We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing hotel, highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 130 hotels in Miami
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing hotel, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Checked in here at 10am after an overnight flight from Los Angeles and they kindly found us a room to check into straight away. Carlos at the desk also gave us a complimentary upgrade as we were on honeymoon.

Lovely room, great balcony overlooking the ocean.

Staff were lovely, really helpful.

The pool was great, a little small but still relaxing. Very comfy loungers and delicious cocktails and food.

Location is good for downtown Miami. Taxi to SouthBeach costs about $35. Free trolley service outside the hotel takes you on a loop around to the main shopping areas.

All in all a great hotel, amazing service and very luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    229
    87
    38
    36
See reviews for
160
428
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was so fabulous, we cannot find one thing that we did not like. First, we stayed here to attend a baseball game, just a short taxi ride. It was so wonderul we extened our stay. The hotel staff could not have been more warm and caring. Since we were celebrating a birthday, they went way out to make the day special. We enjoyed the pool, the view of the Bay, the location, the service and the food. The Oasis pool has wonderful sushi and Azure is fabulous. We had a drink an apetizers at the lounge and Claudio took care of us. Not only was he a good server and bartender, but he was so funny! We enjoyed our stay so much and want to return soon.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Bay, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Amazing! The spectacular views of this hotel, combined with the amazing private beach & pool, make this hotel simply like no other! I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday - and, loved it. I can honestly say, from all the other places I have visited... this is the only place that I have felt sad leaving... & cannot wait to go back!

The front desk staff was amazing! Especially the 2 front desk agents/bell that were working the night of the 27th... and, assisted us on making plans to go out for the night! Their suggestions were right... they knew the area, and they made suggestions based on what they thought we would like, and not what they personally liked...

We ordered room service one night... and, the food was delicious! The room service person was also extremely nice!

The hotel is about 15 minutes from Ocean Drive... and about $25. Not a big deal. The view that you wake up to in the morning, and go to sleep at night - makes this location a MUST! (;

While in Miami, this is the hotel to stay... simply amazing!

Room Tip: high floor... amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mandarin for 3 nights. We arrived early afternoon to find that our room (deluxe bay view) was not ready for check in. We were offered a complimentary lunch and drinks at the on site restaurant, Cafe Sanbal. Many comparable hotels do not do this so we were immediately impressed with the service level. Overall a great property...would definitely return.

Negatives:
*Brickell Key is beautiful but a significant taxi ride to South Beach or other notable shopping areas and restaurants. We rented a car but took taxis at night.
*The configuration of the room was a bit strange...open to the bathroom but a blind that could be closed.
* Man made non swimming beach that I consider just ok... was not a factor for us in choosing the property.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our deluxe bay view room...spacious and nice balcony with great downtown view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed last week with my family - Cafe Sanbal excellent for breakfast - Rooms appeared to be a little tired (furniture had damage to it ) Staff friendly but expect tips eg on arrival and every time you get in a taxi or car - which I guess is normal but it was slightly insincere with everyone saying 'Have a nice Day ' and not really meaning it ! - Valet parking 36 dollars - quite expensive if you are staying several nights - We were due to return next week at the end of our holiday but saw on the internet when looking at other hotel possibilities that MO has major renovation work starting - No pool No spa etc This we cannot see on the MO website Miami which is - if true a little naughty of the MO not to mention this as its pretty major and if you arrived expecting a relaxing vacation it would be dissapointint - if it is there I apologise but I could not see the warning of this anywhere so be warned !! I called the hotel reservations yesterday and they confirmed the work is starting soon - so you may want to check yourselves - Normally hotels warn of this or offer a reduced rate on rooms re noise and lack of facilities !

Room Tip: go high floor and ask for a bay view away from the brickel bridge (road noise) and away from elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I will address the lapses in service you encountered with our staff. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team.

With regards to the pool refurbishment, we have information posted on our website pertaining to the details of the closure and have advised all guests that have made reservations in August. We have arranged a variety of leisure options for guests to choose from during this time period.

Guest will have the option to enjoy the new lap pool and ambience at the luxurious St. Louis Condominium adjacent to the hotel. Our pool attendants will provide a selection of non-alcoholic beverages on a complimentary basis throughout the day at the St. Louis. From our hotel, it’s a leisurely five-minute walk to the St. Louis pool or guests may opt to take our golf cart service departing from the hotel front entrance or the hotel beach.

Guests will also have the option to enjoy our Oasis private beach and enjoy a gourmet Food Truck experience. Named one of the best Asian fusion restaurants in the US by Bon Appetit magazine, Miami’s favorite Food Truck Sakaya Kitchen will be offering an Asian-inspired, organic comfort food menu. Our private beach although not for swimming provides stunning views of the bay and Miami skyline. The hotel has taken every measure to ensure the guest experience is not interrupted.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

went here during 4th of july weekend. we got a deluxe bay view room (king bed with a small balcony facing downtown miami. the room was phenomenal. the room had an asian touch of decoration with wood furniture and the bathroom was very nice and spacious. the bathrooms had marble tile on the walls and floors making it very elegant.

the room offers morning maid service and evening turndown service. they even throw in 2 bottles of water free every night!

we also got to enjoy the spa, which was the only 5-star spa in miami. we got a facial and body massage which was fantastic! the spa has all the amenities you could ask for....steam room, sauna, showers, lockers, relaxation area.

the hotel is centrally located from downtown miami, south beach, and little havana. it is accessed by brickell key dr.

i would recommend this hotel looking for a 5-star hotel in miami.

Room Tip: choose a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami. This hotel offers impecable service throughout. From the front desk, to the pool, to the restaurants, everything is first class. The rooms are spacious and with a great view. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include two high-energy restaurants, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.