We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in an out of the way location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in an out of the way location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bed was wide and comfortable. There was a separate shower and a plentiful supply of lovely towels.

I asked for a kettle to make tea and it arrived promptly together with cups and teabags. Cannot understand why it was not part of the furnishings of the room. Still...I asked and I got!

The veiw from the breakfast terrace is very pleasant as was the view from our room, 708.
Our room balcony was tiny and had no chairs so were unable to sit outside and enjoy the view.

There is a nice, easy walk around the island that the hotel is on and I do recommend taking that walk.

We were allowed to keep our room until 2pm, which was very helpful to us.
My only complaint is where the safe is located: on top of a very high shelf. I could barely reach it.

This is a luxury hotel which we throughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    246
    91
    40
    37
See reviews for
178
459
69
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last time I stayed at the Miami Mandarin Oriental, 2011, I made a bad review regarding the service, especially the daily room cleaning and attention. This time everything was perfect, spotless, good attention. The lobby bar has changed location, the new one is an improvement to the old, the service is prompt and courteous and the drinks are generous. The valet parking, although a bit expensive, is fast and helpful.
In essence a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights for a kids-free weekend. The hotel is in a great location, very convenient to both the airport, Coconut Grove, Miami Beach, etc. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. Everything was so fresh and well-prepared. The guest rooms are spacious with great marine views. The spa is very welcoming. The concierge staff were very helpful in arranging reservations and transportation for us. The pool on-site is apparently kept heated to near 90 F. If there were any negatives, they are nit-picky - such as the high-end restaurant at the hotel is closed Sunday and Monday nights so weren't able to experience it. And the light fixtures and water faucets in the guest room were noticeably complicated. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, was warmly welcomed and given a nice room with a view over the city.

Great spa experience, welcome, all you could wish for in terms of toiletries, creams.. nice relaxation room with some fruits, drinks, nuts and most of all- top-massage.

Service is very good in this hotel, from the porters, housekeeping, front desk and everybody else make you feel welcome and cared for. The housekeeping par accident broke a small bottle for me and went through lots of trouble to replace it+ wanted to refund as well. They then brought me a tea maker...

the location being more in town then on the waterfront, allows a run and has restaurants closeby at Miami-street (5 mins walk).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived early for check in at 10 am on Sunday. A warm smile from a friendly receptionist, Janella Bustamante,and we found to our pleasure and surprise that our room was ready for us. The hotel is as one would expect is quite superb in every way and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We had mentioned to Janella how much we enjoy the Mandarin Oriental in Banglok , particularly the welcome from orchid bearing Thai reception staff, and the very high standard of service one receives in the "Far East".
After a 30 hour stay at the M.O. Miami we departed clutching two orchids and a beautiful letter from Janella hoping this would go some way to bring Bankok closer to Miami.
There is no need to compare. The Mandarin Oriental group of hotels are peerless.....the best of the best.!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the bay....beautiful. Th other rooms face the Miami financial district sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited the Mandarin Oriental spa in January for an 80 minute massage and was completely blown away by their spa. From the moment you walk in you are in a tranquil paradise and everyone you encounter is warm, friendly and professional. I was checked in quickly and moments afterwards given my spa slippers and escorted to the ladies locker room. The locker room had a nice vanity area where four ladies could easily sit, do their makeup, hair, etc. Luxurious almost seems to be an understatement of their waiting area. There is a nice waterfall and lounge chairs you could enjoy all afternoon reading a book or magazine. Their tea was nice and refreshing as well. My massage therapist worked wonders in that 80 minute timeframe. I had a private suite, had my choice of massage oil, music and anything my heart could possibly desire. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

the hotel is nicely located. it has it all and mataches all standards for Mandarin Oriental. the restaurant isnt top quality. rooms are just perfect as well as service. the quality isnt as good as all the Asian Mandarin hotels. it feel like there is something missing. location is good but you will always need a cab to get to down town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#15 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.