We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good renewde rooms but internet sucks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good renewde rooms but internet sucks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stay there for 5 nights with my wife,
Rooms are renewed, bathroom adequated, parking OK and a very good breakfast
Bad points were the very very cold air conditioning and the internet that never worked properly

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Eduba101


Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your ratings and comments to TripAdvisor. Your comments will certainly help us to make sure our guests' needs are met. I'm sorry to hear about the room temperature and spotty wireless internet connectivity. We are working with our maintenance team and service provider to address your concerns and hope you'll come back for a much more comfortable experience.

Kind regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    421
    92
    23
    12
See reviews for
364
268
61
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For my wife and I, a hotel room is a place to sleep when vacationing. Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables was ideal. It was very close to the MetroRail which runs directly from the airport and took us to Marlins Stadium and other locations. Just one block from VERY busy Rt. 1, the hotel is on a rarely traveled side street so safe and quiet. The room was standard, but clean and well kept. The complimentary breakfast was varied, including waffles, eggs (I think), fresh fruit, and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear John B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your ratings and comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Thank you also for noting the cleanliness and safe surroundings of our hotel, which offers easy access to many leisure and business destinations in the Miami Dade area, including the cities of Coral Gables, and South Miami, Little Havana, and the beaches at Key Biscayne.

Comeback to see us soon!

Cordially,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a good hotel in a safe area. The rooms were clean and while the complimentary breakfast was plentiful, it mostly consisted of carbs which I don't eat as a rule. The vending machine was broken but had mostly unhealthy snacks and drinks anyway. The price was satisfactory, but a bit more pricey using AAA. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Nina S,

Thank you for your ratings and comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to find out that you found our hotel to be clean and safe, which is something we like to offer our guests. I am sorry the vending machine seem to have gotten jammed, we have since call our vendor and been fixed. I am glad that you found us accommodating and with value to visit us again. Please do so at your convenience.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for weekend--3 nights--only 10-15 minutes to city where our daughter lives. Have stayed there before but now they have renovated the rooms with new Cloud beds/pillows were is great. There is free parking, free internet in room, free breakfast (good breakfast with eggs, waffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal and of course all beverages.....great bargain for Miami area. We booked on Expedia as a car/hotel package and got a great deal. Will definitely return again.

Room Tip: choose a room on the parking lot side for less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear pamelf

I am so glad to read about your great stay with us. Thank you for your awesome ratings and comments. As you noted our hotel offers a great location with easy access to South Miami, Coral Gables, Little Havana, Downtown Miami and the beaches at Key Biscayne. I am glad you got to enjoy all the ammenities we offer with the nighlty rate.
We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Average Hampton, a little rough around the edges. Wi-fi is slower than dial-up. Front desk informed me it will be fixed... in 3 months. Then invited me to work in the lobby. Or in a back roon office. No thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear DougHaddix,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we apologize for the connectivity issues you encountered with our wireless services. I understand how much of an inconvenience this must have been. We have recently upgraded to 6 MB which is a lot faster than dial up. We are also completing an upgrade to fiberoptic 10 MB in the next couple of weeks which should be plenty of band width. Please consider giving us another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed here twice before. This time rooms have been remodeled. We had some minor issues such as the thermostat and tv remote control not working and the eggs at breakfast were dry, but overall this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We appreciate your comments and ratings submitted to tripadvisor. We will keep an eye on our breakfast to make sure it is up to standards.

Please comeback soon!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Within walking distance (literally across the street) from restaurants, CrossFit Coconut Grove box/gym and a 24-hour gas station in case you need some 'emergency essentials'.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean and didn't have that 'old room' smell that sometimes accompanies budget-friendly hotels. And the 'continental' breakfast, free wi-fi, & all-day free coffee in the lobby were some well-appreciated perks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Cary H

Thank you for taking the time to submit your ratings and feedback regarding your stay with us to tripadvisor. We are extremely glad that you noted the hamptonality of our staff, the great location and cleanliness of our hotel. I am also glad you found the complimentary ammenities including the breakfast buffet and free WIFI well appreciated.
Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.