We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sutton Coldfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“February Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good clean hotel, but rather expensive for what you get 2 nights around $200 a night, don't be mislead by the address Coconut Grove. We stayed there thinking it was in the restaurant area of The Grove but its probably as far away as you can get, along side US 1

No real complaints regarding our stay but unless you do your homework, the Coconut Grove title could be misleading

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Miketadvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your ratings and feedback regarding your February stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our level of cleanliness which is something we take pride on. We would like you to know that we are constantly reviewing our processes to increase value for our customers. Due to the seasonality of the South Florida area, Hampton Inn rates in Miami during the winter seem to be higher than the brand in most areas, but with the complimentary breakfast, Wireless Internet access, local calls and free Parking included in the rate, we offer a lot more value than any competing hotel in the Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables area. Although not in the heart of the Grove, our hotel is just blocks away from the shops in Grand Avenue and the fine dining in Main Highway and Bayshore Drive in Coconut Grove.

Come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    338
    70
    18
    11
See reviews for
289
212
51
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you consider the fabulous breakfast, accomodation and location of this hotel. It makes it worth the price! all The staff is really helpfull and the rooms are very clean, big and comfortable. You're within 10 minutes from Bayside and many other tourist locations

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ADR_8,

Thank you for your comments and awesome ratings regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to see that our amenities as well as our location were of great convenience for you and your family. Thanks for noting the Hamptonality of our team members We hope to see you back again with us soon.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
3,181 helpful votes 3,181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We lived in the Coconut Grove area of Miami for 16 years and whenever we return to Miami for work, fun or doctors' visits, this is where we stay, since we are familiar with the area.
The location is great - right off US 1, close to the airport and across the street from the Metrorail, which you can take downtown so you do not have to hassle the traffic or pay for expensive parking.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is tasty and there was even a happy hour during my last visit.
As far as amenities, the best one is FREE PARKING - which is unheard of at Miami hotels. There are a small pool and workout center. Plus, there is a Pollo Tropical right across the street. This is a south Florida chain restaurant which serves the tastiest chicken and rice and beans - yum! yum!!

Room Tip: Light sleepers ask for rooms not facing US 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear luvroma2,

We truly appreciate the great ratings and comments you have posted regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for noting our great location, which offers easy access to downtown Miami, Coral Gables, "The Grove", and the beaches at Key Biscayne. We are glad you got to enjoy the complimentary ammenities we offer with the room rate specially parking. Come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'm a Hilton Honors Member at Gold Level. I was unpleasantly surprised that nothing at this hotel seemed to work. There were 3 of us staying here so this wasn't one opinion as we all compared notes. We were here for work. You need consistent WIFI access to be able to work. WIFI here was up, then down, then extremely slow then up and down (mostly down) over a 3 day period. When I asked if they were having issues the night front desk clerk said no, no problems, that's the way it is. The Television is Satellite TV and half of the channels don't come in. When I asked about this the night front desks clerks just shrug and say that's the way it is. Even the vending machine ate up all my coins. Again shrugs from the front desk. When I asked for the manager to call me...you guessed it nothing. Rooms are dated look like something from the 1980's. Other than the useless managers and front desk clerks the people working at the breakfast area were nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at our hotel. Your comments are appreciated and I can assure you we're taking your concerns very seriously. We know that internet connectivity is important to all travelers-especially our business traveling guests. We are scheduled to complete an upgrade of our internet circuit within the next seven days. We have also contacted our cable/Satellite TV providers to troubleshoot any problems, in order to offer better service in the future. While you're our guest we want you to expect friendly service that extends past your stay. I apologize that we missed the opportunity to better serve you and I will be in contact with you shortly to help make things right. We hope you'll return to experience out true Hamptonality.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You always know what you are getting at Hampton Inn and this one is especially good. Also love the location and character of the hotel, it fits right in with this trendy area of Miami. The front office staff are very good though never had a problem I am sure they would handle any very efficiently. The breakfast buffet can't be beat and the rooms are always clean, quiet and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Wow! What a great review and outstanding rating. Thank you very much! I am delighted to know we have met your expectations of our brand. Thank you for noting our Hamptonality and character. Our front office team is very appreciative of your comments, and needless to say that We loved having you here and certainly hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town, be it for business or pleasure.

With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the people were very nice. We selected this hotel because of the location, it was convenient for a get together we were attending. The parking was free and it was easy to navigate to areas we needed to visit. With all of that being said, the price per night was $239 per night plus taxes. They would not give any discount for AAA, etc. The room was nice, but not any nicer than other standard chain hotels. The employees obviously take pride in the property. If I had to visit the same location again, I would likely stay here, but would stay only as long as necessary due to the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear go2ci,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our services and location. We are extremely glad you got to enjoy the complimentary ammenities we offer included in the nightly rate. Our hot breakfast offers a broad variety of items, which makes it our guests' most popular amenity. Free parking is an added value we continue to offer unlike other hotels in the Coconut Grove/Coral Gables area. I am sorry we were not able to offer you a discount for the night. Please come back to visit again, We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangiora
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was ok, noisey air con, our room was right on the street, 4th floor. Would stay again, ok for one or two night stay. Breakfast included and plenty of choices. Pool and spa were good and clean. Free parking at rear. Good area. Locations is great, walking distance either way is plenty of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear thenutsRangiora,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as your home away from home during your recent visit to South Florida, and for taking the time to give us such great ratings and honest feedback. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. We apologize for the noisy AC unit, I have spoken with our mainenance staff to make sure such incident is eliminated with future guests. We hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.