We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant all around experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Miami
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
1 review
“Pleasant all around experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Within walking distance (literally across the street) from restaurants, CrossFit Coconut Grove box/gym and a 24-hour gas station in case you need some 'emergency essentials'.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean and didn't have that 'old room' smell that sometimes accompanies budget-friendly hotels. And the 'continental' breakfast, free wi-fi, & all-day free coffee in the lobby were some well-appreciated perks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Cary H

Thank you for taking the time to submit your ratings and feedback regarding your stay with us to tripadvisor. We are extremely glad that you noted the hamptonality of our staff, the great location and cleanliness of our hotel. I am also glad you found the complimentary ammenities including the breakfast buffet and free WIFI well appreciated.
Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    315
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
254
191
47
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two weeks ago. It is very quiet even though right off US 1. Staff was just fine. Nice restaurant right around the corner. We walked a few blocks to a more lively eating and entertainment area. We noticed in the morning the hotel had a night security guard, so it is super safe.

I was surprised at how delicious the pre-made western omelets were at breakfast. It was a great hot food addition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Alexandram34344,

Thank you for submitting your outstanding ratings and reviews of our location and services to tripadvisor. We are extremely glad that you noted our hamptonality, safe surroundings and great location near restaurants and the entertainment area in the Grove. I am also glad you found the complimentary breakfast buffet with its broad selection of items to be plentiful and delightful.
Please come back to see us again!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recommend the Hampton Inn on 27th Avenue SW, less than a mile from Coconut Grove, Miami, Florida. Clean accommodations, full breakfast, cozy internal patio with jacuzzi and pool. A good price for a centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Room with two full beds were extremely comfortable for a family or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear yvonnemarch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your ratings and recommendations of our hotel.
Thank you also for noting our cleanliness, convenient location and complimentary amenities included in the nightly rate.
Comeback to see us soon!

Cordially,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My son and I were visiting the University of Miami and decided to stay at this property because it was less than 3 miles away. The hotel is also well situated walking distance to Coconut Grove with its many restaurants and stores and about a 20 minute drive from South Beach and Key Biscayne. We were pleased that the hotel had free parking and a complimentary generous breakfast buffet. We chose a very quiet room that faced the rear parking lot. Our room and bathroom were recently renovated and extremely clean. The bed and the air temperature were comfortable. We would definitely return to this Hotel if we visit Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear monica1836,

Thank you for your great ratings and comments regarding your recent stay with us. Located just three miles east of the University of Miami main campus, our hotel welcomes all porspective future canes' and their families to stay with us. I am glad to find out you took advantage of our convenient location not only to get to UM and Coconut Grove's main Highway and Cocowalk, but also to South Beach, and the ocean at Key Biscayne. Thanks for commenting on the free self parking service, which makes us unique in the area, the hot breakfast, which is included with the daily rate, and the cleanliness and comfort of our guest rooms.

Please comeback to stay with us should your son decide to enroll at " THE U "

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Flew in for a weddinFlew in for a wedding a week ahead of time. Stayed 2 nights and then 3 after visiting the Keys.

The location is great, just off the highway and the bathrooms have just been redone as you can see by the silicone on the shower doors. The staff were welcoming as were the house maids and even though we left at 4pm for a wedding the room was made up when we got back. Top marks!

I think if you are with a family the breakfast is ideal, yet as a couple we did not appreciate the rat race so we went to Coral Bagels nearby and that place is a gem! Google it, that is all I can say! Look it up!

What is awesome is though at the hotel is the breakfast bags that are prepared Monday to Friday, very impressive!

Our last afternoon was spent at the pool which was very clean and when towels were gone they were quickly replaced.

We had some major issues with the front desk regarding a taxi to the wedding venue. These have now been addressed by the manager in a very swift fashion and I understand that taxis around the area need to be booked well in advance (2 hrs).

Don’t use public transport to South Beach, it is not worth it, we found it out the hard way. You paid a lot to get to Miami, either use a car or get a cab (32 dollars).

Shopping and bars are so close. I had to find out myself that a bus runs at the cost of 25 cents around Coconut Grove. First night I arrived the receptionist said it was a safe area to walk to Montys, which it is. We could have taken the bus, she never mentioned it.

Overall, a 6/10, but seeing my taxi issues have been addressed I upgrade to 7/10

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Noel_Kiwi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and the positive comments regarding our housekeeping staff and services. I apologize once again for the inconvenience with the taxi, and I am glad that you found my resolution of the problem to be appropriate and prompt.
Please comeback to visit us when you are in the South Florida area again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

this is the best place to stay.
People are very friendly, clean and very very comfortable room. i will always select this hotel for my stays in miami. the location is perfect. walking distance from the best breakfast and the best tapasand wine. it also has a very good parking for the guest.

Room Tip: only ask the frontdesk personnel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Miriam,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great ratings and comments. You have a home away from home at Coconut Grove.
Please comeback to see us soon.

Cordially,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT, THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL. WE USED THE DIAMOND TAXIS AS WE FLEW IN AND HAD NO CAR. WEDNESDAY FROM 5-7 they had snacks and beer and wine in the breakfast room. Ate at the chart house restaurant on the water. The food was excellent and the water view was great. It is about 1 mile away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Traveler 1892,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your excellent ratings and comments regarding your recent stay with us to Tripadvisor . I am glad you got to enjoy the beer and wine at our evening reception.

come back to see us again we love having you here!

With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.