We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest massage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The greatest massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel service is incredible,the food at the hotels restaurants as well as room service is exquisite and the SPA has one of the best massages and facials

Room Tip: All are comfortable but the ones with a terrace just makes it bit more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    261
    101
    43
    39
See reviews for
193
500
72
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The ideal hotel for the Miami visit. The rooms are increible, modern, very comfortable. The hotel ambience is amazing, from the decorations to the aromas. The spa is world class, as is the gym, restaurants and views from anywhere. Highly recomendable for business (close to Brickell Avenue), families, and couples. This hotel truly deserves its 5 stars. And the staff is highly trained, courteous and always with a smile! I recommend this hotel with no doubts at all

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel has beautiful rooms with expansive views but it is a neither here nor there location. I Would far prefer the madness of the Miami Beach area as a tourist and probably a more central downtown location if on business.

One of the problems with the location is that there is very little around it and hence very few alternative places to eat without either a long walk or a cab ride. Unfortuantely the Food in the hotel is only OK and extraordinarily expensive.

Service was very uneven and often very slow.

I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your visit did not fully meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guests have a genuinely delightful experience. Our city resort is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from the new Mary Brickell Village which offers an eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Although we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man made beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiency in service you experienced, I have gone back to address the staff on this issue and have taken immediate corrective action.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your comments and I hope you will reconsider with a return visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

1) The air conditioning unit makes a loud clicking noise.
2) The iron was so old it dropped flecks of rust on my clothing.
3) Shoes put out to be polished were only returned after 2 requests, making me late for a meeting
4) Water splash guards in the shower are mis-aligned, and resulted in room floor flooding.
5) Spa is wonderful and seems to be well appointed.

Room Tip: Bay view is nice -- but 6th floor is still "low" on the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered during your recent stay. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and in this case, clearly fell short. Please be assured we will address the issues experienced to ensure they are corrected.

Additionally, we have attended to the air conditioning system situation and have requested for our engineering staff to inspect the cooling system in the room you had occupied.
I have also asked our Houskeeping staff to review the shoe polishing procedures and to check every single guest room iron.

Thank you again for your constructive comments. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Sincerely,
Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I've never experienced such rude service in my life....The hotel room is not that impressive, just ordinary...The only benefit of this hotel is the boutique Shanghai Tang in the Lobby. Only 3 locations in the USA.

Room Tip: Stay at The Conrad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the rudeness you encountered during your recent stay. We do not tolerate this type of behavior from our employees and will address this incident and take corrective measures to be sure it is not repeated. We pride ourselves in delighting our guests and making sure every detail of their stay is enjoyable. I regret this was not the case on your visit.

I do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity with a return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami in the future. Please contact the Executive Office to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is best as anevents site--like a wedding or business meeting. It is very zen with incense burning in the lobby. It is also quiet and does not have much of a cocktail scene. The pool area is tiny and the "beach" is man-made ( no swimming here). It also does not have much to offer within walking distance. The service was spotty. On one occasion our room was never serviced.

The real estate, however is lovely and the rooms well appointed. The on site restaurants are also terrific. Overall, though, I found the place a bit dull and lacking....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your visit did not fully meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guests have a genuinely delightful experience. Our city resort is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from the new Mary Brickell Village which offers an eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Although we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man made beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

I apologize for the deficiency in service you experienced related to housekeeping. I have gone back to address the staff on this issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your comments and I hope you will reconsider with a return visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Got a price of $379 per night with a $50 credit to use towards food or spa. In other words it cost $329 per night which is close to other hotels of this kind like the JW marquis, etc. The difference comes to the overly high prices in food, valet, etc. For example, breakfast for 2 was $80 (egg white omeletes, coffe, and juice).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guest have a genuinely delightful experience. We take your feedback into consideration and would like to share that the hotel is competitively priced with luxury hotels within the area.

Thank you again for writing about your visit. We value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.