We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in CG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in CG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great two night stay. The check-in was efficient, room was clean, bed was comfy, and breakfast selections and coffee were excellent! The location was great - very close to restaurants and getting around in Miami and shopping. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear CMMichelX2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the high ratings and the comments regarding our convenient location which offers easy access to dining, and shopping amongst other venues and activities. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    437
    99
    24
    13
See reviews for
397
278
62
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stay in Miami quite often, have tried many hotels but the Hampton in the Grove wins every time. It is consistently good. Housekeeping is exceptional - probably the best I've ever seen, even when compared to 5-star hotels.

Location is very central. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably quiet. A wide selection of food is available for breakfast. There is a managers reception during certain week nights.

The Hampton in the Grove has become my home away from home.

Room Tip: Low- number rooms on each floor, ie 200, 301, 402 are in a little alcove that can sometimes (but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mooline,

Wow! Thank you very much for this lovely review about our hotel and its cleanliness. We truly appreciate you consider us to be your home away from home. Our Housekeeping team will be delighted to know about your feedback. We look forward to seeing you with us again soon!

Truly,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. We arrived late the first night, around 10:30 pm. The room & bathroom looked clean & wiped down, but when I used the bathroom, there was a dried urine stain on the toilet. Then after getting in the shower, I noticed a used bar of soap. It was late, and we were tired so didn't ask to change rooms but I did call the front desk to complain. The male who answered said he would leave a message with the manager. On our third day (after the 2nd night's stay), housekeeping didn't clean our room at all. We had been gone since before 8 am that morning, came back around 2pm for about an hour and half, then left again. When we came back that evening, I called to request housekeeping, but was eventually told it was too late but someone would come up to give us fresh towels. I mentioned the 1st night incident again as I hadn't heard back from any manager or employee. When we left and then came back from dinner, the management had left a small basket with a couple of Dove chocolates, 2 plastic wine glasses, & 3 mini bottles containing mineral water & wine, 2 packages of cookies, & a $25 gc to PF Changs with a note of apology from management. This was a nice gesture, but I had read in the fine print that Hampton Inn wouldn't charge for the room if it didn't meet our expectations. I didn't feel like beating a dead horse, but we paid around $160/night (discounted from well over $200), and I do not feel that our experience was anywhere near a $160-200+/night hotel. This obviously was a more budget-type hotel, but I've had better service at similar types of hotels. One positive was the 24-hour availability of coffee, hot water & fruit from their fruit baskets. The breakfast, while convenient, was okay - not as good as Hilton's Embassy Suites. The cooked eggs were always dried out, but they had a cool waffle maker station. Also, after working out in their stuffy work out room (no air circulation) and no wipes to wipe down equipment, I asked the front desk if there was cold water available anywhere. The woman was nice to give me 2 bottled waters. The free parking was also nice. But the negatives (especially regarding cleanliness) and service after I complained about it will make me think twice about staying at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pitterpatti727,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that we fell short of providing you the service you expected. Clean rooms and consistent service are very important to us and we're reviewing current protocols so we can make improvements to all areas of the guest experience. Your comments will certainly help us to ensure we're always offering our true Hamptonality. Please direct message me your contact information so I can speak with you and help make things right. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy driving distance to all the sights and activities of this buzzing area.
Friendly, helpful check in. Large, clean room with good toiletries. Free hot breakfast.
Flier for local pizza / chicken room delivery. But a great Flannagan's two blocks away (turn right out of the hotel).
Recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PYT13,

It is always a joy to hear that we have met our guests' expectations. We try our best to do that in a consistent basis and when customers like you take the time to post such great ratings and comments we celebrate. A big THANK YOU from all us for your recommendation. We loved having you here! Come back soon.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for New Year for 2 nights and it was really good value for that time of year. It's close to the Coconut Grove area that has a few bars and restaurants and it's a short drive to downtown and South Beach. The room was nice enough, spacious with a big bathroom, perfect for what we needed. It was a bit of a nightmare finding taxis to take us downtown on New Year's Eve but then it is the busiest night of the year so that can be excused. Free WiFi is always good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear RossMcA,


Thank you very much for selecting our hotel to spend the new year's celebration, and for taking the time to rate your stay with us. Thank you for noting our great location wich provides easy access to South Beach, Key Biscayne, Downtown Miami, and other cities in the vicinity. We sincerely hope you comeback to see us soon, be it for business or pleasure.

With Pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights using a group rate and felt it was a terrific value. The room was large, clean, updated and quiet, even located right next to the elevator. The breakfast was extensive and the complimentary coffee, tea and cookies in the evening was a nice touch! Parking was free, the pool area was nice and the location is not too far from the airport and the Coconut Grove downtown area. Hotel staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear vmcrisp,

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home during your recent visit to Miami, and for taking the time to give us such great ratings and feedback. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. Our staff are very appreciative of your comments, and needless to say that We loved having you here and certainly hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was OK, near the grove, not far from key Biscayne. Most of the hotel charge you additional fees for the parking, internet and breakfast but everything was "free" at the Hampton (you don´t have to pay anything else). The hot breakfast was OK or you could grab an on the go bag.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you very much for making us your home away from home during our sisit to South Florida, and for taking the time rate your stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. We sincerely hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town be it for business or pleasure.

Thanks again,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Sofitel Miami
#36 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,932 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#10 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.