We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always about YOU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always about YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I and another couple drove up from the Keys. We had a reservation for a sunset cruise and chose to stay overnight. Being a Hilton Honors Gold member, I try to stay at Hilton hotels. While there were a number of hotels closer to the sunset cruise, we booked at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove. We were NOT disappointed. The hotel is located right off Rt 1 in quiet neighborhood. At check in, John and Ligia could not have been more accommodating. They were extremely helpful in directing us to several restaurants within walking distance. They welcomed us with genuine smiles and conversation when we returned from dining and the cruise. Felt like we had been there a number of times before. Room very clean and in perfect shape with mini fridge and microwave. Free parking and awesome complimentary breakfast. Staff were awesome from the security man to the hotel manager. All were extremely welcoming and greeted each of us anytime they saw us. Also, arrived on Wednesday and manager has complimentary welcome reception with great appetizers and drinks. Will definitely return and recommend to others. I know our friends were equally impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear mariePennsylvania,

Thank you so much for your awesome review and feedback. I am extremely glad that we were able to impress you with our hamptonality and level of service. We look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for the recommendations.
Comeback Soon!


With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    364
    75
    22
    11
See reviews for
317
232
53
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was a wonderful Hampton Inn. Started at checkin, and there was two great desk clerks working, and they were so gracious and helpful. They gave me just the perfect room, and then fixed me up with directions to all the places I needed to go. They printed out mapquests and train schedules for me without me even asking. Nice touch.

Room in perfect shape and everything worked great and looked clean. Nice fridge with a big freezer.

Very quiet at night.

Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for staying with us and recommending our hotel. I am glad that our team member's display of hamptonality elicited such a praise for our staff. I look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Like others have said, this hotel is in a great location. 15 minutes walk to the Grove and all it has to offer. Very clean with great amenities such as free parking, extensive free breakfast, free coffee and tea and free wifi.

I saw another review saying the wifi isn't fast. However, that is untrue. The down speed is about 1.62 and up is about 0.72 at peak hours. This is fast enough to watch you tube, surf the web and even watch Netflix. Trust me when I say that it is better than many hotels.

The reason for only 4 stars were two things. One within hotel control and one the hotel had no control over. The first thing was I received several packages during my stay. No one called my room to say they arrived and they had some difficultly tracking them down when I did inquire (they do have a good system, I just had a moment of panic when they couldn't immediately find the packages). But the front desk staff is very courteous and helpful, so I am unsure if the lack of call was due to my DND sign on the door or just a policy.

Next, beware of the noise if you stay on the street side of the hotel. You can plainly hear the traffic, train and construction that is going on. It didn't bother me, but if you aren't from the city it might be difficult to deal with. I recommend rooming on the parking side if you aren't used to city noise.

One other thing to note is that the A/C unit is digital and difficult to adjust to your particular preference. I prefer the white noise of the fan running to block the sounds you get in a hotel, but this is not an option. Also, often the unit would sometimes just kick on even if I had the wall unit off.

One other recommendation for the hotel would be to have a 'suite shop' like the Hampton Inn Miami Brickell. That would be so helpful if you get up in the middle of the night for a craving, or just want a cold beer for a night cap and don't want to get fully 'dressed' to go to the shop. However, the gas station across the street sells everything, so that would just be a convenient amenity as it is not really a necessity.

There was a fridge and microwave in my room and a spacious bathroom. I don't think any of the rooms do have a bathtub if that is your thing. Also, the bed and pillows are very comfortable.

As a business traveler, I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
The Hampton team would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review about our property from your stay back in April 2014. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you stay at this hotel and plan to use your computer...don't plan to be happy with the internet speed. It was brutally slow during my stay and had huge lags when checking email or browsing the web (I actually was on Tripadvisor and the load times were long). Forget about streaming video, Netflix or Youtube will keep stopping to buffer.

The fitness room was more of a fitness closet. One treadmill, one seated bike, one crosstrainer, zero remotes for the TV.

And (this may just annoy me) the in-room TVs do not have HDMI hook ups so forget plugging in the laptop or PS3. Come on - for nearly $200 a night we should have newer equipment.

On the good side, the room was as clean as a Hampton typically is and far more quiet. My room (#200) was a good size and I didn't hear any other guests during my stay. Breakfast was better than the Hampton usual - they had Greek yogurt and really fresh oranges.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Go getem tiger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your ratings and feedback. I am sorry you feel the value for your stay with us was not there when it comes to internet speed and size of our fitness room. I am disappointed to hear you were not able to connect, not even to check email messages. Currently we offer a complimentary WIFI access of 2 Mbps download and 1.0 Mbps upload which should be more than enough. We will be upgrading our circuit to offer additional badwidth for a fee as part of Hampton Hotels initiative. Our fitness room even though small offers the necessary cardio equipmen that you mentioned, along with free weights, medicine balls, and exercise matts and ball for core training. I understand your frustration with the lack of HDMI connection to our flat screen TV's and I promise to keep that in mind when we replace them with a newer commercial model.
I am glad to know you found our hotel to be clean, rooms of good size, and that you enjoyed our hi quality breakfast
Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'm a little conflicted in writing this review. As a Hampton Inn, the Coconut Grove is nice. The facilites are good, front staff, especially Ligia, are very good, rooms are basic. But for the price of $228/night plus $28 in taxes, at a Hampton Inn, I was expecting a lot more. The carpets were dirty and the rooms and breakfast were nothing special. The LOCATION is very good. Easy walk to the Grove, near Unv. of Miami, near the Miracle Mile and Key Biscayne. Easy to walk to restaurants and good parking at the hotel. All in all, I would say the hotel is good if you find the prices down. We stayed during the Sony Tennis tournament - not knowing the tournment was in town. The hotel was totally sold out and breakfast was jammed every minute.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel away from the street is better. The front looks into the rear of a strip mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel served it's purpose. The location is close to food options. Very clean and breakfast was good. Staff very friendly and proficient. The rooms are very "golden girl" but clean. I don't think that the price I paid was worth it $740 for 3 nights but it was a last minute booking and it was blocks away from where I needed to be. If the price point was better, this would be totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mrs. Dalh,

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review regarding your past stay at Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you stay with us again next time your in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed Valentines weekend and again this past week. Quick and friendly check in and easy parking. The room was large, quiet, and comfortable. The Hampton is within walking distance to several good eating spots and also affords easy access to U.S.1 and I-95.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always a "plus" for a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear D17mike,

The entire staff at Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables wants to thank you for your outstanding review and rating of our property and we hope that you stay with us next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.