We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Miami and Cafe Sambal has awesome seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great spot in Miami and Cafe Sambal has awesome seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriential for business and had a good overall experience. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable, the gym / pool / spa was a great break during a hectic week, and my team had an awesome meal at the japanese restaurant in the hotel - killer sea bass. The service was a little slow in comparison to peer chains and it seemed that there might have been some turnover recently, but nothing too bad. If you are a coffee drinker, I do recommend calling in advance because there are not machines in the room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am happy to learn that overall you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel. I apologize for the slow service and will be sure this is addressed accordingly.

Guests can request coffee machines to be placed in their room prior to arrival. We will add this note to your profile for future stays with us. Additionally, we provide complimentary coffee service in the lobby from 5:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.

Thank you again for sharing your comments of your recent stay and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    287
    110
    47
    42
See reviews for
213
564
79
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent two nights at the Mandarin and we had a lovely time. We were on a family holidays so often felt out of place amongst the larger proportion of business people, but everything else was perfect: the decor, the staff, the views... even the lovely scent in the lobby which reminded us of eastern Asia! The only thing which slightly irritated us was the long waits for a lift to stop at our room floor. I understand that lifts are busy at certain times of the day and also know it is impossible to add new lifts in a fully developped structure as this one, but the long waits occured enough for us to get a bit frustrated with them... A minor point in the whole scheme however and would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's our third time in the Mandarin Oriental, and we still love it !
Great location on Brickell Key, close to downtown but calm
Very nice walking tour around Brickell Key, and very close to the Marketplace with shops, restaurants and harbour cruises
Excellent starting point for visiting the Everglades National Park
The Sambal Café is also a great choice for breakfast and dinner, probably also lunch but we were on the road the whole day, so it was great to be back in the evening

Room Tip: City View or Biscayne Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurle, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very comfortable hotel on a quiet location with nice and very professional staff. Very good meeting accomodation. Very kind and helpfull staff. Nice rooms. Even when the hotel runs at full capacity you do not realize it is wo crowed. Well equiped gym. Excellent sushis.

Room Tip: i had room 1026
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend staying here when in Miami. The location is hidden away from the hustle of Miami. The staff is very attentive, welcoming and truly glad you ate their guest. The view of the water when you walk into the lobby is very serene and instantly puts you in a good mood. One of my favorite hotels in Miami,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Mandarin Hotel Chain is famous. For this reason, I didn't expect the problems I had. Problems with the reservation. Problems with the front desk. The maneger doesn't solve anything.
The concierge helped when a needed.
I don't intend to come back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team.

We hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit in the future. Please contact the Executive Office and we will ensure your next visit is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent three nights here recently prior to joining a Cruise to the Caribbean. We were late arriving owing to immigration at Miami airport but the Hotel staff were waiting for us when we arrived and we were fast tracked to our room and checked in very swiftly. Had booked a 'Mandarin' room, about 530 sq ft. Great location on the 17th floor and the views were great overlooking the Brickell skyline. Very modern looking hotel, great facilities including a spa, pool overlooking the bay and a man made beach which was very well maintained. Whilst the room was spacious, I felt it was outdated and 'tired' in terms of decor and furniture etc, especially given the very modern and minimalist external aspect of the building. Service was excellent throughout the hotel as you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental Hotel. The location was good for what we needed, i.e being near to the Port, but for anything else it was quite isolated. Long way from South Beach and cost over $50 each way to get to the shops in Bal Harbour! Additionally, the Hotel is having real problems with getting taxi's to pick up at the Hotel because it is so out of the way for them. This is a real problem if you want to leave the Hotel for anything at all.
Overall, a good experience but if I return to Miami I would prefer to be in the hub of South Beach although prices there are more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

Please understand we continually maintain our guest room product to be in good condition while ensuring comfort to alls of our guests.

The hotel is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from Mary Brickell Village which offers and eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

We do have taxis available and positioned in our front drive, however, during peak periods when there are city-wide events there is a shortage of taxis in the city.

Thank you again for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.