We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for pre-cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 131 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“A nice place for pre-cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. When we got into Miami, we called the hotel to get a shuttle from the airport and were told that it would be by in 20 minutes. As we hung up, the shuttle pulled up and about 8 people got in, including us. It drove to a conference center and everyone but us got out. We apparently got on the wrong shuttle but the driver smiled and drove us to the hotel. Check in was a breeze and the desk clerk was as friendly as she could be. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Across the street are several restaurants and a Publix grocery store with a nice wine selection. The hotel's included breakfast was a pleasant surprize - eggs, bacon, potatoes, make-your-own-waffles, cereals, etc. We checked out and asked the clerk if she could call us a taxi to go to the port. She told us that the taxi would be between $20 and $30 (it was actually $24) or we could take a scheduled shuttle for $10 each. We took the taxi. If we are ever in Miami again, we will not hestiate to stay at the Hampton Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport are very quiet and have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    446
    106
    29
    14
See reviews for
405
411
121
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to the airport. Loved the shuttle service. They give you a very nice selection of foods at the complimentary breakfast. It was very clean and the gym wasn't half half bad. I'd definitely give it a thumbs up!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ok there is a little not so great with is review but mostly excellent. Let's do the couple little negative things first so I can leave you with the positives. First was that the first night here hot tub was non functional kind of a bummer as that was what we were going to do after a long travel day but no biggee. Second, we tried taking a nap on day 2 but had construction going on in the room above us so no nap. Again not huge deal and they are renovating so it was to be expected has to happen some time and I prefer during the day lol. Third was second night seemed as though the air conditioner not working. Not much we could do we figured it was because the hotel was full and there was a big drain on it.

Now onto the great. We booked this hotel as our pre-cruise hotel. Ere was free hotel shuttle which was quick efficient and friendly. The free high speed Internet was great as well. Free breakfast - full breakfast. Not five star but very good and ample food to fill even the emptiest of bellies. Room was two doubles which was very comfy and very clean not overly huge so if staying longer than a night or two book a suite. Hotel is very convenient to different shops. Had an excellent Cuban meal there is a public, Walgreens and cvs all within steps of the hotel.

Now onto the greatest of all for this hotel - the staff and the customer service are par excellence! I believe it was Victoria who should train staff everywhere. She was amazing offering recommendations for dinner directions to downtown anything you could ask for and all on thanksgiving day when I am sure she would rather be with her family. The young lady working with her was also phenomenal. Staff in the breakfast room, cleaning staff - just everyone were amazing. We loved it and loved the staff. Lots of freebies not included in downtown hotels to include free parking and honestly some of the best staff ever!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here the night prior to our cruise. Got the shuttle from the airport with no problems (other than figuring out how to call the hotel from the courtesy phone which was MIA's issue, not the hotels). Right across the street was a CVS, grocery store, and package store. We walked over to get some drinks for the evening and pickup a couple bottles for our cruise. That was very convenient! Next morning, took our time getting up. USA Today's were already gone (not surprised since it was later in the day) but the hotel offered a free online version which was nice. Had a great breakfast typical of Hampton Inns. Breakfast area was large and clean. Then sat in the nice conversation seat area outside in the pool area and soaked up some FL morning sun. Staff was very helpful and called us a taxi in the morning to get to the Port (they also have a shuttle service they work with but since the price was comparable we decided on a taxi since it allowed us not to worry about being ready by a certain time). Water pressure in the shower was great and worth mentioning! Great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRiofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
JJeanGenie,

Wow, thank you for your top marks and your positive comments about our hotel and recent renovation! I am glad to see that all the hard work and construction is paying off in the satisfaction of our guests. I also see that you noticed a few of our eco-friendly initiaves, such as the efficient flow shower heads and paperless USA Today. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Miami anytime.

Christian J. Riofrio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's your basic airport hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms and a free shuttle service. The breakfast buffet is a bonus if you're flying out in the morning and don't have access to an airport lounge. Nothing more exotic than waffles on the menu, but that's why it's included with the room.

Was told to call for a shuttle rather than wait around at the airport. It was there within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our choice of preference on hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites when we travel. They NEVER let us down and neither did this one. The breakfast was excellent as usual the beds very comfortable for my aching back. We arrived after the last shuttle and the hotel picked up the cost by following their directions. The front desk was extremely helpful in our preparation for our cruise the next morning. The hotel is very secure. The location is not intended for family fun, but great for a night or two when travelling further whether by air or sea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRiofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your kind comments about the service you were provided during your recent stay. I am happy to see that you are pleased with our reliability and consistency when it comes to making our guests happy. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you again during your next Miami trip.

Christian J. Riofrio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the airport, we got in late and were told we may have to just take a cab because the shuttles only ran until 1am, but we ended up being able to snag one of the last shuttles to the airport. We were less than impressed with the neighborhood (bars on windows, children begging in the streets, etc).

We had our room upgraded to a suite which was nice and big (also very clean).

We stayed on (and paid extra for) a 'stay and cruise' package and they took good care if us going to the port. They gave us a receipt for both the trip to the port and had us fill out return information so they could pick us back up after the trip.

When we arrived back at the port after the cruise, we were told we had not paid for a return trip and had to pay an additional $10 per person.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRiofrio, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Wormypoojr,

I appreciate you taking the time to tell us your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our spacious suites for the night before your cruise. Our Stay & Cruise package is convenient because it includes long-term parking for up to 14 nights and one-way transfer for 2 people to the Port of Miami. Typically the company we work with will offer return service back to the hotel, however we advise guests to arrange this privately to better arrange pickup times with the drivers. I am sorry if this portion was misleading, and I will pass your comments along to the shuttle company.

I thank you again for all your comments as every review helps us become a better hotel. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when traveling to Miami.

Christian J. Riofrio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Miami
Miami Hampton Inn
Address: 777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#6 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Miami Airport hotel is located at the Waterford Corporate Park - Blue Lagoon complex, the perfect location for those visiting Miami for business or pleasure: Located just 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from Downtown Miami, Brickell, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove and Doral. The Port of Miami is just a few miles from our door. Close to the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Dadeland Mall & Aventura Mall and the South Florida Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.