We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Clean, elegant hotel on Biscayne Bay. Courteous and friendly staff. Only snafu was that we specifically asked at check in for a rollaway bed to be ready by 6pm and when we returned from dinner after 8pm, it was not set up. When we called, the staff brought the bed, but did not bother to set it up. Soooooo, other than that, a nice hotel overall. We had a fabulous breakfast overlooking the bay the next morning. The area is mainly a work zone, so there is a fair amount of congestion. Would be a good hotel for business travelers more than tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceabee115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service you experienced during your stay due to the lack of follow up from our Housekeeping Department. I can offer no excuses for the lapse in service, only my assurance that we will take corrective measures to prevent this from occurring again.

If you would be so kind to contact the Executive Office so we can ensure your next stay with us is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Greg Nunez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very good experience, amazing food and great attention to details. The staff is very nice and make you feel special. Rooms are nice and large with great views of downtown. Pool area is nice . Spa is superb a must do. Only downside is that the hotel is not on the beach so a rental is necessary.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebaillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We loved the excepcional service at this hotel. We are very picky about it but everything went very smooth. The concierge arranged for our rental car to be delivered at this hotel and dropped off at another place, none of the other hotels could do it. The restaurant and bar are very good and so is the Spa.The room was great although I still do not see the purpose of having an open space between the bath and bedroom. At least the toilet had a separate door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthemove001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

the location of this hotel is good, in a beautiful area of Miami with a beautiful view. The rooms are spacious, with beautiful views and very comfortable bathrooms. The beach, the spa and restaurants offer excellent services. What has left me disappointed was the service, not very efficient, not very present, not smiling in simply words not up to the name of Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: ask fo a junior suite, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalla1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. We can offer no excuses for your disappointing experience. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we continue to train our team of hard-working colleagues on a daily basis.

Thank you for your valued feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Understated elegance. Mandarin service standards with a local flavour. Very comfortable rooms. Good channel selection. Excellent bed. Good to very good restaurants. Nice gym. Prompt, reliable, effcient and friendly service. I am not going to write anymore. A must if you don't want/don't need to stay on the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I came to Miami for a couple of days during March to have a break from Manhattan Island.

Luxury bed made me sleep half of the day plus entire night up until morning. Breakfast was mouth-watering, and an awesome view made my morning truly inspiring. Reception desk gave a special attention to my interests and arranged all the trips and local reservations for me. Solicitous personnel at the pool knew their job very well. At night a restaurant downstairs gets packed, and no surprises here! Food is really delicious! The room was clean, and service was very considerate, as always.

Definitely, the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYkykla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great place to crash for a luxury week, located on an linked island just offshore from downtown, the location kind of works, despite being in this small odd location. The hotel is new and very cool, bedrooms and bathrooms are very well fitted, no complaints ...

Strengths
New 5* Hotel, great pool area, and man made beach/sandy area ( note you can't swim in the sea here , no access)
Great hotel staff, always super helpful
Very good spa and top Gym ( free newspapers, headphones ), the island is also good for running, so good place to get fit.
2 decent (expensive ) restaurants inside the hotel
Top Bedrooms/Bathrooms

Weakness
Main hotel bar M-Bar is rubbish, feels more like an extension of the lobby. An hotel of this standing needs something way better than this ( think Mandarin Bar London as a good example)

Tips
Miami beach $26 away, Nikki Beach a good place to hit the real Beach if needed
Little Cuba pretty close, good for a Cuban food..
Lincoln Road Mall Miami Beach, great place to shop, hang out, and dine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#4 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing