We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay in Miami Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Decent stay in Miami Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for five three at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove. Rooms were nice and clean and beds were cozy to sleep in and a nice walk in shower a nice large bathroom. Other nice things about this hotel is that breakfast and parking are complimentary. Hotel is well located and was so close to AAA.we were in Miami to see the Basketball game and we loved it because we were not too close to the downtown nut not too far either.Thanks to Jorge,another guy and the two ladies at the front desk was very helpful.Jorge was exceptional.

Room Tip: nice hotel if you are going to AAA,complimentary breakfast and Parking :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear godschild912,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Jorge and our guest service staff will be so glad to know that you shared such a nice comment about them. We are glad you found our rooms to be nice and clean, with cozy beds to sleep in after an eciting evening at the AAA . I am hopeful you found our complimentary breakfast to be delightful. As you experienced, our hotel provides a convenient location with easy access to businesses and leisure venues in the cities of South Miami, Coral Gables, Brickell Financial District , Downtown Miami, and the beaches at Key Biscayne.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in the area be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    338
    69
    17
    11
See reviews for
289
211
51
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were in town just for a night before we got on a cruise ship. This was an excellent hotel, convenient to the airport where I had to pick up two of our friends in the morning, Pollo Tropical across the street for a convenient bite to eat when we did not want to get back in the car. Free parking is always a plus and they let us extend checkout by an hour so our friends could take a quick nap after they came in at 7am.

Room Tip: I always take a wheelchair accessible room if it is available, there is more floor space and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear thecspeck,


Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location to be perfect and convenient when it came to going to the airport. We are also glad to know that you took advantage of the complimentary parking, which is a popular feature with most of our guests. We have several restaurants in the nearby area and we encourage you to try a new one next time you come to visit.
We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove. Rooms have been recently remodeled so room was clean, comfortable and had a nice large bathroom.

Other nice things about this hotel is that breakfast and parking are complimentary.

Hotel is well located just off the Dixie Highway and a 5 minute drive to a nice walking street with restaurants and a mall called Coco Walk.

Also a restaurant called Berries in the grove is a two minute walk from the hotel and is a great place to eat with delicious paninis, salads, pizzas etc!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear burningrivergirl,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location in addition to the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. I am glad that you got to enjoy the breakfast and complimentary parking

Come back to see us again! We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Better reserve over the internet, tried by phone at 21H00 but the lady who answered said she was too busy and will call me later by the time she called back I had already finished my internet reservation ( 45min)
The rooms are quiet, clean, bed Comfortable,
the included breakfast is self serve, as much as you want exactly as described by the others reviewers

Room Tip: ask a room looking over the parking it's quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paul A,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. I apologize for our staff not being able to assist you inmediately and promptly as you deserve. I am glad you found our rooms quiet, clean, and the bed Comfortable. Thank you also for noting the complimentary breakfast to be as plentiful as advertized. We'd love to have you with us again, please comeback and visit us.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great location when traveling in and around Miami. Nice breakfast and coffee, cookies and fruit always available. A "lunch to go" offers snack and water. A nice extra. Beds very comfortable!!! Bathrooms clean and new.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear shirl22_12,


Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location, which provides easy access to the nearby cities and business districs, as well as to leisure destinations, retaurants, shops and dinning.

Come back to see us again! We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The king room is as expected for the size and furnishings. Although clean, the room itself shows it is an old hotel. The carpet inside/out and the smell around the floor are indication of an older structure. The bathroom is clean and looks like it has been renovated. The front desk staff are very helpful and readily available when needed. The freebies are an added plus for the hotel: breakfast, parking, internet access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Our staff will be so glad to know that you shared such a nice comment about them. Sorry you found our hotel to be old. We are starting a three phase renovation of our rooms and public areas this Summer coming up, which will give our hotel a fresh look.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again for business or leisure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed one night in this Hampton Inn.

This is an older Hampton Inn and it is showing its age. I have stayed at many of the newer Hampton Inns, so this was a bit of a letdown.

The king room was fine, but the furnishing were a bit worn. Bed was comfortable and Internet worked fine.

Breakfast area is very small and was crowded the morning I was there.

Location is good for the area, although it can be difficult getting in and out at high traffic times.

The staff was very friendly.

I would recommend this Hampton if you need lodging in this area, but don't expect a lot if you are used to newer Hamptons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear BhamBuddy,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Our staff will be so pleased that you shared such a nice compliment. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind as we are starting a three phase renovation of our rooms and public areas, we will also monitor the breakfast area so we can assist in managing any lines.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again for business or leisure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#19 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.