We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Overnight Stay: Convenient, Well Kept, Good Breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For Overnight Stay: Convenient, Well Kept, Good Breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

*Because we only stayed overnight, no issues with carpet replacement in progress. Also missed out on the very attractive looking pool and hot tub. They're open 24 hrs... we were just out of energy.

Stayed here on a layover on our honeymoon. We arrived at MIA, and called the front desk about the shuttle, they said it passes through Level 2 of MIA every 30 min. As soon as we walked out the door I saw the van, waved, and we were in our room within 30 minutes with 2 free choc chip cookies and a few restaurant menus. Ordered pizza to the room and parked in front the flat screen for some Big Bang Theory (it had been a while).

The staff was helpful and friendly at all times, and had helpful suggestions for dining.

Breakfast was more than ample, great spread from cold to hot; coffee - hot and fresh. Don't come to a well-kept chain hotel, pay $160 per night in Miami, and expect eggs and bacon cooked to order - that's on you.

Tip: we were through customs, baggage, and at the hotel in less than an hour. Departing: we had boarding passes, tried to do a simple curbside bag check... incompetence across the board on American Airline's part. So go inside. Security was a 10 minute wait the day before Thanksgiving sooo.... no complaints there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRiofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay, and for choosing us for your overnight needs during your honeymoon. We welcome you to stay with us again during a future trip to Miami.

Christian J. Riofrio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    479
    120
    31
    15
See reviews for
472
450
128
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Checked into the Hampton Inn for an overnight close to Miami Airport. The reviews on TA were really good so we gave it a try. Rode in an outdated Van from the airport to the hotel. While waiting almost 30 minutes, we saw at least three nice new larger buses from Marriott go by. Not a good start. Checked in and was given a corner room with a kitchen. The room smelled badly of some type of foreign cuisine. We cranked up the air but the smell lingered. Checked out the "wine and cheese happy hour". Bad wine and kids fighting over weak munchies. Took a pass. Went to bed fairly early but was kept awake most of the night by the safe in the closet. Apparently, it had a bad battery and beeped all night every 30 seconds or so. Very frustrating. We woke up and hit the breakfast buffet in the morning. Very crowded and had to fight for position. They had something they called "scrambled eggs with ham and cheese". It smelled like Windex and tasted like something artificial. Completely inedible. The rest of the selection was not much better. If not for a toasted bagel we would have left hungry. Upon checking out, I reported the problem with the safe and the fact we got very little sleep to the Manager. We received the reply, "Oh thanks, we'll make sure the next guest isn't incovenienced". What about us?? Never again will we stay at a Hampton Inn. Not our type of place, even for an overnight.

Room Tip: Avoid this place and check into the Marriott, much nicer and with much better shuttle service to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisriofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mrbstar,

Thank you for taking the time post a review and for sharing your experience with us . I’m terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and for the noise disruptions. We have extra staff on hand during high traffic periods to help maintain comfort and safety but we always welcome and encourage guests to let us know if there are additional concerns. I can assure you we value all feedback and we’re taking your comments very seriously. We care about all current and future guests’ experiences. I would be happy to discuss this in more detail with you and make things right. Please contact me directly at, 305.929.4500.

Warm regards,

Christian Riofrio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. When we got into Miami, we called the hotel to get a shuttle from the airport and were told that it would be by in 20 minutes. As we hung up, the shuttle pulled up and about 8 people got in, including us. It drove to a conference center and everyone but us got out. We apparently got on the wrong shuttle but the driver smiled and drove us to the hotel. Check in was a breeze and the desk clerk was as friendly as she could be. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Across the street are several restaurants and a Publix grocery store with a nice wine selection. The hotel's included breakfast was a pleasant surprize - eggs, bacon, potatoes, make-your-own-waffles, cereals, etc. We checked out and asked the clerk if she could call us a taxi to go to the port. She told us that the taxi would be between $20 and $30 (it was actually $24) or we could take a scheduled shuttle for $10 each. We took the taxi. If we are ever in Miami again, we will not hestiate to stay at the Hampton Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport are very quiet and have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to the airport. Loved the shuttle service. They give you a very nice selection of foods at the complimentary breakfast. It was very clean and the gym wasn't half half bad. I'd definitely give it a thumbs up!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ok there is a little not so great with is review but mostly excellent. Let's do the couple little negative things first so I can leave you with the positives. First was that the first night here hot tub was non functional kind of a bummer as that was what we were going to do after a long travel day but no biggee. Second, we tried taking a nap on day 2 but had construction going on in the room above us so no nap. Again not huge deal and they are renovating so it was to be expected has to happen some time and I prefer during the day lol. Third was second night seemed as though the air conditioner not working. Not much we could do we figured it was because the hotel was full and there was a big drain on it.

Now onto the great. We booked this hotel as our pre-cruise hotel. Ere was free hotel shuttle which was quick efficient and friendly. The free high speed Internet was great as well. Free breakfast - full breakfast. Not five star but very good and ample food to fill even the emptiest of bellies. Room was two doubles which was very comfy and very clean not overly huge so if staying longer than a night or two book a suite. Hotel is very convenient to different shops. Had an excellent Cuban meal there is a public, Walgreens and cvs all within steps of the hotel.

Now onto the greatest of all for this hotel - the staff and the customer service are par excellence! I believe it was Victoria who should train staff everywhere. She was amazing offering recommendations for dinner directions to downtown anything you could ask for and all on thanksgiving day when I am sure she would rather be with her family. The young lady working with her was also phenomenal. Staff in the breakfast room, cleaning staff - just everyone were amazing. We loved it and loved the staff. Lots of freebies not included in downtown hotels to include free parking and honestly some of the best staff ever!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here the night prior to our cruise. Got the shuttle from the airport with no problems (other than figuring out how to call the hotel from the courtesy phone which was MIA's issue, not the hotels). Right across the street was a CVS, grocery store, and package store. We walked over to get some drinks for the evening and pickup a couple bottles for our cruise. That was very convenient! Next morning, took our time getting up. USA Today's were already gone (not surprised since it was later in the day) but the hotel offered a free online version which was nice. Had a great breakfast typical of Hampton Inns. Breakfast area was large and clean. Then sat in the nice conversation seat area outside in the pool area and soaked up some FL morning sun. Staff was very helpful and called us a taxi in the morning to get to the Port (they also have a shuttle service they work with but since the price was comparable we decided on a taxi since it allowed us not to worry about being ready by a certain time). Water pressure in the shower was great and worth mentioning! Great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRiofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
JJeanGenie,

Wow, thank you for your top marks and your positive comments about our hotel and recent renovation! I am glad to see that all the hard work and construction is paying off in the satisfaction of our guests. I also see that you noticed a few of our eco-friendly initiaves, such as the efficient flow shower heads and paperless USA Today. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Miami anytime.

Christian J. Riofrio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's your basic airport hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms and a free shuttle service. The breakfast buffet is a bonus if you're flying out in the morning and don't have access to an airport lounge. Nothing more exotic than waffles on the menu, but that's why it's included with the room.

Was told to call for a shuttle rather than wait around at the airport. It was there within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#6 Family Hotel in Miami
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Miami Airport hotel is located at the Waterford Corporate Park - Blue Lagoon complex, the perfect location for those visiting Miami for business or pleasure: Located just 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from Downtown Miami, Brickell, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove and Doral. The Port of Miami is just a few miles from our door. Close to the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Dadeland Mall & Aventura Mall and the South Florida Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Hampton Inn Miami
Miami Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.