We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everglades experience best ever with Shark Valley Tram Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shark Valley Tram Tours

Shark Valley Tram Tours
36000 SW 8th St, Miami, FL 33194 (Allapattah)
+1 3052218455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 182 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Everglades experience best ever with Shark Valley Tram Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Shark Valley Tram Tours in the north part of the Everglades in south Florida is a great way to see wild life and the marshy terrain that make this part of the world so unique and special. We made a 9:30 reservation and practically had a private tour. Our guide and tram driver were very knowledgeable full of stories and interesting information. They were alert to anything they could show us and there was plenty to see and experience.

We saw a mom alligator with several baby alligators swimming under her watchful eye. We saw a male alligator swell up in size trying to (and did) look big to protect his territory. He showed his broken teeth and opened his mouth for a great picture! We saw birds feeding their young with the young birds sticking their heads down their mom's throat (ouch!). And a large snake crossed the road In front of us pausing to have his picture taken and we obliged. The raised platform at the end of the tram trail gave a great sweeping view of the Everglades.

The tram tour was well worth the price and going in the early morning tour is something I would recommend. There was some construction on Highway 41 to get to Shark Valley, so plan accordingly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    8
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“GATORS! Gators on the path!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We didn't expect much of this entrance-to-the-Glades tram tour because of the crowds (we were in line to get into the parking area for almost an hour -- on a weekday!) and because its run by the government. But OMG! THIS was a peak experience.

We took the tram around mid-day. It was hot! Our guide and his wife, our driver, were knowledgeable and friendly and deeply committed to showing us the sights and the animals. We saw dozens of gators during the tram tour-- big ones, babies, even some with mouths open. Couldn't have been more interesting. Or so we thought...

When we stopped at the observation Tower, husband and I were hot and decided to walk the path into the hammock, instead of climb the tower. It was a gorgeous walk -- and even a bit more than gorgeous. We walked a winding shady course, bounded on both sides by a lagoon full of water lilies and alligators. Yep. Gators, hundreds of them, all stacked up next to and on top of each other, mosying about the lagoon, and resting on the banks. We walked in deep, intending to complete the circle of the path. But, as we rounded a bend, we drew up against two mammoth gators lying nose to tail across the full width of our path!

Yes, we briefly discussed leaping over them. That is how husband's mind works. But not mine. Instead, we stood transfixed, like statues, no more than five feet from the pair. They blinked a lot but gave no other acknowledgement of the fact of us. After about 8 minutes, their even-bigger brother glided from mid-lagoon to the edge of our path and prepared to make land and join them. You will understand that we did not turn our backs as we retreated back the way we came.

If you are the type of person who is thinking about going to the Everglades, you already know what a bucket-list thrill this experience was for us. When we rejoined our tram group and reported the experience with "our" gators, even our guide was astounded. In the heat of the day, gators are almost always stretched out in the water. Ours were up on our path, at least 20 feet from the edge of the lagoon. And in the shade! As our guide said: "They know better than that!"

We loved the Shark Valley Tram Tour.

When you reach the Tower stop, take the hammock path instead. It's on your left, just past the first big lagoon-viewing area, before you plow forward toward the Tower. Keep your eyes open, and your wits about you! And say hey to my gators!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Birds, birds, and more birds!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We did the 9am tour the first week in April. Our tour had only a few people in it, which was very nice. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the driver did a great job of sighting birds for the group. They did try to give everyone a chance to see whatever the 'find' was and a chance to photograph it - when possible.
Make sure to bring the zoom lens and your binoculars.
The only warning would be to brace yourself for the starts and stops of the tram. It was very jerky to us.
Overall, do not pass this excursion up. Unless you have the time and the birding knowledge to hike/bike it on your own.
If doing the tram tour, I suggest the earliest one possible to avoid the crowds and to get a parking space.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We drove to Evergalde City and took the "Evergalde City Airboat Tour Company" airboat ride and it was excellent. Very professional and very informative tour guide. The ride was thrilling and the entire experience was superb. After leaving Everglade City we continued towards Tamiami Trail once there we headed towards Shark Valley quite a ways down the Trail but well worth the trip. Once in Shark City we took the Tram tour through the Evergaldes and this is where we truly got to see the alligators up close!! Super exciting and we saw so so many alligators from great big ones to little baby ones The Tram Tour guide was funny and informative. Really the best way to see alligators and a host of other wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Saw lots of alligators (or was that a crocodile?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a very interesting tram tour and the two hours flew by. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great narrative. I feel the tour would be nicer if there was not a double tram. The driver would stop the front tram next to something interesting leaving the back tram to hopefully get a glimpse as the driver took off. We also sat in front of two young children who would not stop talking. This tour is not for young children! I did not pay to listen to your kids talk! There were also some older teenagers on the tour who looked totally bored but to the credit of their parents, were very well behaved. I only mention this in case you are trying to decide if this is right for your family. There was much in this area to see and the next time we visit, we will rent bikes or just hike around a bit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Valley Tram Tours also viewed

 

Been to Shark Valley Tram Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark Valley Tram Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.