We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "go to hotel" in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Miami
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My "go to hotel" in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stay in Miami quite often, have tried many hotels but the Hampton in the Grove wins every time. It is consistently good. Housekeeping is exceptional - probably the best I've ever seen, even when compared to 5-star hotels.

Location is very central. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably quiet. A wide selection of food is available for breakfast. There is a managers reception during certain week nights.

The Hampton in the Grove has become my home away from home.

Room Tip: Low- number rooms on each floor, ie 200, 301, 402 are in a little alcove that can sometimes (but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mooline,

Wow! Thank you very much for this lovely review about our hotel and its cleanliness. We truly appreciate you consider us to be your home away from home. Our Housekeeping team will be delighted to know about your feedback. We look forward to seeing you with us again soon!

Truly,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    314
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
252
191
47
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. We arrived late the first night, around 10:30 pm. The room & bathroom looked clean & wiped down, but when I used the bathroom, there was a dried urine stain on the toilet. Then after getting in the shower, I noticed a used bar of soap. It was late, and we were tired so didn't ask to change rooms but I did call the front desk to complain. The male who answered said he would leave a message with the manager. On our third day (after the 2nd night's stay), housekeeping didn't clean our room at all. We had been gone since before 8 am that morning, came back around 2pm for about an hour and half, then left again. When we came back that evening, I called to request housekeeping, but was eventually told it was too late but someone would come up to give us fresh towels. I mentioned the 1st night incident again as I hadn't heard back from any manager or employee. When we left and then came back from dinner, the management had left a small basket with a couple of Dove chocolates, 2 plastic wine glasses, & 3 mini bottles containing mineral water & wine, 2 packages of cookies, & a $25 gc to PF Changs with a note of apology from management. This was a nice gesture, but I had read in the fine print that Hampton Inn wouldn't charge for the room if it didn't meet our expectations. I didn't feel like beating a dead horse, but we paid around $160/night (discounted from well over $200), and I do not feel that our experience was anywhere near a $160-200+/night hotel. This obviously was a more budget-type hotel, but I've had better service at similar types of hotels. One positive was the 24-hour availability of coffee, hot water & fruit from their fruit baskets. The breakfast, while convenient, was okay - not as good as Hilton's Embassy Suites. The cooked eggs were always dried out, but they had a cool waffle maker station. Also, after working out in their stuffy work out room (no air circulation) and no wipes to wipe down equipment, I asked the front desk if there was cold water available anywhere. The woman was nice to give me 2 bottled waters. The free parking was also nice. But the negatives (especially regarding cleanliness) and service after I complained about it will make me think twice about staying at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pitterpatti727,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that we fell short of providing you the service you expected. Clean rooms and consistent service are very important to us and we're reviewing current protocols so we can make improvements to all areas of the guest experience. Your comments will certainly help us to ensure we're always offering our true Hamptonality. Please direct message me your contact information so I can speak with you and help make things right. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy driving distance to all the sights and activities of this buzzing area.
Friendly, helpful check in. Large, clean room with good toiletries. Free hot breakfast.
Flier for local pizza / chicken room delivery. But a great Flannagan's two blocks away (turn right out of the hotel).
Recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PYT13,

It is always a joy to hear that we have met our guests' expectations. We try our best to do that in a consistent basis and when customers like you take the time to post such great ratings and comments we celebrate. A big THANK YOU from all us for your recommendation. We loved having you here! Come back soon.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for New Year for 2 nights and it was really good value for that time of year. It's close to the Coconut Grove area that has a few bars and restaurants and it's a short drive to downtown and South Beach. The room was nice enough, spacious with a big bathroom, perfect for what we needed. It was a bit of a nightmare finding taxis to take us downtown on New Year's Eve but then it is the busiest night of the year so that can be excused. Free WiFi is always good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear RossMcA,


Thank you very much for selecting our hotel to spend the new year's celebration, and for taking the time to rate your stay with us. Thank you for noting our great location wich provides easy access to South Beach, Key Biscayne, Downtown Miami, and other cities in the vicinity. We sincerely hope you comeback to see us soon, be it for business or pleasure.

With Pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights using a group rate and felt it was a terrific value. The room was large, clean, updated and quiet, even located right next to the elevator. The breakfast was extensive and the complimentary coffee, tea and cookies in the evening was a nice touch! Parking was free, the pool area was nice and the location is not too far from the airport and the Coconut Grove downtown area. Hotel staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear vmcrisp,

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home during your recent visit to Miami, and for taking the time to give us such great ratings and feedback. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. Our staff are very appreciative of your comments, and needless to say that We loved having you here and certainly hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was OK, near the grove, not far from key Biscayne. Most of the hotel charge you additional fees for the parking, internet and breakfast but everything was "free" at the Hampton (you don´t have to pay anything else). The hot breakfast was OK or you could grab an on the go bag.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you very much for making us your home away from home during our sisit to South Florida, and for taking the time rate your stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location and the additional services and ammenities we offer at no cost to our valued customers. We sincerely hope you comeback to see us next time you are in town be it for business or pleasure.

Thanks again,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove was a very comfortable hotel. The best part is that from Miami International airport all you have to do is take the train (that leaves from the terminal) and go eight stops. The Coconut Grove station is 200 meters from the hotel. Costs $2.00 each it bits the $35-$45 (depending on traffic) that you would pay for a taxi and takes less than 20 minutes.

Unfortunately, the girl at the desk did not know that and just by luck we found the train.

The hotel is clean and comfortable however, try to book a room with odd numbers, those rooms face the back of the hotel and not the highway. Even on the sixth (top most) floor, I woke up a few time when those sports bikes passed by.

Breakfast is OK but for that price I would expect more. If you go for a cruise, they have a shuttle that takes you to the port of Miami for $10 each at 11:30. It's a bargain considering a taxi would cost double that. Just make sure you inform the front desk that you would need it.

It leaves only once a day at 11:30 but you do not really need to be there before that.

The price, however, was much higher than we wanted to pay and the value is not really there. at $179+tax ($202) it's a very expensive stay at an not more than an average hotel.

Room Tip: Book odd number rooms so you don't face the highway or you will not sleep well. Like most hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Motti B,

Thank you for your review. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. This includes the shuttle service and convenient transportation for cruise patrons. I have shared your feedback regarding the metro rail information with our front desk agents and will have a couple of them actually take it to advise our guest appropriately. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback to update and enhance our offerings. The next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.

Warm regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.