We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay if you are visiting UM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ormond Beach, FL
1 review
“The place to stay if you are visiting UM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here while getting my son moved into his dorm at University of Miami and attending the parent orientation. The hotel is just a 10 minute drive to UM and located in a convenient but not hectic area right off of US 1. We walked a couple of the nights from the hotel to Berries on the Grove, a terrific restaurant (try one of the pizzas!) and drove over to CocoWalk another day to shop and had lunch at the Peacock Garden Café which is a must if you are in the area. The hotel staff was efficient and very pleasant! They were decked out in Hurricanes t-shirts and the lobby was decorated in UM orange and green to welcome all of the families. The hotel itself was spotless and my room was perfect. I've already booked my reservation for parent weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much Gingerlou for your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us, we honestly appreciate all your comments and it was lovely to read that overall you had a wonderful experience and will be returning for parent weekend. I would appreciate the opportunity to meet you and personally thank you, on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    320
    69
    15
    10
See reviews for
277
199
50
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Room was very much Hilton. The staff might as well be a roadside Motel staff. Front desk staff is very slow and unresponsive. The location to the University is good. I left some important items in the room and felt it would have taken minimal effort to contact me so that I could retrieve them. When I realized they were missing and tried to go back on the way to the airport I was told that the lost and found was locked. The front desk (manager) had no access. Hard to believe! I asked for reservations to a near by hotel and that was botched. As Hilton Honors members we typically stay at a Hilton. This was my first negative experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second stay at the Hampton Coconut Grove this year. I highly recommend. It feels like a home away from home. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was super clean, beds comfortable, great water pressure in the shower, and lots of little extras. I will continue to come back to this Hampton.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rebecca N,

Thank you for your comments. We very much appreciate you staying with us a second time and we look forward to being of service to you on future stays in Miami.

Thank you!

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to get to all sites in the area.
Clean, very friendly staff.
The breakfast each morning was terrific, the staff stocking the breakfast was very pleasant. As was the desk staff.
We enjoyed how close this Hotel was to the University of Miami but not in a loud neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ecberk,

Thank you for taking the amazing review and ratings regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for daughters orientation. Really nice hotel. Rooms were clean, neat and modern. Frameless glass door shower power outlets mounted on side of desk. Commuted to campus with train. Metro stop near hotel and cost was 2.25 each way. Staff was outstanding making you feel at home. At the front desk was Elenor, she is the best, dinner referrals and insider info on Miami. Might return in October for Family weekend, if I do, I will return here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rich D,

Thank you for taking the team to review your recent stay at our property and for the fantastic ratings. We are thrilled to know that you were able to experience our hamptonality firsthand and look forward to welcoming you in October.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our visit last week for a cruise in Miami we wanted to find a nice Hotel. Only to find that the Beach and Bay area were so expensive and no breakfasts or free parking. Also to say so much construction going on in that area. We stumbled across this nice gem. The area was nice. We even took a 15 min. walk to Coconut Grove a really nice happening spot with a lot of night life and restaurants. The Hotel had a really nice free breakfast nice pool and clean rooms. We were very Happy. The lovely lady working the 3-11pm shift on 8/9/14 was wonderful. I can not remember her name but she made our stay very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear gt4man,

The Hampton Coconut Grove team would like to thank you for taking the time to write such fantastic review of our property and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in town.

Best Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hampton Inn needs a lot of help. First off, we checked in a couple nights ago, and the rooms are clean, other than the extremley worn carpet. Breakfast was NEVER stocked every single day we came down. We always had to wait 1/2 an hour for any eggs, yogurt wasnt even served. This is understandable considering the amount of traffic in the hotel, but 4 days in a row?!?!? Coffee wasnt fresh and when we asked the clerk, if she was going to make another batch. "No you have to wait until the next shift because I'm off in 45 minutes. Today called down for towels and was rudley hung up on. The young man who worked evening is the only proffesional that works in this facility. Elevators are extremley slow so we took the stairs a lot. They painted the satirs but no where was it posted so I had stepped in a bunch of wet paint in my new shoes. To sum it all up, I will never stay here again and wish to be accomedated for my horrible experience

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ali S,

I apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay with us. It is our goal to provide each guest with a hassle free stay. If you can please inbox me your stay information in order to contact you and speak with you personally.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.