We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to redeem our Hilton Honors points for a free night for the first leg of our Miami - Key West - Miami babymoon. We compared this hotel to a Hilton in downtown Miami and a Doubletree in Miami Beach, but decided that this hotel had the best value because it offered free breakfast, free wifi and free parking.

We often stay at Hampton Inns because of our Hilton Honors membership. This hotel was pretty much in line with what we expected. It was clean, and the decor was towards the higher end of what we've seen from other Hampton Inns. Our room was a good size and had a refridgerator and microwave. The bathroom was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, lotion and mouthwash.

We were there on a Wednesday night. There was a manager reception in the early evening. There were free snacks, beer, wine and soda. The hotel also had a free breakfast that was pretty much what you'd expect from a mid-level chain's free breakfast -- make your own waffles, fruit, cereal, yogurt. They also had fruit salad. Breakfast was well-stocked even though we were there close to the 10 am cutoff.

We did not have a chance to use the pool because it was raining when we got to Miami. The pool area was small but clean and nicely decorated. Despite its size and view of the parking lot, it looked appealing.

The parking situation was pretty terrible. The lot was very narrow and it was difficult to back out, even though we only had a compact car. This is not a lot that can safely accomodate a lot of SUVs. I would not be surprised if there are frequent complaints about cars getting bumped.

The hotel's location was okay. As I mentioned above, it was raining when we got to Miami. We were really hungry after our flight and wanted to grab lunch, but didn't feel like going out in the rain. We went across the street to Pollo Tropical, which was really good. We also picked up some basics from the gas station convenient store across the street. From the hotel, it was relatively easy to get to Miami Beach. It was also close to the Vizcaya House and Gardens, a good rainy day activity. There is a train station a few blocks away, but the train does not go anywhere of interest except maybe the airport (but I'm not sure).

The service was average until the end. At first I was not impressed, but not put off either. When I made the reservation, I made a note in the comments section indicating that my husband and I were there for our babymoon. When we checked out, they gave us a snack basket with a card. It was just the free snack basket that they give out to Hilton Gold and Platinum members, but I still thought that this was a sweet gesture. It was also really nice of them to give us the basket with a baby-themed card. Really a nice way to end our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear melhojo,

Thank you for staying with us during such a special occasion and for taking the time to post your ratings and comments. I am extremely happy to know we met your expectations of our brand regarding cleanliness, comfort, and ambience. I am also delighted to know that you find us to be of more value than other Hilton properties in the area. When it comes to parking, the upper deck can be a little tight for the bigger cars, but we also offer a more spacious covered garage. I am sorry if you were not made aware. Thank you for noting the easy access to Miami Beach and the leisure venues in the area, and for mentioning the hamptonality of our team members, who noticed you were celebrating such an important moment.

Come back to see us again!


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    341
    70
    18
    11
See reviews for
291
213
51
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well, for those regular tourists who go to Miami, Coconut Grove is not the very first option. But if you don't mind renting a car and understands how to use a GPS, this might be the place to stay.
Why? Because then your in the middle of the great parts of the miami area.
Close to Coral Gables, Miracle Mile, Dadeland Mall, The Falls and other big shopping spots.

Coconut itself have its share of restaurants, places to walk, and lots of green stuff. There you feel more like a regular guy and not the tourist guy. Definitely, Miami Beach, crowded and noisy crowd, overpriced Lattes and tuned up cars are not my vision of getaway.

Hampton Inn: it went trough some remodelling and feel like it. King Beds are comfy, adequate rooms, free wifi, grab and go breakfast bags and some hot meals in the morning. OK, not gourmet stuff but they are free. And best of all, no vallet parking to be added to your bill- a hefty 30 bucks a day elsewhere.

Service is nice, they even put my FEDEX package inside my room before i return.

Cons: no dry passage from the parking lot , small pool (who cares) and no room service (ordered pizza).

Summary: I am going back with my kids next time. Need to say more?

