We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grove Grooves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Grove Grooves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perched on the edge of a changing face of Coconut Grove, this Hampton Inn delivers service and quality in bunches! Located just a few blocks from Starbucks, Fresh Market, the Chart House, and no fewer than five sailing venues, this hotel provides an oasis in a metropolis!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your outstanding ratings of your stay with us. Our conveniently located hotel grants easy access to business and leisure venues in Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, downtown Miami, and Key Biscayne. Thank you for noting the high level of service from our team members and for calling us "an oasis in a metropolis"

Kind regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    338
    70
    17
    11
See reviews for
289
212
51
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, CT, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

All in all a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The desk clerk at check-in was particularly helpful giving us a nice room even though I made a mistake and booked the wrong night online. Granted, the street level parking is extremely tight, but that is the fault of the designers trying to fit two rows of parking in such a narrow space. The kindness and helpfulness of the hotel's staff made up for that shortfall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear William B,

Thank you for the awesome ratings and comments regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for noting the great service disposition of our team members who are always willing to provide a friendly yet technically correct level of service.
Come back to see us again.

Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The breakfast is good. The lobby is currently under construction. If you park in the basement make sure to come up through the door next to the gate as there are no signs on how to come up to the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ramfis M,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to South Florida, We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay despite our lobby renovation. Thank you for your feedback regarding signage in the lower level parking, which we will address inmediately. Please comeback to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you can deal with the usual Miami traffic mayhem then this hotel is worth the stay. It is very close to the start of I95 and close to the Port of Miami. The hotel is off the main road so rooms are very quite. they have some exterior construction going on but no impact to your stay. Staff are great with the usual excellent breakfast choice. Parking is at the rear and down the ramp if the upper lot is full. but pretty tight if you have a truck (Pic showing my white Chevy truck). The room is of the usual high standard and real comfy bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear edodowd,

Thank you for your great comments and ratings of our hotel. As you mentioned our hotel is relatively quiet despite the proximity to US HWY1, granting easy access to Coral Gable, South Miami, downtown Miami and South Beach. Thank you for noting the hamptonality of our team members, who are always ready to provide you with friendly service. I apologize for the tight parking spaces for large vehicles on the upperdeck. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport, which was ideal. I can also see how it would be very convenient for cruise ship transfers. In writing this review, I do appreciate that building work was being done on the hotel and that the rooms had already been upgraded, but I could not rate it as highly as the other Hampton Inn we stayed in Florida, during our recent vacation.

The rooms are certainly spacious and have been well decorated but there are some teething issues eg. we had to get the engineer out quite late to sort out our toilet cistern which flushed continuously, and the bathroom door did not lock. The pool area is pleasant, albeit a little noisy from the road and the spa pool is nowhere near as good as many we have used. The loungers around the pool are high quality and very comfortable. Parking is also free.

The least good aspect was the breakfast arrangements. The breakfast was free, with paper plates and plastic cutlery, and there was plenty of fresh fruit. However, there was far too little space for guests to sit for breakfast and on the Sunday, queues formed or people ended up taking breakfast back to their rooms. There were quite a few comments made about this. I hope that the planned improvements include an extension of this area.

Locally, we went to the Fairchild Tropical Gardens which were quite dear ($25 per adult) but were a lovely oasis in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear chantillylace_10,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami, I do apologize for any inconveniences our ongoing renovation caused you, specially during breakfast hours. We hope you can visit us again once our renovation project is over to enjoy our services in a way you deserve.


Cordially,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient. It's a block from both US Highway 1 and the Coconut Grove station on the Metrorail. It's about a ten minute ride to downtown on the Metrorail. Despite the heavy traffic on HIghway 1, our room was very quiet. We didn't hear any traffic noise or any noise from adjoining rooms.

Our room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed on the sixth floor, and we had a very nice skyline view from our room. The mini fridge and the microwave were nice amenities. The fridge even includes a separate freezer.

The service was great as well. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the breakfast attendants, to the housekeepers were very friendly and helpful.

We only had one complaint of any consequence. The pool isn't heated, and it can get cold in the afternoon shade and in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear wfoodog,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your ratings and review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you found the hotel to be quiet despite our proximity to US1. and that you found us to be conveniently located to access downtown. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. Thank you for noting our team members' hamptonality and service disposition. Unfortunately our pool is not heated at this time, but will bring it up to the attention of our ownership group to see if we can add a heater in the near future.

Please comeback to see us again!

Kind regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped here to spend the night as to stay on Sunday in South Beach made our trip too expensive.

Excellent hotel. New. Clean. Big rooms and bathroom. Great bed - we had a kingsize.

Staff were helpful when we wanted to know if the Venetian Pool was open or not (it was Columbus Day) - they called ahead to check for us.

Nothing bad about it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear PCardiff82,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you noting the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, along with the hamptonality of our team members. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#19 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.