We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the Few in Miami That Don't Disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Among the Few in Miami That Don't Disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

In a city of "hip" hotels filled with noise, loud music, breaches of privacy, B-list celebrities (and worse) and expensive prices for cheaply constructed buildings, the Mandarin Oriental is a welcome exception. I've stayed here over 15 times over the past decade but never wrote a review. But it's time to give praise where it's due.

First, the location -- on an "island" across a short causeway from the heart of the Brickell business district, the hotel has beautiful views in all directions. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable, and with true state-of-the-art support for all of your electronics -- there's a well placed single large panel in the desk area with plugs for chargers, ethernet cables, 3 prong plugs -- everything you can imagine.

All the rooms have floor-to-ceiling glass facing the water and city views, balconies, large bathrooms and abundant closet space. I've been in everything from their basic rooms to suites -- all were gracious and comfortable.

The two restaurants are excellent, and the buffet breakfast in the Cafe Simbal is exceptionally abundant, everything of highest quality, and with exceptionally broad choices.

The pool is a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the bay with outdoor shower and jacuzzi facilities, and the large nearby beach area is quiet, calm and well serviced by staff who are gracious, helpful and unintrusive. The spa is elegant and the exercise room is very large and as good as the most extravagant private facility.

All of these types of choices and preferences are matters of personal choice, but I've tried more than my share of South Beach "hip" places and they were uniformly bad compared to the Mandarin. And because Miami is so spread out, you'll need a car or taxi (as you need no matter where you stay), but the Mandarin is actually very central and equidistant by car to Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, South Beach and Key Biscayne.

As chain hotels go, this is as good as any in the US. As a very discerning and experienced traveler with opinions (see my other reviews!), this one deserves its reputation and for the quality of rooms, location, food and service, is fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    232
    88
    40
    36
See reviews for
169
434
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Front desk was very accommodating, concierge gave great information, and to top it off, we had trouble getting a cab to go to the airport and the hotel staff used one of their own Escalade and drive us o the airport right away. We will be back, they are great at what they do.

Room Tip: Balcony room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just stayed for three nights at the hotel. Great staff, beautiful places all over, quite spacious rooms and bathrooms.

The room is very nice, with a balcony with an amasing view of Brickel area. The two restaurants, Azul and Cafe Sambal were wonderful (and our waiter at Azul... Bradle...maybe.... was so gentle and funny... made our time there better).

I misses two things for a five star hotel: no coffe or tea on room (I really enjoy a coffe on hotels rooms!)... and no chocolate or any other amenity on turn down....

The spa is gourgeous, even if you just use the sauna and steam room, is a must visit. The pool area is great to relax in the morning or after a shopping day...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Miami for 6 nights and what a great place to spend 6 nights in Miami. The room was huge and modern with spectacular views of the city, bathroom had separate shower and bath, the room was cleaned twice a day. We had breakfast at Café Sambal most days the choice was excellent and the quality of food very good. The staff were all very accommodating and we received exceptional service at poolside a special thank you to Mihai the pool and beach manager for looking after us. There is a free trolley service just outside the hotel that will take you to variety of restaurants and local shops. We didn’t take a car but used taxi – the taxi from the airport to the hotel cost just under $30 and that was during rush hour, a little less on the return. The only slight issue we had was with a late checkout, they offered us a late checkout until 2PM complimentary. We asked could we pay extra until 5pm which was refused they offered us 4pm at a cost of $100 an hour !!! a little excessive I think for 2 hours especially considering the hotel was virtually empty.

We could honestly not fault this hotel. We loved everything about it and I will definitely stay here again next time we visit Miami....

Room Tip: high floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well, My family and I went for a 3 night getaway to the Mandarin. It seemed like a fair price and a fun thing to do. Well, here was the thing. The room was pretty small... and the service was lousy. Let me tell you why. When we asked for our room to be made up while we were away for a couple hours, they said of course. We were out a couple hours and the room wasn't made up. Then we called again. They said of course again. And we went back out for a few hours to get lunch. Yet, when we returned the room wasn't made up!! Now, if you want to get a bite at "Cafe Sambal" that's another story. (It was amazing) But, do not stay here. The grounds are nice, and so is "Cafe Sambal" but nothing else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in Café Sambal; it is truly one of the best sushi restaurants in Miami having been recently voted top five by Passport Miami in one of their recent readers poll.

Regarding the rest of your stay back in May, I am saddened to hear that your experience fell short and that you felt the room was small. We have many different category rooms all of which are on par in size with other luxury choices in the Miami. Please ask a reservation agent for more options and prices that may better fulfill your expectations. Pertaining to the lapse in service by housekeeping, we sincerely apologize that the room was not cleaned in the timeframe you requested. We do our best to accommodate all service requests. This is definitely an isolated incident that has been addressed with the housekeeping management to ensure it does not re-occur.

I hope you will give us another opportunity and request that you contact the Executive Office for your future reservation. I will ensure you have a seamless and enjoyable visit.

Sincerely,

Greg Nunez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited the Mandarin Oriental for a business meeting but the place could not have been less business-like! And, that's a good thing! When you enter the lobby, you see straight over Miami Bay. The entire facility feels like a spa no matter where you are. Subtle lighting, music, and extremely polite and respectful staff. If I hadn't had a conversation with all of them, I would have sworn I'd entered the Stepford Hotel! The staff not only remember your name, as another reviewer stated, they remembered my drink order from one day to the next. When you're not morning coffee drinker, but more of a Diet Coke gal, that little touch took me over the top. The rooms are fantastic - at the meeting, we had a competition to see who had the best room and view. No one won as no one lost - all are fantastic. Loved the pool, walking path around the island and access to the Brickell district with great food and shops. If I ever go to Miami again, I know where I'm staying. Frankly, I know I'll never hesitate to stay at any Mandarin Oriental hotel - no matter where it is. Have a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was my third stay at the Mandarin Oriental hotel in Miami. During my last stay this past weekend, I had a very bad experience. When I went to open the bed, there were two big brown stains on it, disguting. This is something you wouldn´t expect from a hotel of this category. I spoke with guest services and the concierge and the mattress and linens were changed and a note and chocolates were sent to my room, but the feeling I got will not go away.

Needless to say, I will never go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

We sincerely apology for the lapse in service you experienced during your stay. I can assure you this is not the norm which can be supported by the many favorable trip advisor comments and your own stay on previous visits. We are fully committed to ensuring that our guests receive the highest levels of service and I can assure you that our hotel maintains very stringent policies and procedures in place pertaining to cleanliness. We have addressed this occurrence with the appropriate department to ensure this does not re-occur.

I hope you will give us another opportunity and request that you contact the Executive Office for your future reservation. I will ensure you have a seamless and enjoyable visit.

Sincerely,

Greg Nuñez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.