We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and extremely clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good value and extremely clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed over a recent weekend while visiting my son at the University of Miami. While not a luxury hotel by any means, I was very happy with the quality and service at the Hampton Inn. The rooms, lobby, and dining room were all very clean and recently updated. The beds and linens were very comfortable. I really appreciated having a secure parking lot -- with free parking! -- and an ample free breakfast buffet. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. I'm looking forward to staying there again for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear CCGess,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your nice comments regarding the cleanliness of our place and the frienliness of our staff. We are proud to say that we offer a clean hotel, comfortable and safe surroundings, and a relaxed yet technically correct level of service. We love to have you with us, so comeback next time you visit your son again.


SIncerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    350
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
305
222
52
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn before an interview. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the service was fast and efficient. The hotel itself has a well-kept lobby. They offer complimentary breakfast and tea/coffee throughout the day. The room I stayed in was clean, and the bathroom appeared newly renovated. There was free wifi, though it was on the slow side. The hotel is a short drive from Brickell and other major areas, so the location is good. Also, there is free parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear 19December86,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate the oustanding ratings and comments regarding our location and services. As you noted we are centrally located with easy access to Brickell financial center, and also toDowntown Miami, and the beaches at Key Biscayne. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, and cofee/tea, which as you noted is available 24 hours a day.Comeback soon, we love having you here!


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Average Hampton Inn

We stopped for an overnight stay on our way to the Miami airport. Hotel has an updated lobby, but rooms show their age. Older furniture from the 80's. Bathroom hs been updated.

Breakfast average.

Close to some fast food - Subway, Burger King, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear PinkSurvivor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. As you noticed our bath rooms have been renovated, and our lobby is up to date. We are currently renovating our fitness center, and we are looking forward to replacing our in room furnitures during the next summer. I am sorry you found our breakfast to be just average, if you have any suggestions please forward to us. Comeback to see us, we love having you here.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay here for the weekend!

Great value in comparison to all the other hotels I've looked at. Central location to almost any place you'd want to visit - about 15 minutes. Complimentary hot breakfast - bagels, waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Even breakfast bags to go!

Free parking (alot of hotels charge or have limited spaces) and free wifi.

Exceptional customer service, comfortable bed and pillows. Microwave and refrigerator for your convenience.

And most importantly, CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your awesome ratings and reviews recently posted, regarding you stay with us. We certainly appreciate th great comments and we are glad that we were able to deliver everything we promise during your stay.
We are glad you got to enjoy the amenities we offer and certainly hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very impressed by the Hampton Inn during my two night stay. Spent a lot of time looking at hotel options around Miami - most places on South Beach were $300+, and the same in the City/Brickell/Key Biscayne. Just wanted a nice bed in a reasonably central location, where I could base myself and look around the city. This place was perfect.

It's not a 5-star hotel, but it's very tidy, well maintained and has everything you need -- and the price is right! There was a generous breakfast, morning tea and afternoon tea provided every day at no extra cost, a nice pool at the back, and secure parking underneath. There's also plenty of places to shop/eat in the area (great ribs at Flanigan's down the road!) - especially around the Coconut Grove bayside area.

The room itself was nothing magnificent, but again - neat and tidy. Decent size TV, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. There was also a coin laundry on my floor which came in handy.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Joel B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your nice comments regarding your stay with us back in March. As you noted we are not a five star hotel, but we rejoice in providing our guests with a clean room, comfortable and safe surroundings with great relaxed yet technically correct service. As you mentioned prices for hotel accommodations become exorbitant during high season in South Florida, but we manage to stay affordable. I am glad you enjoy the additional complimentary amenities we offer such as parking and breakfast.

Come back to see us soon, we love having you here!



Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pete
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After driving for what seemed to be a million miles, it was nice to have spotted this very convenient hotel. It's location is great. Just minutes from downtown, Brickell Avenue, Crandon Park, Coconut Grove. The room was very clean, and smelled fresh. The front desk was very efficient and polite. Our stay included a breakfast including hot items and delicious coffee.
I was pleased with the rate as well. Miami is a rather expensive area and this was moderately priced for a walk-in on a Saturday night. We'll stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear StPeteRaz,

Thank you so much for your nice review of your stay with us. I am glad you found us. As you have stated our location is very convenient with easy access to Coral Gables, downtown Miami, Key Biscayne beaches within minutes. I am also glad you enjoyed our breakfast, which offers a broad variety of items.

Come back to see us again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwendy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Hampton is a nice quiet clean hotel just south of downtown Miami. The rooms are fine, the bathrooms are fine, this is not a fancy place but it's also not a fancy price. Staff is kind and helpful and all seem to be bilingual. There is a nice pool and a small whirlpool which did not seem to be working when we were there, I hope it's fixed before our next visit. Included breakfast offers cereal, fruit, eggs/potatoes/sausage and a waffle station, plus various pastries and juices, perfectly adequate. We will be staying in this hotel several more times in the next year and see no need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear drwendy,
Thank you for your great review and ratings of our services. We are glad you found our hotel clean, our staff friendly, and our breakfast sustainable with its broad variety. I apologize our Jacuzzi/spa was not functioning at the time of your stay but I can assure you it is in full effect now.

We love having you here, come back soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.