We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

My family stayed at this Hampton after returning from a cruise. We were supposed to be there for one night and fly back the next day, but our flight was cancelled resulting in our stayiing for two nights. The first night we had a standard room, which was nice. The second night we moved to a one bedroom suite, which was spectacular. Had I known ahead of time that we were going to be here for two days, I would likely have reserved something close to, or on, the beach, as this is truly an airport hotel. However, we found our stay to be very nice and would definitely come back here if we were going on another cruise. The hotel provides excellent FREE shuttle services to and from the airport, every half hour. I had to use this several times while trying to negotiate our return home with US Airways (that is a HORRENDOUS story), and the shuttle drivers were super and timely. The hotel itself was VERY clean and well kept. Fresh cookies and coffee and tea were available and the free breakfast was great (make-your-own waffles, cereals, eggs, sausage, hash browns, yogurts and granola, fresh fruit, juice, milk, coffee, tea...and I know I'm missing some things). The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a small business center with three computers and a printer available. There is also a modest pool and jacuzzi. We spent a fair bit of time sitting outside by the pool where I was able to access the free wifi with no difficulty. We also used the workout facilities which were nice (treadmill, weght machines, step machines, etc.) There are convenience stores (CVS and Walgreens) at the same intersection as the hotel, and a Publix grocery store right across the street. There are also several restaurants in the same area (Wendy's, Subway, a chinese restaurant). The hotel also has laundry facilities on every other floor with washers and dryers that work on quarters, and they sell small packages of laundry soap in the small convenience shop off of the hotel lobby. All-in-all this was an A+ place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    588
    143
    36
    16
See reviews for
562
526
143
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We chose to stay in this hotel because of good reviews from tripadvisor. My family (4 adults) spent a night there prior to our cruise. We asked the front desk staff how to get to downtown Miami by public transit since we wanted to keep our budget low. "Take a cab" was how the staff replied. Okay... maybe it was too difficult for tourists to take the bus, so we asked them to call a cab for us. We waited for 20 mins, no cab showed up. Asked the staff again, they said it takes 45 mins for the cab to come. Suggested us to take free shuttle to airport then take taxi there. Fine. Meanwhile we figured there was a bus stop right outside the hotel which could go to downtown directly.
It was not my first time going to curise from Miami, I knew the rate is fixed for taxi from miami airport to port of miami, which is $24. I heard there was shuttle service from the hotel to the port, so I asked how much. They said $10 each. Then I asked how much approx. did it cost to take taxi from hotel to port? The staff said, "oh no, very expensive... not recommended", but she couldn't tell us the cost. She then went to ask another staff, he also said shuttle was cheaper, and trying to help us reserve the shuttle. We kept asking the approx. cost of cab, he finally told us it's about $30-35. Then why would he recommended us to take the shuttle if we have 4 adults??? I think it's the commission they would receive... Not helpful at all! Disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We chose the hotel only for one night. Check in was quick and check out too. The breakfast had a good variety and fresh fruits. The room was clean and organized, large bed and good bathroom. Air conditioning running well and without noises. Just found it too simple for the price charged.

Room Tip: High floor, because there is traffic around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Only stay here to sleep, shower and head to the airport.
If you want to drive around and sight see this location gets very conjested with traffic.
Clean and helpful staff.
Average room and bed.
Small pool not heated and jacuzzi is green.
No restaurant on site.
Breakfast is poor quality hot food.
Located on a busy 4 lane road. Some restaurants and stores but have to cross very busy road to get there.
Shuttle to airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We used the Hampton Inn Blue Lagoon as our stopover in and out of the Florida Keys. This is a great airport hotel, close to the airport with shuttle service every 30 minutes. Accommodations are typical for a renovated Hampton Inn - which is to say it's quite comfortable. Breakfast is included and had hot eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, waffles, and fresh fruit, along with other cold items. One morning, it did get a bit crowded at breakfast around 9am.

The pool area is outdoors - small, but nice. The kids enjoyed a quick dip.

Best of all, though, was the service. We had unknowingly left a camera in our room. Within 2 hours of checkout, they had both called and e-mailed me to let us know the camera was left behind. We were able to pick it up before we left the Miami area. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miahs, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear djzook,

Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites – Miami Airport and for taking a moment to share your review.

My name is Eduardo Chapoval, General Manager. I am very happy to see that we exceeded your expectations as total guest satisfaction is our #1 goal.

I was also very glad to read we were able to reunite you with your camera, that was left behind. I can just imagine how sad it would be to lose all the pictures from your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton Inn & Suites in the very near future.

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stay at a lot of Hampton's and this is a nice one. Close to MIA, there are stores around if you need to buy anything. A perfect hotel for business travellers or cruise passengers. it has good parking, a nice pool and jacuzzi, a nice weight room and good people.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miahs, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear MuyFriaEnCanada,

Greetings to Canada!


Thank you so much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The people who work here are friendly and very attentive to your needs. Every call includes a "Thank you" and "How can I help".

The rooms are clean and comfortable and everything is in good working order.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miahs, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Thallid

I sent you a separate message as I believe there was a slight mistake with your gradings for your recent stay. Even though you graded us with a 5 for your stay, you graded us with 1's for everything else. If this was an error, please take a moment to revise your review, at your convenience.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with our services.

We will look forward to seeing you in Miami Again.

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 777 NW 57th Ave (Red Rd), Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#6 Family Hotel in Miami
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Miami Airport hotel is located at the Waterford Corporate Park - Blue Lagoon complex, the perfect location for those visiting Miami for business or pleasure: Located just 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from Downtown Miami, Brickell, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove and Doral. The Port of Miami is just a few miles from our door. Close to the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Dadeland Mall & Aventura Mall and the South Florida Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Hampton Inn Miami
Miami Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.