand was a perfect compliment for the Miami experience.A great find!

Room Tip: Love the balcony seating and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

its a Mandarin so from amenities to service.. the view etc .. its up to the standard meaning its a great! ..but Clearly not the place to stay if you want to hang out in south beach, by car it takes time, there s traffic etc...not practical at all , i would recommend to take a hotel in south beach if you come to Miami for that..

Finally we have been victim of a theft in our room, i didnt find the way the hotel handled that being really business friendly ..they could have done some commercial gesture given the price of the room and the standard of the hotel...not that i was looking to save few bucks...just out of principe...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

Although we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being on a private island oasis of serenity away from the high energy of the beach area with a Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man-made beach, although not made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

I am alarmed to learn of your statement regarding a theft in your room. We take such matters very seriously and would like to speak with you to inquire in detail what transpired.

I hope you will give us another opportunity and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Please call the hotel’s Executive Office when convenient for you.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriential for business and had a good overall experience. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable, the gym / pool / spa was a great break during a hectic week, and my team had an awesome meal at the japanese restaurant in the hotel - killer sea bass. The service was a little slow in comparison to peer chains and it seemed that there might have been some turnover recently, but nothing too bad. If you are a coffee drinker, I do recommend calling in advance because there are not machines in the room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am happy to learn that overall you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel. I apologize for the slow service and will be sure this is addressed accordingly.

Guests can request coffee machines to be placed in their room prior to arrival. We will add this note to your profile for future stays with us. Additionally, we provide complimentary coffee service in the lobby from 5:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.

Thank you again for sharing your comments of your recent stay and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent two nights at the Mandarin and we had a lovely time. We were on a family holidays so often felt out of place amongst the larger proportion of business people, but everything else was perfect: the decor, the staff, the views... even the lovely scent in the lobby which reminded us of eastern Asia! The only thing which slightly irritated us was the long waits for a lift to stop at our room floor. I understand that lifts are busy at certain times of the day and also know it is impossible to add new lifts in a fully developped structure as this one, but the long waits occured enough for us to get a bit frustrated with them... A minor point in the whole scheme however and would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.