We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed here over the last 6 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sanford, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have stayed here over the last 6 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn several times a year over the last 6 years. I travel to Miami for doctor appointments and the Hampton Inn has special rates for patients and their family's. They provide excellent service and provide a very warm receptive atmosphere. The only thing that has changed over the years has been the morning breakfast bar. It has not been as good the last few years as it once had. It is still an excellent value for your money and a friendly environment in which to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear gcapen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and ratings of our hotel. We are glad that you have continued to visit us through the years. As you noted we have a partnership with hospitals in the area to provide you with a lot more value. I am a bit surprised that you find the breakfast to be of lower quality than previous year. Our breakfast is at par with our brand standards, but if you have any suggestions please forward them so we can bring them to the attention of our corporate office. Come back to visit us soon to enjoy the great restaurants in the area, the beaches at Key Biscayne, or to enjoy a baseball game or watch the Miami Heat, we promise it will only be minutes from our hotel.
We love having you here!

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    428
    92
    23
    12
See reviews for
373
273
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got special price but for handicapped access room. Great value!Only clear difference was no-tub shower with wall mounted hand-held shower. Downgraded for fair water pressure, but excellent temp. Large, clean room. No-pillowtop bed, perfect for me, not as much for wife. Free hot breakfast included seasoned scrambled eggs yesterday, and cheese omelettes today- both very good- as well as usual flip-over waffles, bagels, oatmeal, fruit. Good coffee, several choices of tea. Didn't walk the area, easy drive to Coconut Grove complex and to Miami. In room wireless, and HBO on HD 32" LG were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear gajaybird,

Thanks on behalf of everyone here for your outstanding ratings and nice comments regarding your stay with us. Our accesscible rooms are as nice in size and cleanliness as every other room in our hotel, I apologize that you found the water pressure not at par. We are glad you got to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, and its broad choices, which is the most popular feature with our guests. As you noted our hotel has easy access to Downtown Miami, the cities of Coral Gables and South Miami, Brickle Business district and the beaches at Key Biscayne.
Come back to visit us, we love having you here!

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at this property after a hellish encounter with another property is Miami Beach (a "boutique/condo" property... Smh). By the time I got here I was tired and just wanted to go to sleep. Check in was fast, hassle free, and price was decent. Room was clean, bathroom had been recently renovated (rain shower!), bed was comfy and breakfast was great! Tons of variety. Staff and other guests were all very friendly. Definitely would stay here again if ever I am forced to visit Miami (not a Miami fan).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TruthSpeaker813,

Thank you for posting your review and ratings of our hotels in TripAdvisor. We are extremely proud that you found our accommodations clean, and our level of service very friendly contrary to other areas of town. We are glad you noted and got to enjoy the quality of our breakfast buffet, which as you mentioned has a great variety of items. Come back and visit us again when you are in town, We will love to have you here!

Sincerely,
Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed over a recent weekend while visiting my son at the University of Miami. While not a luxury hotel by any means, I was very happy with the quality and service at the Hampton Inn. The rooms, lobby, and dining room were all very clean and recently updated. The beds and linens were very comfortable. I really appreciated having a secure parking lot -- with free parking! -- and an ample free breakfast buffet. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. I'm looking forward to staying there again for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear CCGess,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your nice comments regarding the cleanliness of our place and the frienliness of our staff. We are proud to say that we offer a clean hotel, comfortable and safe surroundings, and a relaxed yet technically correct level of service. We love to have you with us, so comeback next time you visit your son again.


SIncerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn before an interview. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the service was fast and efficient. The hotel itself has a well-kept lobby. They offer complimentary breakfast and tea/coffee throughout the day. The room I stayed in was clean, and the bathroom appeared newly renovated. There was free wifi, though it was on the slow side. The hotel is a short drive from Brickell and other major areas, so the location is good. Also, there is free parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear 19December86,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate the oustanding ratings and comments regarding our location and services. As you noted we are centrally located with easy access to Brickell financial center, and also toDowntown Miami, and the beaches at Key Biscayne. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, and cofee/tea, which as you noted is available 24 hours a day.Comeback soon, we love having you here!


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Average Hampton Inn

We stopped for an overnight stay on our way to the Miami airport. Hotel has an updated lobby, but rooms show their age. Older furniture from the 80's. Bathroom hs been updated.

Breakfast average.

Close to some fast food - Subway, Burger King, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear PinkSurvivor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. As you noticed our bath rooms have been renovated, and our lobby is up to date. We are currently renovating our fitness center, and we are looking forward to replacing our in room furnitures during the next summer. I am sorry you found our breakfast to be just average, if you have any suggestions please forward to us. Comeback to see us, we love having you here.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay here for the weekend!

Great value in comparison to all the other hotels I've looked at. Central location to almost any place you'd want to visit - about 15 minutes. Complimentary hot breakfast - bagels, waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Even breakfast bags to go!

Free parking (alot of hotels charge or have limited spaces) and free wifi.

Exceptional customer service, comfortable bed and pillows. Microwave and refrigerator for your convenience.

And most importantly, CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your awesome ratings and reviews recently posted, regarding you stay with us. We certainly appreciate th great comments and we are glad that we were able to deliver everything we promise during your stay.
We are glad you got to enjoy the amenities we offer and certainly hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Sofitel Miami
#32 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,872 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.