We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #13 of 131 hotels in Miami
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of December. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room which had been updated was very clean, and comfortable. We also enjoyed the choice at breakfast and availability of hot drinks throughout the day. The location was excellent, only a few minutes walk to the Metrorail from and to the airport or various locations within Miami. It was a nice walking distance to downtown and the wide choice of restaurants, although there was also a couple of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    274
    56
    15
    6
See reviews for
205
170
45
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

In October I had stayed in this hotel for a 2 day business trip. The hotel is located on a main road and was full while I was travelling there. The staff is very friendly and it is nice that they offer a complimentary breakfast. The hotel rooms themselves looked very old, but were clean. I would recommend this to someone who does not plan to spend much time in their room. The parking was a problem in this hotel as they have a lot and then an underground parking lot. Parking on the top deck is very tight and gets filled up quickly. Their parking is poor if you are travelling in an SUV or truck, as you will find yourself frustrated with parking. While I was there they were also doing construction to the hotel and the sidewalk was closed off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I read some reviews in tripadvisor regarding this hotel that where not really positive and still booked it because of friend of mine recommendet it to me. I was a very nice stay for 5 nights. The spacious rooms made our stay very pleasant and although we were told that it is a business hotel, our kids enjoyed it a lot.... especially the breakfast and the pool! The staff is extremely friendly and always offered their help.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Nadine R,

Thank you for your kind act of faith to follow your friends recommendation, and for taking the time to post your comments and ratings. It brings me a smile to know that we provided you with the kind of service you and your family deserve. Thank you for noting the friendly disposition of our staff, the comfort of the room, and the quality of our breakfast.

We certainly hope to see you next time you visit South Florida.


With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Even though this last time the hotel was under construction we have a pleasant stay for a week. It is walking distance to coco walk and minutes away from dadeline mall.
Breakfast is very good and the rooms very big!!!
The staff offered great attention to details to make sure we were comfortable!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Francisco G

Great news - RENOVATION OF OUR LOBBY IS COMPLETE!
Thank you for your loyalty and kindness to appreciate our effort to provide great service under the circumstances. I will make sure to share your comments with our team members. Next time you come to visit you will get to enjoy breakfast in our new perfect mix lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back!


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Construction in the lobby and parking lot at the same time was very annoying. The room rate was pretty good, especially for that area, but the construction during peak hours and having to park down the street from the hotel was not acceptable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Daniel G,

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I am sorry the notice posted on our website regarding the renovation was not visible to you during booking. I have responded to your survey and l certainly hope you give us an opportunity to serve you the way you deserve.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I refused to take possession of my two hotel rooms due to the lack of cleanliness! I demanded a refund. There was no parking available. The parking garage was cordoned off. The lobby was a filthy mess! A maintenance worker was spraying an obnoxious smelling liquid on the carpets while we waited for our refund! He pinched his nose and waved his hand under his nose, and I won't repeat what he said to us! The only good thing about this hotel was the young man behind the front desk. He handled the situation like a true professional. Please, young man, do as I recommended that night, find another hotel to work at. You are too much of a professional to be defending such a horrible establishment.

Green Features: The lack of open parking facilities certainly allows you to get your exercise by walking a lot. Walking the stairs when the elevator doesn't work does wonders for your cardio too!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear McD824,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back. I apologize for our renovation project ruining your plans to stay with us. Thank you for noting John's Hamptonality and professionalism, which is an asset to our company. I will make sure to share your comments with him. I hope you would give us an opportunity to serve you the way you deserve to be serve in the near future.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently & found the entire 1st floor under construction and the outdoor parking area blocked off. Had to go to 2nd floor to a makeshift reception area. Was told to park in the garage under the hotel. This garage has no elevator so we had to carry our luggage up to the 1st floor. We also found the room somewhat average...not up to the standards we've been accustomed to at Hampton Inn. One side of the bed did not have an end table and there was no light/lamp on the work table. The breakfast was very good & included in the room price with wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear randomMA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have faced due to our efforts to improve our public areas/breakfast, parking. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast and we are glad you were able to enjoy. We look forward to the summer of 2014 to refresh our guest rooms, which will enable us to meet and most likely exceed your expectations of our brand.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.