We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a great place to stay !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 hotels in Miami
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“still a great place to stay !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's our third time in the Mandarin Oriental, and we still love it !
Great location on Brickell Key, close to downtown but calm
Very nice walking tour around Brickell Key, and very close to the Marketplace with shops, restaurants and harbour cruises
Excellent starting point for visiting the Everglades National Park
The Sambal Café is also a great choice for breakfast and dinner, probably also lunch but we were on the road the whole day, so it was great to be back in the evening

Room Tip: City View or Biscayne Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    232
    88
    40
    36
See reviews for
168
434
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deurle, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very comfortable hotel on a quiet location with nice and very professional staff. Very good meeting accomodation. Very kind and helpfull staff. Nice rooms. Even when the hotel runs at full capacity you do not realize it is wo crowed. Well equiped gym. Excellent sushis.

Room Tip: i had room 1026
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I highly recommend staying here when in Miami. The location is hidden away from the hustle of Miami. The staff is very attentive, welcoming and truly glad you ate their guest. The view of the water when you walk into the lobby is very serene and instantly puts you in a good mood. One of my favorite hotels in Miami,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Mandarin Hotel Chain is famous. For this reason, I didn't expect the problems I had. Problems with the reservation. Problems with the front desk. The maneger doesn't solve anything.
The concierge helped when a needed.
I don't intend to come back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team.

We hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit in the future. Please contact the Executive Office and we will ensure your next visit is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent three nights here recently prior to joining a Cruise to the Caribbean. We were late arriving owing to immigration at Miami airport but the Hotel staff were waiting for us when we arrived and we were fast tracked to our room and checked in very swiftly. Had booked a 'Mandarin' room, about 530 sq ft. Great location on the 17th floor and the views were great overlooking the Brickell skyline. Very modern looking hotel, great facilities including a spa, pool overlooking the bay and a man made beach which was very well maintained. Whilst the room was spacious, I felt it was outdated and 'tired' in terms of decor and furniture etc, especially given the very modern and minimalist external aspect of the building. Service was excellent throughout the hotel as you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental Hotel. The location was good for what we needed, i.e being near to the Port, but for anything else it was quite isolated. Long way from South Beach and cost over $50 each way to get to the shops in Bal Harbour! Additionally, the Hotel is having real problems with getting taxi's to pick up at the Hotel because it is so out of the way for them. This is a real problem if you want to leave the Hotel for anything at all.
Overall, a good experience but if I return to Miami I would prefer to be in the hub of South Beach although prices there are more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

Please understand we continually maintain our guest room product to be in good condition while ensuring comfort to alls of our guests.

The hotel is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from Mary Brickell Village which offers and eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

We do have taxis available and positioned in our front drive, however, during peak periods when there are city-wide events there is a shortage of taxis in the city.

Thank you again for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked the premier deluxe room, requesting a bay view. NOT what we received. NO reduction in rate. BAD karma. Non-private bath space (open concept to bedroom) was discomforting. Paying more than $600/night should guarantee my stay was everything I had dreamed it would be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for your recent disappointing stay.

I am saddened to learn that you stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with the team and reinforce training that focuses on providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive. We do not tolerate negative behavior from our colleagues and will address this seriously.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you will reconsider with a return visit. Please contact the Executive Office to be of assistance with any future reservations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently spent two nights at the hotel. Nice greeting, nice front desk help. Went high end with a room upgrade to a brickell suite. The room was large,nice, and clean. The bed was comfortable. The wood floors were slippery to socks and bare feet to the point of being hazardous. Room service was way overpriced. The food at the Azul restaurant was good but not deserving of the price. The bell staff was a mess and poorly managed - particularly the way they handle taxis and transport. One bellman was just rude. Apparently my concern was common and he'd heard enough from folks. Great hotels solve common issues. The view was pedestrian at best - the highway, bay, and skyline are ok but nothing beats a real water view without civilization. The pool was nice and pool service was strong. The "beach" was hauled in sand on small patch of land bordering a sea wall to the bay. No entry possible into the bay from the beach. All in all a 4 star hotel at a 5+ star price for this market.

Room Tip: Don't book here if you're after a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. I regret to learn that your visit did not meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guests have a genuinely delightful experience. Our city resort is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from Mary Brickell Village which offers and eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Although we are not a beachside resort, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with Five-Star Spa and Azul restaurant. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man made beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiency in service you experienced with our bell staff. I have gone back to address the staff on this issue and have taken immediate corrective action.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you will reconsider with a return visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.