We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place during ART Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A peaceful place during ART Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Mandarin Oriental while visiting ART MIAMI. The rooms are nice I like the open bathrooms and very quiet compared to all the Hotels in South Beach. You have beautiful views on the bay from wherever you are in this Hotel. I like the area around the pool, you can lie down on a chair and eat something, swim of course. We like the Café Sambal, exellent food Cevice sushi etc.The only thing we do not like is the formal Restaurant Azur. My fish was overcooked and myhusbands pasta was very mediocre. I was ashamed for our guest.

Room Tip: The more you are away from the bridge the better the view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    241
    90
    40
    36
See reviews for
176
446
68
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is located on a small island 1,3 miles exactly perfect to make a jogging.
The view on Biscayne Bay is wonderful and there is a small private beach very quiet and pleasant.
The only inconvenience of the location is that you need a car or a taxi to go anywhere and it can take some time with traffic to reach Miami Beach.
The service is excellent particularly around the pool; the staff is helpful and friendly. The pool is heated in winter. Very pleasant!
The breakfast buffet at the Sambal cafe is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

nice location, nice roms and friendly staff! Close to airport and cruise harbour. A good choise if one should stay for a night or two - but would recommend South beach for a longer stay in Miami! Nicly decorated for christmas with a huge gingerbread house and christmastree!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Everything at the Mandarin is was above and beyond excellent!!! The staff, and I mean all the staff we encountered were professional, helpful, and courteous. Can't say enough good things about the Cafe Sambal staff and the food, oh my!!!!! If we make it back to Miami, this is our spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been a regular visitor of this hotel for the last 5 years, but no longer. Not sure what has gone wrong, but this property does not live up to the Mandarin Oriental standard. From the moment we entered on our most recent visit service was sorely lacking and very much sub-par.

Negatives: The hotel has been overrun by black crows, which like to bathe in the Mandarin pool in the afternoon. Spa service was generally unfriendly and lacking professionalism (aside from one male staff member), very mediocre massage, no privacy in changing area by cleaning staff, definitely not worth the cost of service or what you expect when visiting an ESPA spa. No help with bags to/from room/at check out. Change in clientele, lots of screaming children.

Positives: All pool staff, all breakfast staff. Food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for being a valued guest of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing stay you recently had, and would like to speak with you to inquire in detail what lapses in services you encountered to immediately correct the situation.

The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Miami has received numerous accolades and awards including being the only Five Star Spa in Florida for four years in a row. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive to detail is our top priority.

I hope you will give us another opportunity. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Please call the hotel’s Executive Office when convenient for you.

Sincerely,


Greg Nunez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for while was in town for the Madonna concert. Hotel is very modern, large and clean. The room was large with a nice balcony with chairs. Excellent view. I wasn't a fan of the open bathroom/room concept where toy can look into the bathroom from the bedroom. For the price you pay for the room I would at least expect the wifi to be included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fantastic views, beautiful room, relaxing pool, service beyond anything, 8 star hotel is the way we would rate it. Very romantic

I had the breakfast buffet on a Monday a.m. which was very good and worh the price especially if you like Lox. When I asked about sunny side up eggs and a worker said no, the manager must have heard this and immediately ran up to me and offered to provide this to me with no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.