We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Miami
MIAMI
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great Hotel, very nice location, attentive very well trained helpful staff, rooms are spacious and clean, perfect bathroom too.....we will come back anytime

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    250
    98
    43
    37
See reviews for
185
482
70
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel was absolutely beautiful as was the location. The views were breathtaking and the staff were brilliant.

The manmade beach was lovely and included very beautiful iguanas and I enjoyed visiting them daily.

We stayed there for 7 nights and would definitely go back. Unfortunately they could not accommodate us for the entire stay as our next hotel was never going to get a good review after the luxury of the Mandarin.

The staff were very attentive and friendly and never appeared to be doing anything for the sake of tip which is my issue in other hotels.

Absolutely great stay and Brickell is a lovely area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in all the other Mandarin Orientals and I have to say this is the best! Very expensive (obviously) but so worth it. Staff fantastic as were the restaurants. Food was delicious and the location of the water front was outstanding. So romantic. Large rooms and huge bathrooms. Loved the lighting - it's the small touches! Text book perfect hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm very spoiled but Mandarin Oriental exceeded my expectations. We asked for the high floor and the view from our balcony was just breathtaking. Lights of the city over the bay are amazing. The service seemed to read in our minds. We stayed in this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and we had such a great surprise from the service: rose petals and strawberries in chocolate. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. Great room, the hotel was gorgeous, the lobby always smelled amazing and a cocktail was waiting for us at reception during check in. The staff catered to our every need and I loved the personal touch of every employee addressing me by name. Definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: I had a water view with downtown Miami and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

In a city of "hip" hotels filled with noise, loud music, breaches of privacy, B-list celebrities (and worse) and expensive prices for cheaply constructed buildings, the Mandarin Oriental is a welcome exception. I've stayed here over 15 times over the past decade but never wrote a review. But it's time to give praise where it's due.

First, the location -- on an "island" across a short causeway from the heart of the Brickell business district, the hotel has beautiful views in all directions. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable, and with true state-of-the-art support for all of your electronics -- there's a well placed single large panel in the desk area with plugs for chargers, ethernet cables, 3 prong plugs -- everything you can imagine.

All the rooms have floor-to-ceiling glass facing the water and city views, balconies, large bathrooms and abundant closet space. I've been in everything from their basic rooms to suites -- all were gracious and comfortable.

The two restaurants are excellent, and the buffet breakfast in the Cafe Simbal is exceptionally abundant, everything of highest quality, and with exceptionally broad choices.

The pool is a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the bay with outdoor shower and jacuzzi facilities, and the large nearby beach area is quiet, calm and well serviced by staff who are gracious, helpful and unintrusive. The spa is elegant and the exercise room is very large and as good as the most extravagant private facility.

All of these types of choices and preferences are matters of personal choice, but I've tried more than my share of South Beach "hip" places and they were uniformly bad compared to the Mandarin. And because Miami is so spread out, you'll need a car or taxi (as you need no matter where you stay), but the Mandarin is actually very central and equidistant by car to Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, South Beach and Key Biscayne.

As chain hotels go, this is as good as any in the US. As a very discerning and experienced traveler with opinions (see my other reviews!), this one deserves its reputation and for the quality of rooms, location, food and service, is fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Front desk was very accommodating, concierge gave great information, and to top it off, we had trouble getting a cab to go to the airport and the hotel staff used one of their own Escalade and drive us o the airport right away. We will be back, they are great at what they do.

Room Tip: Balcony room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.