We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ... but needs renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
kuwait
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“nice ... but needs renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is in a magnificent location with stunning views. The service is outstanding like any other mandarin oriental hotel.
However, the hotel is really outdated and requires urgent renovation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I regret that you felt the hotel’s décor did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is vital and will be taken into consideration.

Thank you again for writing about your visit.. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    249
    95
    42
    37
See reviews for
184
469
70
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

What a beautiful and tranquil hotel! The rooms are gorgeous and the service is great -- it is hard not to feel immediately relaxed from the moment that you wander into the beautiful lobby (just steer clear of any drunken conference attendees). Before we booked our trip, my husband and I were a little worried that we'd miss the huge pools, overly sweet umbrella drinks, ocean beach, and bustle of Miami Beach and South Beach... Not at all. We loved our stay. We can't wait to go back. The quiet and secluded beach (well, manmade sandy area) was perfect for relaxing, especially in those comfy lounge-chairs, and we used the hotel's location to our advantage, exploring Little Havana, Marlins Ballpark, Bayside, Brickell Key, Mary Brickell Village. We also loved the internet radio in the room! No Ipod necessary when we were watching the rain...

The biggest downside to the hotel - besides its location (if you are looking for *the scene* this is NOT the hotel for you!) - was the $$$$ cost of everything. How is it possible that you can spend so much on a hotel room and then have to pay for wireless access?! How can they charge that much for a measly bottle of beer?! We ended up walking over to the grocery store and liquor store so that we wouldn't feel compelled to pay so much for everything.

We can't wait to return to the Mandarin.

Room Tip: You definitely want one of the rooms with a bay view and an extended balcony! Also, on our first da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of February. Our friends also stayed there. We were greeted with smiles and tea and escorted to the elevator. Very nice check in and check out.

We asked the concierge for help, and we got lots of good help.

We used the hotel as a warm weather resort, and used the pool every day. The pool area was small. We have stayed at the Four Seasons and the Epic in Miami, and this pool area was smaller than either of those. The service at the pool was mediocre at best. We were seldom served with water, we had to get it ourselves (which we are very capable of doing, but those other mentioned hotels served water throughout the day).

Room was serviced twice a day, and they did a good job. The gym was fantastic.

The hotel is a little bit away from any restaurants except for the ones in the hotel of course. If you did not want to have breakfast at the hotel, it was a 10 to 15 min walk to the nearest breakfast place. Our rate did not include breakfast so we did not have it there. Our friends purchased breakfast and said it was a fantastic buffet, but pricey.

I loved the hotel and we saw celebs there. We would happily stay there again, if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Thought it was a great idea to go back to the most awesome hotel I've had the good fortune of staying at in the U.S.. Had a drink off the lobby outside by the water and walk path, it didn't disappoint! Caipirinha and a strawberry caipirinha were delicious as well as the generous complimentary bar snack treats. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, it's not inexpensive, it is so worth to go and have dinner at Azul or have a wonderfully made cocktail at the bar and sit outside on the balcony, it will put a smile on your face!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Ok, so special event, our 7th wedding anniversary , called ahead of time to advise reservations and asked for bubbly and strawberries upon arrival (at this point no mention by reservations that our weekend stay would be the overrun by large wedding parties and a convention).

Arrived checked in, so far so good (although I must admit the reception area is a little shabby for an MO- stains on the seats and torn/repaired leather upholstery – not what you would expect). Ordered the free daily newspapers as offered– to be delivered to the room each morning – which never arrived during our entire stay. We were escorted to the room, to find it was cramped and a little tired with a City view (at $600.00 a night expected more). No pre-ordered champagne to be found – called front desk, lots of apologies and upgraded to a junior suite – which was very nice good views over the bay and a private balcony, but at $800.00 a night it was just “ok” (single sink in the bathroom no his and hers so had to take turns). Two hours go by – still waiting on the pre-ordered bubbly and it was still a no show (so much for the surprise for the wife) , so we head down to the bar and fought our way through 500-600 guests in the reception area (get used to the $23.00 cocktails- but that’s OK it’s the MO and a special occasion). When we got back up to the room the bubbly had at last arrived.

Weather was awful for the day and half of our stay, that we cannot blame on the MO! So we spent two hours at the Spa (dropped $500.00 for a couples massage). Following day the sun came out so we swiftly head down to the much advertised pool area and beach, only to be told there was a private function and the pool was off limits to hotel guests – so although disappointed we head off to the private beach area, only to be told that was also off limits to hotel guests for a different corporate function. The F&B guy was very apologetic and agreed that it was unacceptable to turn away paying guests in favor of convention parties but it was beyond his pay-grade to do anything about it. So we headed back up to the room, called the front desk manager and complained – was told it was it unfortunate but they have to try and accommodate everyone (which clearly they weren’t able to do). Upon check out they discounted our bill by $260.00 to compensate us for the inconvenience –which was less than 10% of the total bill for a 2 night stay.

They really need to decide whether they want to cater to conventions or their guests, at an average of $1,000.00 a night the use of the pool and the beach cannot be considered an unreasonable request. As I pointed out to the duty manager surely they have an obligation when making a reservation to point out that during the stay certain facilities will not be available and to expect large crowds due to conventions. Without that warning I would maintain that they are misrepresenting their product by advertising facilities that are not available , but which they charge you for. Come on guys this is the Mandarin Oriental not a 3rd string hotel chain catering to the convention masses with little or no regard to their guests wellbeing. Bottom line – when you make a reservation call them and explicitly ask them to tell you if the any of the facilities will be unavailable. This was a very special weekend for us , money was not the issue but the quality of the stay and memory was – had we have known we would gone elsewhere that weekend. (begins with a 4 and ends with seasons).

Room Tip: Go for a suite the basic rooms are not good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your staying at Mandarin Oriental, Miami and for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service you experienced during your recent stay. I can offer no excuses, only my assurance that we are taking corrective measures to prevent this from happening again. Future social events will be coordinated in a different manner so that it will not affect our leisure guests’ stays.

This is the first time we have had such an occurrence and I regret the inconvenience and frustration it caused you. If you could contact the Hotel Executive Office we would like to further discuss this unfortunate incident. The direct line to the Executive Office is (305) 913 8336.

Again, my sincerest apologies for the disappointing visit. I hope you will allow us another opportunity and will ensure you enjoy a delightful and seamless stay on your next visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Standard room. The staff is really helpful. Organized several meetings with clients and friends and they were all impressed and happy. The terrace bar was really a joy and did not want to leave my spot. Between meetings couldn't ask for a better place to unwind and read a newspaper calmly. Not excellent for me due to value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites in the hotel. Great place to base our business exploits during our stay. Lots of room, calm environment and yet close enough to the heart of the city.

Staff were pleasant and friendly with beach facilities manager being exceptionally helpful.

The Sunday chill out beach party with DJ was great and a lovely way to spend the day.

A calmer way of staying in Miami than South Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.