We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

first of all the negative points: when we arrived our room was not free anymore and we got a cheaper room (but paid the FULL price) and had to move to our room the next day; this is not admissible for Mandarin Oriental standards!

this being said, the girl at the reception was very helpful, the view on Miami Downtown is amazing, breakfast excellent, room spacious and clean and we had a great dinner at the Sambal restaurant

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    242
    90
    40
    37
See reviews for
177
448
68
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have always stayed at my friends place in Brickell and was always dying to go visit the Mandarin Oriental. This time i have decided to spend a night over there and it was simply exceptional. I really like the room product, the level of service (the staff make you feel welcome and are always looking at ways to assist you). the pool is little small compare to the size of the hotel, but such a great service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here about 5 years ago when it had opened fairly recently. Thought the rooms were awesome - they had a sliding door that either opened up to the bathroom and tub or closed it off. Bathroom amenities were all very nice and nothing missing. Turndown service every night was so nice. They leave a little orchid on your pillow which I loved. Views from the balcony over Key Biscayne are lovely. Only thing is you are not in South Beach, you are in Key Biscayne, so it's about a 20 minute cab ride to any of the nightlife there. The pool is small but right on the water and nice and sunny. And the spa was incredible! The food by the pool was delicious. I did not eat in the restaurant, but it is supposed to be very good!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I recently came back from the Mandarin in Miami. I was there for a conference which actually took place at the hotel.
The smell in the lobby and public areas remind me of a spa... Asian spices and scents.
The room was spacious with well appointed bathroom and nice amenities. The desk was comfortable and larger than most.
I had a terrific water view and a nice balcony on the 15th floor.
The fitness center was rather small and as a hotel guest with access to the spa, I was surprised when I tried to visit the spa facilities upon my arrival. Per hotel policy I needed to use the facilities immediately if I wanted to go inside.
The thing I appreciated most of the hotel is the huge amount of electrical outlets in the room; plenty to charge my laptop, cell phones and many more to spare. This is invaluable for business travelers and seldom overlooked by hotels.
Great place for business!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This place is very classy, quiet, and close to everything you could want in Miami without being on the beach and in the crowds. The service from the valet parking guys all the way up was impeccable. I would highly recommend this hotel. Two very nice restaurants with great views. Close to the beach and right in the Brickell area. Just fab!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I have attended events at this hotel over the years, but never stayed there. I made a reservation at a rate of $289 plus taxes PLUS parking. Very nice lobby and room with a view and a balcony. Very modern and sleek, yet comfortable.

I am outraged that a croissant and juice in the breakfast room cost $22.12, including the non-waivable 18% gratuity. The problem is that the hotel is in a poor location, and not easily accesible to other places to eat or get food, so the hotel charges whatever it wants.

The parking price is equally outrageous, although it was efficiently operated and the valets politely greeted me. Check in and out was also easy.

Business rooms for conferences were excellent.

In summary, although I recommend this hotel, there are other hotels in the area with more charm and better location (e.g. Intercontinental Miami or JW Marriott).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oreintal, Miami on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your visit did not fully meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guests have a genuinely delightful experience. Our city resort is located on the island of Brickell Key with easy access to Miami’s downtown commercial districts, South Beach, Bayside, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. The hotel is also minutes away from the new Mary Brickell Village which offers an eclectic mix of upscale dining, shopping and entertainment options.

We are competitively priced with luxury hotels in the Brickell area. In reference to the gratuity, it is removable from your bill if you feel the services did not merit it. The valet parking is also competitively priced with area properties.

We do appreciate your comments and I hope you will reconsider with a return visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I just finished a day at the Mandarin Oriental, where I gave a speech. I have previously stayed at the Mandarin with my wife and consider it one of the best hotels in the USA. This stay was in and out to give a speech.

I had to work in the business center. It is very well-staffed, which is consistent with the five-star level of service at the Mandarin Miami. I printed out hundreds of pages in color slides -- which was pricey -- but the service center had supplies (folders, big staples, etc.), which I have never found at a hotel business center.

The conference itself was excellent. And the conference food was certainly a notch above what you expect.

One of the most interesting surveys I conducted at break was how many of the convention goers bruoght a spouse. Highest number I have ever heard. Almost everyone staying more than a night was being met by their spouse. That is almost unheard of in most conferences, and a testament to how much people enjoy this hotel. Particularly since the conference was international and most spouses were coming from far away at the attendees personal expense.

I love this property. The staff are uniformly pleasant, gracious, etc. Every part of the common public areas are immaculate. I wouldn't say anything about the Mandarin is cheap -- coffee is $4 -- but you expect that at a six star hotel. The important thing for me is expected premium pricing to get premium service. And the Mandarin delivers.

I also think the location is superb. The views from the Mandarin are picture-postcard-perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Venere, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.