We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Way to Experience the Everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shark Valley Tram Tours

Shark Valley Tram Tours
36000 SW 8th St, Miami, FL 33194 (Allapattah)
+1 3052218455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 233 Activities in Miami
Attraction details
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Experience the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

our family visited Shark Valley and were not disappointed. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learned much about the Everglades and its importance to the ecosystem of southern Florida. We saw many birds and many alligators. This was a great experience for our 10 year old and our 80 year old. A great adventure for the family.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    34
    10
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get Your Bike, Camera and the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shark Valley is a great place for family fun. Pack your lunch, water and backpack for the ride. We enjoyed the ride the even though we only did five of the 15 mile loop because we have a 7 year old. Saw a ton of gators, birds, fish and scenery fit for a postcard. A volunteer stopped us to show us a some baby birds we totally missed and the visitors in general where all friendly and engaging. Amazing how a beautiful place brings out the best in us. Cooler weather is definitely the time to go. Fitness folks can go year round. Families will enjoy this place for many, many years. We will go back with friends soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gators!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you want to see lots of gators, snakes, birds, and other local critters in their natural habitat, go to Shark Valley. There are literally gators sleeping in the parking lot. It's really cool. The tram is nice. For $20, you get a nice ride on the tram with a tour guide. Our guide was ok... maybe a bit too snarky, but the 15-mile ride is worth it. At the midpoint, you get 30 min to walk around and climb the observation tower. We had perfect weather and visibility. The tram stops whenever there is an interesting animal or plant, so you will get lots of good pictures. I think next time, I'd rent a bike to give me more time to soak in the views. The area looks a lot like a savannah or prairie. Big spaces, big sky, big gators.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome experience for nature, wildlife lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 3rd visit and this place still continues to be amazing. You are almost guaranteed to see wild alligators and birds. If you happen to visit on a not-so hot day, the alligators will be on land trying to warm up. It seems to have become a very popular attraction; the parking lot was full and the gift shop had run out of snacks when we visited. Folks had to park outside on US 41 and walk about ½ mile. The tram tours were full and folks were waiting on stand-by for the tram tour and bicycle rentals. So, plan ahead and make reservations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational, in an unboring way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

While visiting the Naples Botanical Garden, visitors from the UK told us about Shark Valley. We drove out there after doing an uninteresting Airboat Tour in Everglades City. Shark Valley was much more interesting. Do take the tram tour ($20 pp) where the guide and driver will point out and identify the animals you would miss if you just walked or rode the 15-mile loop. We learned a lot form Richard and saw lots of aligators and birds. That was a great way to spend 2 hours in the Everglades. If you like nature and wildlife, you won`t regret it. P.S. If you get on the 3:00 or 3:00 tram, flocks of birds will be perching near the visitor center when you finish the tour!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Valley Tram Tours also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Shark Valley Tram Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark Valley Tram Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.