We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, nice folks running it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice location, nice folks running it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is right in the sweet spot. You're right across the street from the metrorail station, as well as the bus station. There's a large convenience store right there, as well as a Dunkin Donuts. Walk 50 yards the other way and there's Berries in the Grove, a full bar restaurant with a great expansive menu. The Grove is about a mile away, and there's a Grove shuttle that also runs from the bus station across the street.

On certain nights - I think it's Tuesday and Thursdays, Tania hosts a really nice reception with free food, beer, wine, and sometimes live music.

I am VERY happy with this location.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room, if they haven't done them all yet. It's ongoing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear charles c

Thank you for noting our covenient location close to several restaurants and shops of all types. Also providing easy access to several cities and leisure destinations that are a short drive away from Coconut Grove.Thank you also for noting Tania's service disposition during our Manager's Reception, which on Tuesdays is currently featuring Joe Collado and The Lating Grove, a local Latin Jazz Band

We love having you here! Comeback soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    338
    70
    18
    11
See reviews for
289
212
51
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were looking for a decent hotel close to South Beach that was affordable. This hotel was great. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was delightful. Coconut Grove is a nice area and it isn't far from South Beach, however, because of traffic it took way too long to drive back and forth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear OsteoRN,

Thank you for your comments, regarding your recent stay with us, we are glad you found us to be affordable and of a great value. Thank you for mentioning the friendly customer service disposition of our team members and that you enjoyed the free buffet breakfast, which is the most popular amenity our guests enjoy. Our hotel grants easy access to the cities of Miami, South Miami, Coral Gables, Key Biscayne, and South Beach but as you mentioned traffic might at times make driving time longer than expected.
Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manger
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not really located in the middle of either Coconut Grove or Coral Gables, but, a short drive to either location. The hotel and rooms are a bit dated with the rooms being somewhat updated. The included breakfast is better than most Hamptons, the wifi internet was fast, the business center is good enough with a printer, the fitness center is rather small. Free parking was ample as the hotel appeared to be sold out duing our stay. Although located on US1 Dixie Highway, we could not hear any noise. Based on prices for other hotels in Miami, still a good choice if you don't mind not being close to the beach or a trendy location. There is a Pollo Tropical cuban fast food joint across the street that serves delicious grilled chicken for a cheap price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Roshambo1-2-3,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for submitting your comments and reviews of our hotel to tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the free breakfast,free parking, and free WIFI, and appreciate you noting the quality of such. Our lobby was recently renovated and our guest rooms will be completely renovated during the upcoming summer season.

We hope to see you again after our renovation so you can enjoy our new look.


Cordially,


Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stay frequently at this hotel, sometimes for extended periods of time, and love the personalized attention and friendly staff. The amenities are basic, but the hotel is comfortable, clean and very practical for the business traveler.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Laura V,

Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel. Thank you also for noting the cleanliness, comfort and personalized attention our team members provide you with. We sincerely, appreciate your comments and will make sure to share with our staff.

See you soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I chose this hotel based on proximity to where I had to work and I am glad I did. The first thing I discovered is the secured parking area. The top floor is open but they had a security guard on duty and the lower level requires a room key to get into either by car or by walking.

The room was very clean, spacious, and I was really impressed with the shower. It had a rain head, very nice tile and very nice glass door/wall.

The breakfast area was okay but seemed to be a little small given the size of the hotel.

I used the treadmill and found that it had trouble maintaining a constant speed. I did inform the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear drrosenthal,

Thank you for your review and comments noting the convenient location, cleanliness, comfort, and safety of our hotel. We are glad you got to enjoy the free parking and breakfast, which make us unique in the area when it comes to value. We regret to hear you found our breakfast area to be small at peak hours. Thank you also for commenting on the treadmill, which has been replaced by a new one this week.

We certainly hope to see you again. Come back soon!

Cordially,

Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I ALWAYS stay in this hotel when I come to Miami, and I have no intention on changing this. Prices do vary a lot from time to time though, sometimes its pretty accessible, this last time was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Gerardo M

A big THANK YOU for ALWAYS staying with us. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. As you may know South Florida in general is very seasonable and as such prices increase tremendously during the winter. Contact us directly at the hotel to enjoy a loyal guest discount.

Hope to see you soon.


Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel! In a nice area. Got in at 4pm on Saturday. Fast checkin and no cost to park. Room was clean and nice. They call for a taxi. For us. Our fist night in Miami before 2 night at South Beach! A must place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear chute_mike,

Thank you for your great ratings and comments. Than you also for noting our cleanliness, comfort and service disposition of our team members. I am sure South Beach was great.

Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.