We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 SW 15th Street, Miami, FL 33129 (Coral Way)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #75 of 129 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived early off a cruise ship, too early for check-in. The clerk put our name on our luggage and we put in a locked room. There was no washroom in the lobby of the hotel and he informed us that the employee washroom was out of order (hmmm wonder what an employee did on an 8 hour shift!). Then asked for a map which he didn't have but he printed up google map walking instructions for us and off we went. He did not mention the "metro mover" which was free, a couple of blocks away and would have taken us where we wanted to go!! The next morning we go to the lobby to check out and ask that our luggage be stored. The clerk (different one from the day before) informed us that they didn't have luggage storage rooms! Where did we put them the day before??? Turns out it was a housekeeping room and luggage storage not allowed there. Also the top of the fridge and the inside of the microwave had not been wiped in quite awhile (must be a short housekeeper!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

It is my pleasure to provide you with an explanation regarding your concern about our services. Our company is known for providing great rooms at great rates and providing excellent service. The hotel does have an employee washroom and also very limited storage space. I apologize since during your check in time the washroom was not available. The storage room procedure will be reviewed to prevent future occurrences like the one you mentioned. I do regret that we were not able to communicate to you exactly what you could expect before you arrived.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
21
24
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've stayed there for the most of this year with over 140 nights. The staff is great and the attention to details is excellent. The hotel manager is very professional and keeps on touch with the guests periodically.

It is great staff that make you feel at home.

Great Job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My overall rating for this hotel is a 2. The hotel service was ok. The people at the front desk were friendly but they weren't helpful, it really seemed like they couldn't do much for you. The condition of the hotel is not good at all. Our toilet was broken when we checked in and would not flush for most of our stay and our fridge was constantly leaking water which ruined most of our food in our fridge. We came home at 4am and the toliet wasn't working and we went to the front desk and they said they couldn't fix it and I asked if they had a bathroom in the lobby area they said no and I had to beg to use the employee bathroom which they let me use but it was ridiculous that we couldn't sure that bathroom in our own room!! The room was not as clean as it should of been. I felt like you had to walk around with shoes on because it was not properly vacummed and then there was spots everywhere all over the kitchen. It really wasn't cleaned as good as it could of been. The comfort was ok, the beds are not the softest things to sleep on and the comforter they give you seems very old and outdated. The location is good though because it is in downtown miami and there is a walgreen and publix right there. The neighborhood I would not say it a good area because it is not in a nice area and the thing is that to get to the hotel you have to cross some very scary intersections. Honestly you get what you pay for but I think you should not stay here. It really isn't worth your money. You can pay a couple bucks more and get something nicer. After all the trouble we had we had to wait a couple days to get in touch with a manager and we had to constantly call because apparently they couldn't take a message for her to call us back. It was just a little ridiculous.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The bathroom issue you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we have addressed this issue with our staff and our Maintenance team has already serviced the room. I understand that you have already spoken on the phone with our hotel manager who mailed the certicate to the address you provided. I hope this resolution was to your satisfaction. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is expensive for what you get If you stay less than a week. For longer stays the hotel saves you money and is perfectly located near Brickell.
The staff is A # 1 and are the hotel best assets. Although the rooms have kitchens, they are very difficult to use as smoke alarms are triggered with minimum smoke. The utensils ( forks, knives are old and do not match )
They dont clean your room every day and the furnishings are not great.
However the hotel is great for people who need a longer stay and are not worried to be littleinconvenienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that our services and location were to your satisfaction.

My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction.

We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good choice if you have a car and want to stay close to downtown Miami or even the MIMO area. Other hotels in this area area much more expensive, or else are really run down.
I have stayed in other Extended Stay America hotels in the past. They have all been new or appeared to be new. This one does show signs of wear particularly in the bathroom. The floor is carpeted, which I don't care for, particularly in the warm climate of Miami.
Rooms have a nice kitchen with utensils, safe deposit box at the front desk, and a coin laundry.
If you are willing to bring your used towels to the front desk, they will give you fresh ones at no cost. It is also easy for you to dispose of your own garbage. You can pay extra to have your room serviced, however that defeats the purpose of staying in this type of hotel. If anything breaks down they are very quick to correct it. The staff is very helpful. The neighborhood feels safe. There's a Walgreens drugstore across the street which is open 24 hours. Domino's delivers Pizza. There's a fee for parking, but parking is very convenient. WiFi works particularly well and is free. You can get extra internet speed for a small fee.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. I'm glad that the services we offer were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night before a cruise. It was clean, which is always a priority for me. They advertise the hotel as being near the Port of Miami. It isn't really. There was a Publix and Walgreens close enough to walk to. We walked down several blocks and travelled to downtown by the MetroMover. All in all, it was okay for a one night stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for any longer than that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours. We apologize about the confusion regarding the proximity of the hotel to the port. We are located within two miles from the Port of Miami and walking distance to Walgreens, Publix and Metro Rail as you mentioned. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you for your one night stay.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Americas family of hotels nationwide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Even though this place is very cheap, the maid service is once a week, there is no pool, no exercise room, it's dark and the furnishings are poor. I would never stay here again although most of the desk clerks were very nice...

Room Tip: There are none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here atour hotel. We are glad to hear that our staff was welcoming; however, we are troubled that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us while you were here.

In order to provide our guest with the best priced hotel room in the area, we do not offer some amenities such as a pool and daily housekeeping. We provide our housekeeping services to our guests that stay 7 or more nights; however, extra services are always available for a small fee.

We are sorry that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again to show our redoubled efforts or at any of our other brand locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami

Address: 298 SW 15th Street, Miami, FL 33129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coral Way
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Miami - Brickell - Port Of Miami Hotel Miami
Extended Stay America Miami
Extended Stay Miami
Miami Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.