We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 130 hotels in Miami
Tacoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When Price is not an option stay Here!!!! $12 Beer and $25 Cocktails. Pool and beach was great and service was excellent! I would stay here next time I am in Miami. Loved Chocolates at turn down and fresh fruit at work out room.

Room Tip: It's all Good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    707
    227
    86
    38
    36
See reviews for
158
428
66
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Miama. As usual, the hotel was fantastic. The lobby is beautiful and has incense that permeates through the hall. The room is nice and has a great, big TV with many channels. The pool is great and well heated, and the poolside service is fantastic. The private beach is very relaxing, and the service is great there is well. The main restaurant they have (I just forgot the name) had incredible food and the sushi especially was delectable. The trip was for my brother's birthday and just as we were leaving, his friend remembered that he had left my brother's birthday card in his room with the gift card in it. When he returned to the room, he found that the envelope had been moved, from the TV stand to the bathroom and was opened. The card, along with the gift card, were gone. When we complained to the manager, the manager said he would talk with the housekeeping and check the room. He came back with the card and gift card claiming that it was in the room. This is impossible has my friend had come with a sealed envelope that he found open and the card missing, and he did not at any point open the card. The manager was clearly lying and trying to cover for the housekeeping. We will return to the Mandarin, but this experience was certainly a blemish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the misplacement of your brother’s gift and card. Although it was located I regret for the distressing moment it caused. We do not tolerate this type of behavior from our colleagues and have addressed the colleague involved. We pride ourselves in delighting our guests and making sure every detail of their stay is seamless and enjoyable.

Thank you for the valued feedback and again my apologies for the disappointing experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a business trip for my partner and I, and so the Brickell location made it very accessible to the office-walking distance--the reason we chose the hotel. Check in was smooth and the hotel lobby was decorated well with a really nice scent which I believe was being created with some incense. Our room was stunning with a view of the pool, and we used the balcony for breakfast in the morning.

The pool area is really great and there are some very tasty dining options pool side, we enjoyed snacking on all the tasty treats throughout the day by the pool.

We also used the fitness centre which was well stocked with towels, water etc. and it had all the machines we like to use at our home gym.

If you want to spend most of your time in South Beach, this is probably not the best location for you but it is great for a business trip or a relaxing trip in the sun by the pool.

Overall, we have no complaints, we would definitely stay at the location again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I held a business event at this hotel. This is not the place to stay if you are here for South Beach... it is on the water, but in the business district. Gorgeous, large rooms. Lovely views of the water and city from the balcony of your room. Staff is amazing. Sit out and have lunch at the pool and watch dolphins play in the water below. Food at the restaurants and the catering is excellent. Pool is small but appropriate for this boutique sized hotel that largely caters to high-end business travelers. Nice gym.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was all day in the hotel spa, and the result was wonderful. The attitude of the people of the spa is great, the atmosphere very good, the pool area is fine (although the pool is small), the beach area is peaceful and really helps to relax. Hundred percent positive experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a business trip for my partner and I, and so the Brickell location made it very accessible to the office-walking distance--the reason we chose the hotel. Check in was smooth and the hotel lobby was decorated well with a really nice scent which I believe was being created with some incense. Our room was stunning with a view of the city and water, and we used the balcony for breakfast in the morning. The bathtub is located in an area that lets you soak and watch some TV which was really nice to unwind in at the end of a long day.

The pool area is really great and there are some very tasty dining options pool side, our favourite was the Sunday brunch buffet which was served all day --we enjoyed snacking on all the tasty treats throughout the day by the pool.

We also used the fitness centre which was well stocked with towels, water bottles, fruit etc. and it had all the machines we like to use at our home gym.

If you want to spend most of your time in South Beach, this is probably not the best location for you but it is great for a business trip or a relaxing trip in the sun by the pool.

Overall, we have no complaints, we would definitely stay at the location again.

Room Tip: The view of the city/water is worth upgrading for--the balcony allows for dining with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Rooms and furnishings very nice modern and updated. I thought tv system was great super simple and you could see all your options on 1screen. Great Christmas decorations including a live giant tree in foyer. Close to Brickell area where there are unique shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed that. Nice small beach and pool, with nice padded loungers and very nice beachbtowels. My husband and I saw watched dolphins swimming in the bay from our balcony. Only negative was no coffee maker in room. Most upscale places have the Keurigs but the mandarin did not have any coffee maker at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include two high-energy restaurants, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.