We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #7 of 131 hotels in Miami
São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Couldn´t find anything to dislike about my stay: wonderful room with all amenities and a fantastic view of Brickell Bay, great location, attentive staff. Sure, it´s pricey, but there´s no free lunch nowadays, or is there...?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    215
    83
    37
    34
See reviews for
148
398
65
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my husband's 30th before taking our 3 year old to Orlando for a week. As soon as we arrived, we loved it! We love the MO hotel group and this one definitely did not disappoint. The valet were very polite and attentive. The reception staff at check in also provided the 5* service we would expect, even providing us with some ice tea after our 12 hour flight. Check in was swift and easy. Upon entering our room, we had a lovely view of the Miami coast and the room was warmly lit for the evening. The hotel had laid out a very tasty chocolate cake for my husband's birthday, which our 3 year old enjoyed! The bed was so comfortable and we had an amazing night's sleep.

In the morning, we made use of the tea/coffee facility in reception while relaxing in our room before going to breakfast. The food at breakfast was buffet style and catered for all. Following breakfast we walked around the small island that the hotel is on before going to the pool area and beach area. This part of the hotel was so peaceful and relaxing, I didn't want to leave. It felt like paradise. The staff provided towels and cold drinks, as well as fruit.

Overall, I couldn't fault this hotel and the service provided by the staff. I would suggest anyone who wants a relaxing break, book themselves into the Mandarin Oriental!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was amazing, staff, pool, decor, restaurants, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only downfall is that it's not located on the beach instead they have a man made beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Took our family of 5 here from the UK for a 3 night break. Yes, the hotel is probably worthy of 5 stars - the service is excellent, the rooms are very good, the food is recommended, the view from the hotel over the mall bay is magnificent. Howeve, it's just lacking a certain something......CHARACTER! Visually, the hotel is very bland, it's in quite an isolated spot (great for business, however there's very little to do in the direct vicinity of the hotel for a family), and dare I say the excellent service was all delivered without much warmth and sincerity compared to other MO hotels I've stayed in. Downsides? Small things really: the breakfast is overpriced, as is the $15/day Internet fee. Also, we asked the concierge to recommended a good hamburger restaurant for 3 hungry UK kids - and after a $25 taxi ride he had pointed us to a real cheap, takeaway, 'eat on trays' restaurant. Would a Mandarin guest really want that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a nice stay!!!!! Couldn't have been better!!!!! Everything about the hotel was great-location, service, guest rooms, and food!!!!! The hotel room was great-it was very high-class and there was a balcony where we could look out at the Miami skyline and bay. The service was great. A service member gave us a free welcome package with 2 cups of milk, 4 different kinds of cookies and 3 mini brownies with nuts on a lollipop stick- all served with coconut shreds!!!!! Another service member named Mihai showed us all around the island where the hotels stands in. It was beautiful and ever so relaxing. There are so many amenities!!!!! If you ever go there, try to find the 4 iguanas that just wander around the hotel property. Most of them are near the sand area. Overall, this stay was HEAVENLY!!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the skyline/bay view!!!!! It''s beautiful!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Located on a small key close to the downtown area, this high quality hotel provides an interesting alternative to the Miami Beach hotels.

The man-made beach is cute and gets the job done. This provides a good spot for local wildlife - on two occasions there were frolicking dolphins directly in front of the sun-loungers and manatees swim lazily by.

The rooms were large and well appointed e.g. B&O TVs and high count cotton sheets. On the negatives, the bathrooms are starting to show their age relative to the rest of the room.

Overall the the food was great and in particular the black cod and the sushi were exceptional.

This is an excellent option for those who want the benefits of being in Miami without the craziness of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s paulo
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed just for 24 hours, just for a stop before going to Caribe, but we loved it. The service is impeccable, and ambiance is amazing. We had an early check in, that was perfect. We certainly would like to come back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Miami Mandarin
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include two high-energy restaurants, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.