We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in downtown miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“5 star in downtown miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We came to the Mandarin for a group event and had a delightful stay. The hotel was organized and accommodated our group's unique needs with a pleasant attitude. The pool area is beautiful and the staff is extremely attentive without being overbearing. Rooms live up to the 5 star standard. The bathrooms are particularly beautiful, with romantic soaking tubs and a separate large shower. Note that the beach is lovely but it is worth the short drive to South Beach if you enjoy ocean swimming or have young children who like to be active on the beach. The hotel beach is geared toward sun worshippers and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    281
    108
    46
    42
See reviews for
206
547
76
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our second time staying at this property. The first time was sans a baby and in a junior suite. This time, we traveled with our 6mos old son and stayed in a deluxe bay view room. We went for a wedding. The valet and doormen were extremely helpful and kind throughout the whole trip. I have to agree with other reviews that the $36 per night valet fee was a bit steep. Probably about $10 higher per night than other comparable resorts. Our check in went smoothly however the first room we were assigned (915) had a balcony only big enough for 1 chair. We immediately requested a different room with a larger balcony that had 2 chairs and were reassigned to 1519. I cannot figure out why they would assign a couple checking in with an infant to a room with a 1 chair balcony but it was rectified. I thought the room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was beautiful. The crib was quite large though and took up a considerable amount of room. I'd recommend traveling with a pack and play if you have a little one with you because of the crib size. My only real complaint was the overpriced buffet breakfast and coffee. $22 for room service to bring coffee for 2 people. $72 for buffet breakfast for two. No omelet station or waffle maker, etc for such high pricing. However, the service was so top notch that it is a wonderful hotel. Every server we had was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very quick visit to Miami for a conference but had a delightful 1 night visit at the Mandarin Miami and wish we could have stayed a few more days to really appreciate the property. It's beautiful, lovely location and had great experience with all staff. Everyone was accommodating. Beautiful breakfast the next morning and no time for the spa but we did visit and walk around and it's an award winning spa with a retail area that carries all the brands I look for in a luxury experience. Our room was huge and the bathroom was beautiful with all the amenities we would want. Didn't have time to visit the pool but it did look small compared to other locations but it did have nice lounge chairs; you'd have to probably get their early to get a spot if it was a busy weekend. Easy commute into town; awesome meal at Zuma..Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is simply a wonderful hotel with immaculate service. Everyone was absolutely first class--from the valets to the front desk. Smiling, helpful, everything. The lobby to the hotel is absolutely striking and the rooms are equally gorgeous, with fabulous views. Yes, it isn't on the beach but who cares when everything is this perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed with my wife at the Mandarin Oriental for four days in June. Hotel is amazing, with great views (see attached pics – junior suite) and very nice ambiance. In general treatment from staff was quite good. People are friendly, accommodating and always in high spirits.
In some occasions I felt front desk was a little overwhelmed, since there were a couple events going on during the weekend. In any event, a hotel in that category should be ready for any occasion.

The only drawback worth mentioning is that we reserved a package that included early check in. A week before arrival I called the hotel and confirmed the early check in. For my surprise, room was not available when we arrived, since they were “fully booked” the previous evening. The receptionist was kind enough and offered us a breakfast and late checkout, which was nice. I just do not think a hotel in such class should not be able to provide what they sold.

Anyway, it was a minor issue. In general, great hotel and I would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed at several Mandarin's, and we came to Miami's with height expectations. It's a huge disappointment to find out that the service it's far from Mandarin's standards, specially in the pool and beach area, the service was awful!!!!!!, rude. This is our first of 3 days staying here room 611, and we are already considering moving to a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service you experienced with our pool and beach staff. We do not tolerate negative behavior from our employees and will address this incident and take corrective measures to be sure it is not repeated. We pride ourselves in delighting our guests and making sure every detail of their stay is enjoyable. I regret this was not the case on your visit.

Thank you for the valued feedback and again my apologies for the disappointing experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Every staff member from the valet to the front desk made the extra effort to provide a positive stay. We were celebrating my husbands birthday so they had a delicious dessert delivered to our room. The weather was quite warm so they provided cool water bottles whenever we picked up our car. The folks at the beach/pool area were attentive and friendly. Our only complaint was the bed, which we found fairly uncomfortable. A shame because we extremely peased otherwise (& would have given the hotel 5 stars). It is very convenient to several great restaurants in Mary Brickell Village but offers some serenity and quiet away from the other nearby hotels. Stated price for rooms is expensive but if you find a good deal, it's worth the bit extra for such a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.