We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Clean, elegant hotel on Biscayne Bay. Courteous and friendly staff. Only snafu was that we specifically asked at check in for a rollaway bed to be ready by 6pm and when we returned from dinner after 8pm, it was not set up. When we called, the staff brought the bed, but did not bother to set it up. Soooooo, other than that, a nice hotel overall. We had a fabulous breakfast overlooking the bay the next morning. The area is mainly a work zone, so there is a fair amount of congestion. Would be a good hotel for business travelers more than tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service you experienced during your stay due to the lack of follow up from our Housekeeping Department. I can offer no excuses for the lapse in service, only my assurance that we will take corrective measures to prevent this from occurring again.

If you would be so kind to contact the Executive Office so we can ensure your next stay with us is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Greg Nunez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    252
    100
    43
    37
See reviews for
185
488
70
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Very good experience, amazing food and great attention to details. The staff is very nice and make you feel special. Rooms are nice and large with great views of downtown. Pool area is nice . Spa is superb a must do. Only downside is that the hotel is not on the beach so a rental is necessary.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We loved the excepcional service at this hotel. We are very picky about it but everything went very smooth. The concierge arranged for our rental car to be delivered at this hotel and dropped off at another place, none of the other hotels could do it. The restaurant and bar are very good and so is the Spa.The room was great although I still do not see the purpose of having an open space between the bath and bedroom. At least the toilet had a separate door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

the location of this hotel is good, in a beautiful area of Miami with a beautiful view. The rooms are spacious, with beautiful views and very comfortable bathrooms. The beach, the spa and restaurants offer excellent services. What has left me disappointed was the service, not very efficient, not very present, not smiling in simply words not up to the name of Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: ask fo a junior suite, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. We can offer no excuses for your disappointing experience. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we continue to train our team of hard-working colleagues on a daily basis.

Thank you for your valued feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Understated elegance. Mandarin service standards with a local flavour. Very comfortable rooms. Good channel selection. Excellent bed. Good to very good restaurants. Nice gym. Prompt, reliable, effcient and friendly service. I am not going to write anymore. A must if you don't want/don't need to stay on the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I came to Miami for a couple of days during March to have a break from Manhattan Island.

Luxury bed made me sleep half of the day plus entire night up until morning. Breakfast was mouth-watering, and an awesome view made my morning truly inspiring. Reception desk gave a special attention to my interests and arranged all the trips and local reservations for me. Solicitous personnel at the pool knew their job very well. At night a restaurant downstairs gets packed, and no surprises here! Food is really delicious! The room was clean, and service was very considerate, as always.

Definitely, the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great place to crash for a luxury week, located on an linked island just offshore from downtown, the location kind of works, despite being in this small odd location. The hotel is new and very cool, bedrooms and bathrooms are very well fitted, no complaints ...

Strengths
New 5* Hotel, great pool area, and man made beach/sandy area ( note you can't swim in the sea here , no access)
Great hotel staff, always super helpful
Very good spa and top Gym ( free newspapers, headphones ), the island is also good for running, so good place to get fit.
2 decent (expensive ) restaurants inside the hotel
Top Bedrooms/Bathrooms

Weakness
Main hotel bar M-Bar is rubbish, feels more like an extension of the lobby. An hotel of this standing needs something way better than this ( think Mandarin Bar London as a good example)

Tips
Miami beach $26 away, Nikki Beach a good place to hit the real Beach if needed
Little Cuba pretty close, good for a Cuban food..
Lincoln Road Mall Miami Beach, great place to shop, hang out, and dine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.