We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, clean, too expensive ( in my opinion)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Miami
Westampton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, clean, too expensive ( in my opinion)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the people were very nice. We selected this hotel because of the location, it was convenient for a get together we were attending. The parking was free and it was easy to navigate to areas we needed to visit. With all of that being said, the price per night was $239 per night plus taxes. They would not give any discount for AAA, etc. The room was nice, but not any nicer than other standard chain hotels. The employees obviously take pride in the property. If I had to visit the same location again, I would likely stay here, but would stay only as long as necessary due to the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear go2ci,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our services and location. We are extremely glad you got to enjoy the complimentary ammenities we offer included in the nightly rate. Our hot breakfast offers a broad variety of items, which makes it our guests' most popular amenity. Free parking is an added value we continue to offer unlike other hotels in the Coconut Grove/Coral Gables area. I am sorry we were not able to offer you a discount for the night. Please come back to visit again, We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    310
    63
    16
    6
See reviews for
243
188
47
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rangiora
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was ok, noisey air con, our room was right on the street, 4th floor. Would stay again, ok for one or two night stay. Breakfast included and plenty of choices. Pool and spa were good and clean. Free parking at rear. Good area. Locations is great, walking distance either way is plenty of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear thenutsRangiora,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as your home away from home during your recent visit to South Florida, and for taking the time to give us such great ratings and honest feedback. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. We apologize for the noisy AC unit, I have spoken with our mainenance staff to make sure such incident is eliminated with future guests. We hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've always found the Hampton Inn to be great value for the money, but not the case with this location. For the price of $225 per night, I expected this to be in an UPSCALE neighborhood with several choices of quality restaurants/stores within 1-2 blocks walking distance of the hotel. Although this location is conveniently just off the highway, the immediate area is unattractive and the hotel faces the back of a strip mall plaza containing a Pet Supermarket, a Subway sandwich shop and the Tropical Pollo restaurant/drive-thru. The Coconut Grove village itself is a 20-min walk along a busy street in a lower-end neighborhood, but it is upscale with 3-4 blocks of nice cafes and shops. Especially at night would drive there, not walk. Since at this hotel you must have a car to go anywhere, it is better to stay at their airport hotel for a much cheaper rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side... the north side faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Leanne P.

Thank you for taking the time to post your ratings and feed back concerning your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering comfortable accommodations and inviting staff. I'm sorry that we could not offer you a more satisfactory experience as I had stated in the message I sent you earlier this week, and hope you'll give us another opportunity to make your next stay even better. Enjoy the certificates.

Kind regards

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Standard Hampton with clean room, free internet and breakfast. The hotel is located off the Dixie highway and is in a residential area. I had a free day and wanted to go on a Everglades tour. Lina at the front desk was exteremely helpful in setting this up for me. Couple of downsides. None of the tour buses come to this property. If you are planing to go on a bus tour, you are better off staying closer to downtown Miami. Internet in the rooms was very weak and i spent a lot of time in the lobby to download my emails. The breakfast area is small and was very full on all the days. Other than this, nothing to complain about

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear raop,

Thank you for taking the time to post your ratings and feedback regarding your stay with us. We're so happy we had the opportunity to serve you and it's nice to hear that Lina was able to assist you with questions about the area. Guest insight is very important to us, internet connectivity has been addressed with our service provider and we are currently working on our upgrade which should be in effect in the next seven days. We'll also look into local partnerships including the guided tours you suggested. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Miami area, we'll have another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great two night stay. The check-in was efficient, room was clean, bed was comfy, and breakfast selections and coffee were excellent! The location was great - very close to restaurants and getting around in Miami and shopping. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear CMMichelX2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the high ratings and the comments regarding our convenient location which offers easy access to dining, and shopping amongst other venues and activities. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stay in Miami quite often, have tried many hotels but the Hampton in the Grove wins every time. It is consistently good. Housekeeping is exceptional - probably the best I've ever seen, even when compared to 5-star hotels.

Location is very central. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably quiet. A wide selection of food is available for breakfast. There is a managers reception during certain week nights.

The Hampton in the Grove has become my home away from home.

Room Tip: Low- number rooms on each floor, ie 200, 301, 402 are in a little alcove that can sometimes (but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mooline,

Wow! Thank you very much for this lovely review about our hotel and its cleanliness. We truly appreciate you consider us to be your home away from home. Our Housekeeping team will be delighted to know about your feedback. We look forward to seeing you with us again soon!

Truly,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. We arrived late the first night, around 10:30 pm. The room & bathroom looked clean & wiped down, but when I used the bathroom, there was a dried urine stain on the toilet. Then after getting in the shower, I noticed a used bar of soap. It was late, and we were tired so didn't ask to change rooms but I did call the front desk to complain. The male who answered said he would leave a message with the manager. On our third day (after the 2nd night's stay), housekeeping didn't clean our room at all. We had been gone since before 8 am that morning, came back around 2pm for about an hour and half, then left again. When we came back that evening, I called to request housekeeping, but was eventually told it was too late but someone would come up to give us fresh towels. I mentioned the 1st night incident again as I hadn't heard back from any manager or employee. When we left and then came back from dinner, the management had left a small basket with a couple of Dove chocolates, 2 plastic wine glasses, & 3 mini bottles containing mineral water & wine, 2 packages of cookies, & a $25 gc to PF Changs with a note of apology from management. This was a nice gesture, but I had read in the fine print that Hampton Inn wouldn't charge for the room if it didn't meet our expectations. I didn't feel like beating a dead horse, but we paid around $160/night (discounted from well over $200), and I do not feel that our experience was anywhere near a $160-200+/night hotel. This obviously was a more budget-type hotel, but I've had better service at similar types of hotels. One positive was the 24-hour availability of coffee, hot water & fruit from their fruit baskets. The breakfast, while convenient, was okay - not as good as Hilton's Embassy Suites. The cooked eggs were always dried out, but they had a cool waffle maker station. Also, after working out in their stuffy work out room (no air circulation) and no wipes to wipe down equipment, I asked the front desk if there was cold water available anywhere. The woman was nice to give me 2 bottled waters. The free parking was also nice. But the negatives (especially regarding cleanliness) and service after I complained about it will make me think twice about staying at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pitterpatti727,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that we fell short of providing you the service you expected. Clean rooms and consistent service are very important to us and we're reviewing current protocols so we can make improvements to all areas of the guest experience. Your comments will certainly help us to ensure we're always offering our true Hamptonality. Please direct message me your contact information so I can speak with you and help make things right. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.