Room Tip: Go for the king size bed suites .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear FamilyGuyWithTwins,


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. We truly appreciate your recognition of the area and the hotel, which as you mentioned offers easy access to a multitude of leisure activities and venues, as well as to business districts in Miami, Coral Gables and South Miami. I am glad you got to enjoy some of the free ammenities we offer our guests such as free WIFI, Free hot breakfast, and free parking, which is unique in the entire Coconut Grove area.

Come back to see us soon with your kids!

With Pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I knew what to expect from the Hampton Brand. No surprises. No disappointments. The key thing I look for when deciding on a hotel is whether there is a charge for parking. This is critical in Florida where a car is a necessity. Not so much in cities that have adequate public transportation. So I appreciate the fact that this hotel did not charge for parking. In fact, I previously stayed at the Brickell Hampton Inn on a couple of occasions prior to this stay. I would have stayed there this visit but for the fact that they have started charging for parking. Thumbs up to Hampton-Coconut Grove for not charging for parking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear dino4897,

Thank you for posting your comments and ratings regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad we met the expectations you have of our brand. Thank you for noting that unlike all properties in Coconut Grove/Coral Gables and most in Miami, we continue to offer more value for your dollars keeping the cost of parking complimentary. In addition our hotel grants easy access to the cities of South Miami, Cora Gables, Downtown Miami, Miami Beach and Key Biscayne.

We hope to see you soon again,

Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I knew what to expect from the Hampton Brand. No surprises. No disappointments. The key thing I look for when deciding on a hotel is whether there is a charge for parking. This is critical in Florida where a car is a necessity. Not so much in cities that have adequate public transportation. So I appreciate the fact that this hotel did not charge for parking. In fact, I previously stayed at the Brickell Hampton Inn on a couple of occasions prior to this stay. I would have stayed there this visit but for the fact that they have started charging for parking. Thumbs up to Hampton-Coconut Grove for not charging for parking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear dino4897,

Thank you for posting your comments and ratings regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad we met the expectations you have of our brand. Thank you for noting that unlike all properties in Coconut Grove/Coral Gables and most in Miami, we continue to offer more value for your dollars keeping the cost of parking complimentary. In addition our hotel grants easy access to the cities of South Miami, Cora Gables, Downtown Miami, Miami Beach and Key Biscayne.

We hope to see you soon again,

Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Every amenity available...breakfast, great evening happy hour, small fitness room (could us a stationary bike), extremely helpful and happy staff and fab restaurants like Berries right around the corner! A definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dishrodheat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and ratings regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the added value ammenities we offer free of charge, and hope breakfast was as delightful as we know it can be . Thanks for noting the hamptonality of our team members and the good times you had at the nearby restaurant "Berries"

Come back to visit us again,

Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent hotel when visiting Miami. Good value, Hampton quality you expect. Conveniently located off of US 1, just a short drive from downtown Miami. No need to pay high downtown hotel prices, parking charges or resort fees if all you are doing is basically sleeping at the hotel. Free breakfast always helps with the travel budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tonya A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and ratings regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad we met the quality of service expectations you have of our brand. Thank you for noting our location, which grants easy access to the cities of South Miami, Cora Gables, Downtown Miami, Miami Beach and Key Biscayne. We hope the free breakfast was not just economical, but plentiful and sustainable.
We hope to see you soon again,

Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staff was very friendly and professional. Access to the hotel was good - relatively close to Coral Gables and various shopping ares. The breakfast menus were quit good as they were changed every day. The room was clean and comfortable. Will gladly stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Norman B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great ratings regarding your recent stay with us. I am extremely happy that you noted our team members' hamptonality, cleanliness of our rooms, and sincerely hope you got to enjoy the free parking, free internet access, and free local calls in addition to the complimentary breakfast. Thank you for also noting our location, which grants easy access to the nearby cities of Coral Gables, South Miami, downtown Miami, and many leisure attractions.

Come back to see us next time you are in South Florida, we love having you here!.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.