We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect when you stay at a Mandarin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect when you stay at a Mandarin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel quite frequently for work and try to stay at a Mandarin whenever I can. Service is excellent, the hotels are immaculate, the rooms are beautiful and the restaurants/bar/lounges are always great. The Mandarin Miami has a beautiful pool area, nice gym and on an island which allows you to take a nice jog/walk along the water. The views of south beach are breathtaking. The staff is courteous and helpful and the rooms are beautiful. Since the hotel is on a little island you will need to travel about 5/10 minutes to get to Mary brickell village/downtown Miami so it is a bit secluded. In my opinion its still definitely worth stating here. The Epic Hotel down the block is trying to be a swanky Mandarin but not worth it. The service/experience at the Mandarin is 10x better.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    249
    96
    42
    37
See reviews for
184
472
70
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

For sure, it is a great hotel. However, we have stayed in Bangkok over the New Year two years ago and it was a great treat. We have found out what makes it to one of the best hotels in the world. We did not have the same great expectations in Miami, but we were truly disappointed by the missing details..

Check-In : In Thailand we were made to believe that we are all VIP's because the moment you set foot on the propery some magical way everyone knew your name. In Miami, the check in was very very standard.. The receptionist asked us to show us the way and then he forgot, then he came and then he forgot to click the elevator buttons etc..

Cafe : No host to seat you, people wait up and noone ever welcomes them, there is supposedly a host but she/he was never there during our three days. Waiters just run around with no aim while people wait for their orders. One morning, someone welcomed us which was suprising but then the table she took us to was already taken :)

Room : Toilet clogged during our stay. Our butler was not creative at all..

Rest of the hotel : We have not encountered one smiling face.. We seriously believe that all staff shall be taken one week to Bangkok to be taught what hospitality really means..

In short, these are all pretty stupid details, but again I am comparing Mandarin to Mandarin..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. We can offer no excuses for your disappointing experience. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we continue to train our team of hard-working colleagues on a daily basis.

Thank you for your valued feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are in the middle of a much-needed staycation at the Mandarin and we haven't had a minute's rest since last weekend. I agree with most other reviews regarding that the rooms are OK and that the service is indifferent.
But really what has bothered me this time is the incessant noise coming from the lawn, where they are building a tent for what seems to be a big event... Same thing was happening when I attended a luncheon in December. It seems like the management at this hotel values their event guests more than their hotel guests.
To make matters worse, there is some MAJOR CONSTRUCTION going on at the building next door to the Mandarin and there is heavy drilling non-stop from 8AM to 5PM.
Both of these construction projects make it impossible to enjoy the peace & quiet that $400/night should get you!
I am very disppointed in this hotel for not being able to secure a quiet and peaceful environment in the middle of such a great location.
WILL NOT STAY HERE IN THE FUTURE, or recommend it to Miami visitors. If you are thinking about booking this hotel, ask them about the construction going on... It is deafening. We are looking forward to the loud party at the tent this weekend... Oy vey

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay on this occasion was a disappointing one. Your comments are very important to us.

We would be delighted to discuss this further with you and make amends for the inconveniences you encountered. Please feel free to email us at Email-momia-ExecutiveOffice@mohg.com .

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I've always wanted to stay in Mandarin because I heard some great stuff about it. I really don't know what the fuzz is all about. The hotel has a good location, near downtown but sadly always from South Beach, the hottest place in Greater Miami. As our trip was not all vacation (we came to do some serious shopping!), this was not an issue for us. The hotel is very luxurious and our room (an executive room) was quiet, spacious and with a great view. But the shower is poor (I like strong water shower), the amenities are 3-star quality, the TV had some channels that simply had bad tune (and the hotel is unable to solve it), the air conditioner was impossible to set the perfect temperature, room service takes forever and, the worst, the service at breakfast was unaceptable (the waiter forgot to bring us spoons we asked 3 times!) and with lesser option than the 3-star hotel also stayed in this trip, in Boca Raton.
Besides all that, parking and internet are very, very expensive. In this category of hotel, wi-fi should be free!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service experienced throughout your stay. I can offer no excuses for these service lapses, only my assurance that I will work very diligently to take the necessary measures to bring these up to the service levels we take pride in.

I have addressed the issues encountered with the guest room shower with our Engineering team to correct. We will be changing our television system in the coming weeks to a better high definition quality.

The incident you encountered in Café Sambal during breakfast has been addressed with the management team and corrective measures have been implemented to prevent this lapse in service from occurring again.

Thank you for your valued feedback. I regret we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed at the Mandarin Oriental before and after a Caribbean cruise and found it excellent. Stayed in the Biscayne Suite. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

this hotel is not like other 5 star American hotel, there is no coffee machine,in the room the beds are not comfortable and too firm,
I set the thermostat to 68 F to sleep better then thermostat automatically (after few hours ) changes to 72 F because has a motion detector which I had to wake up and reset the thermostat , the pool is very small and too busy I could not find a seat unless I go at 8 am to find a seat, I WILL NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL IN THE FUTURE

Room Tip: ask for pool view room and with balcony able to fit two chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Beautiful ambiance. Situated on Brickell Key, most rooms overlook the bay. The pool is also right on the water and I saw pods of dolphins swimming every evening at dusk. Cafe Sambal is the perfect breakfast spot- sit outside. I loved getting in the elevator and smelling incense.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.