We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really Coconut Grove or Coral Gables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not really Coconut Grove or Coral Gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not really located in the middle of either Coconut Grove or Coral Gables, but, a short drive to either location. The hotel and rooms are a bit dated with the rooms being somewhat updated. The included breakfast is better than most Hamptons, the wifi internet was fast, the business center is good enough with a printer, the fitness center is rather small. Free parking was ample as the hotel appeared to be sold out duing our stay. Although located on US1 Dixie Highway, we could not hear any noise. Based on prices for other hotels in Miami, still a good choice if you don't mind not being close to the beach or a trendy location. There is a Pollo Tropical cuban fast food joint across the street that serves delicious grilled chicken for a cheap price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Roshambo1-2-3,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for submitting your comments and reviews of our hotel to tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the free breakfast,free parking, and free WIFI, and appreciate you noting the quality of such. Our lobby was recently renovated and our guest rooms will be completely renovated during the upcoming summer season.

We hope to see you again after our renovation so you can enjoy our new look.


Cordially,


Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    338
    70
    18
    11
See reviews for
289
212
51
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stay frequently at this hotel, sometimes for extended periods of time, and love the personalized attention and friendly staff. The amenities are basic, but the hotel is comfortable, clean and very practical for the business traveler.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Laura V,

Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel. Thank you also for noting the cleanliness, comfort and personalized attention our team members provide you with. We sincerely, appreciate your comments and will make sure to share with our staff.

See you soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I chose this hotel based on proximity to where I had to work and I am glad I did. The first thing I discovered is the secured parking area. The top floor is open but they had a security guard on duty and the lower level requires a room key to get into either by car or by walking.

The room was very clean, spacious, and I was really impressed with the shower. It had a rain head, very nice tile and very nice glass door/wall.

The breakfast area was okay but seemed to be a little small given the size of the hotel.

I used the treadmill and found that it had trouble maintaining a constant speed. I did inform the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear drrosenthal,

Thank you for your review and comments noting the convenient location, cleanliness, comfort, and safety of our hotel. We are glad you got to enjoy the free parking and breakfast, which make us unique in the area when it comes to value. We regret to hear you found our breakfast area to be small at peak hours. Thank you also for commenting on the treadmill, which has been replaced by a new one this week.

We certainly hope to see you again. Come back soon!

Cordially,

Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I ALWAYS stay in this hotel when I come to Miami, and I have no intention on changing this. Prices do vary a lot from time to time though, sometimes its pretty accessible, this last time was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Gerardo M

A big THANK YOU for ALWAYS staying with us. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. As you may know South Florida in general is very seasonable and as such prices increase tremendously during the winter. Contact us directly at the hotel to enjoy a loyal guest discount.

Hope to see you soon.


Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel! In a nice area. Got in at 4pm on Saturday. Fast checkin and no cost to park. Room was clean and nice. They call for a taxi. For us. Our fist night in Miami before 2 night at South Beach! A must place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear chute_mike,

Thank you for your great ratings and comments. Than you also for noting our cleanliness, comfort and service disposition of our team members. I am sure South Beach was great.

Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Quite decent hotel not offering great luxury as such but fulfills the purpose. Review based on a two night stay in February (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe).

Location:
Cheap and easy to get from the MIA airport using the Metrorail, the Coconut Grove station is maybe 250m away, so quite all right location even without a car. Right across the street from the hotel there are few restaurants such as Subway and Pollo Tropical, gas station also almost next door. The CocoWalk mall is roughly 1.5km away with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops in that area.

Room:
I had a room in 4th floor which was quite noisy: facing the Metrorail station means a lot of squeaking breaking noise caused by the train, fridge was rather loud as was the air conditioner. Also the walls seem to be somewhat thin, at least I could (unfortunately) hear the conversation next door. Apart from those things the room was quite OK, relatively roomy and clean with no signs of usage. There was fridge, coffee maker and microwave oven in the room.

Etc:
The outside pool was maybe 10 meters long, i.e. certainly good enough for a leisure dip-in but not for a workout as such. Most of the pool area is shadowed by trees but there were also some spots with sunshine in case you interested in that.

Manager’s reception in the evening had free finger food type of serving, coke and Bud.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special as such but enough to get the day started.

Would I return there?
Yes I could since it is certainly not a bad hotel despite giving it only three stars

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear dadsasdasd,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your reviews and ratings . As you mention our hotel is easily accessible by Metro rail if not carrying lots of luggage, and near several restaurants , bars and shops. We appreciate your honest feedback and willingness to visit us again.
Come back soon! We will be expecting you.

Cordially,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The only reason it didn't get 5 is because there wasn't a view, we looked out at another building. The staff were very friendly and the room was always well cleaned. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The free breakfast was a feast and very good. Free coffee, hot cocoa and cookies were also nice. Location great, could easily walk to the marina where our races went out of.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear 132Kristy,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice comments and ratings regarding your stay.
Thank you for also noting the cleanliness , comfort , and service disposition of our team members. We are glad to know our location which grants easy access to many leisure and business destinations in South Florida was conveniently located within walking distance of your destination.

Come back to visit us soon!


Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.