We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, just one problem....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, just one problem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for a quick overnight get away. The rate for Florida residents was incredible. As it was our anniversary, the room had rose petals on the bed and in the tub, and chocolate covered strawberries were delivered to the room. Staff was accomodating with our request for a late check out. Almost everything about the hotel was impecable, The staff was very professional. The room was gorgeous with a breathtaking view. Room service was great. The infiinity edge pool, was clean and beautiful as it was right on the waterfront. The fitness center was great, with towels and bottled water readily available on each indivitual machine-- each of which had small touchscreen t.v.'s and available individually wrapped headphones.The hotel appeared to be immaculate. We did, however, have one problem, there was a periodic noise, seemingly from our a/c, which woke us up numerous times during the night. This was not only annoying but dissapointing, as the hotel really lived up to its five star rating in all other aspects. We did mention this to the front desk staff when we checked out,and they were apologetic, however, that obviously did not make up for the fact that we both had a miserable night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you are a Florida resident, call the hotel directly and inquire about the Florida residents rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    291
    115
    47
    42
See reviews for
219
587
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

During our 3 days of stay we got into the conclusion that mandarin oriental is from now on the best chain ever! From all things including the assian design, the huge very beautifully decorated deluxe rooms, with high guality and hi tech standards that my eyes never saw in other chains like 4 s , one & only & so on, the perfect unigue azul restaurant and its high standards of service, the private beach and its modern decor outside, the amazing entrance and waterfalls in breakfast , all these plus many more different details make our 3 days in miami ever so sprcial that exceeded our expectations !!! Congrats and thank you ever so much for the unbeleivable treatment you gave us and tge top class spa not to forget! You made my special day ever so wonderful and our miami holidays sooooo amazing! We love you and we ll be back for sure to you and miami again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have stayed here a few times as a short getaway as we live in Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is beautiful, service is outstanding and location is prime. My wife loves it because it is on a small island so there is no traffic and is very quiet and relaxing. Has a 1.3 mile path around the island that is marvelous to do in the evening when it cools down and there is a breeze. We even brought our dog last year and she loved it. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is a hotel that cannot be beat! Service outstanding, huge rooms with lovely towels & all the amenities. Beds are incredibly comfortable. The pool area is outstanding. The minute you walk in the door, the views take your breath away. You feel special!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the stay 2 nights get 3rd night free package, and stayed here for the weekend of 8/19.

Let's start with the positives: the deluxe bay view room has a beautiful ocean view with the bridge to key biscayne in sight. Room is clean and deceit size. Staff is friendly and always opens doors for me. Valet always brings our car promptly.

And that's about it.

On the flip side, the room's interior decor is nothing special, more like a 4-star (think Westin) than a 5-star (see my review of St Regis Florence, an outstanding 5-star hotel). I found unidentifiable stains on the headboard of the bed. And the interior overall is starting to show some wear and tear.

The pool is tiny. For a hotel that's not on the beach, you really need a nice big pool to compensate for that. The man-made beach is also small (and don't fool yourself - the "beach" has no entry into water).

We had breakfast at cafe sambal. We knew it'd be expensive, but didn't expect the quality to be so below average. The eggs in the $20 egg benedict was way over cooked, too salty, and bland otherwise. On top of that, my coffee cup was dirty and there was a layer of grease floating once coffee was poured in. I had to ask for a clean cup.

This was my first time staying at mandarin oriental. Given its reputation I expected more. I'd probably give MO another try somewhere else.



We ate breakfast at cafe sambal at the hotel. We knew it'd be expensive ($20 eff Benedict), but was hoping at least it'd taste good. Food turned out to be salty (and very bland other than the saltiness). The eggs in the egg Benedict was way overcooked. On top of that, my coffee cup was dirty and a layer of grease floated on top of the coffee - I had to ask for a clean cup.

But

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations.

I regret you did not find the room’s interior to your satisfaction. The hotel underwent an extensive renovation last year with the original interior designer, Jan Clausen directing the redesign of the hotel guest rooms. I do apologize for the lapse in service you experienced by our housekeeping colleague.

We pride ourselves in ensuring our colleagues deliver quality service and provide ongoing training to each and every colleague. We will have this breakdown in service researched and corrected.

Our private beach is not promoted as one for swimming but for relaxing and enjoying the views. The pool deck will be expanded this fall to offer our guests more room to relax and sun bathe. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and beach provide a quiet respite for our guests.

Again, my sincere apologies that your stay was not an enjoyable experience. I hope you will afford us another opportunity with a return visit in the future.

Sincerely

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President &
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Extremely elegant hotel. The staff knows what they are doing, they are friendly and see to your every need. The rooms are a bit small but with great views and a huge bathroom. I've stayed on business with family and with my wife and it is always delightful.

With my kids they where great and the man made beach is fantastic. Also the in room dinning is pricey but superb. As their several restaurants ate amongst the best in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

It's a bit difficult to rate this Mandarin Oriental. Let's say .. it's different. It's very pleasant. but... the location is awkward .. you are off.. If you are used to Mandarin Orientals that are in the "center" of action this one is a bit off (like the FS).
Also for such a big hotel the pool size is a bit disappointing and when the hotel is full really only usable as a "plunge pool "
What also is a very bad habit in the Miami area is to just include 18% tip on everything independently of the service . Well if you can't choose what to give... what is the point ? make it inclusive.

That this can be done differently is shown in the Mandarin Las Vegas : you go to the wellness area for a treatment and you choose how much to give... maybe that's a reason the massage in the las Vegas was much better.

On the good side the Margaritas are some of the best you can get in town. and if you want great food just go to trulocks just passing the bridge.
It's not my favorite Mandarin and it's far from south beach.. .the service is just much better then anything you can find there...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#10 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.