We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Miami
drwendy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Hampton is a nice quiet clean hotel just south of downtown Miami. The rooms are fine, the bathrooms are fine, this is not a fancy place but it's also not a fancy price. Staff is kind and helpful and all seem to be bilingual. There is a nice pool and a small whirlpool which did not seem to be working when we were there, I hope it's fixed before our next visit. Included breakfast offers cereal, fruit, eggs/potatoes/sausage and a waffle station, plus various pastries and juices, perfectly adequate. We will be staying in this hotel several more times in the next year and see no need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear drwendy,
Thank you for your great review and ratings of our services. We are glad you found our hotel clean, our staff friendly, and our breakfast sustainable with its broad variety. I apologize our Jacuzzi/spa was not functioning at the time of your stay but I can assure you it is in full effect now.

We love having you here, come back soon!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    313
    63
    16
    8
See reviews for
249
191
47
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very good rates in comparison to other hotels in Miami. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is included and in the lobby you can pick up a coffee at any time. The room was clean and the interior was in a good shape. The pool area is small but very clean and they even have a jacuzzi. Parking is free in the garage and the parking lot behind the hotel. In the evening, parking slots can become short. In this case you can ask for a free parking permit at the front desk. About 20 minutes to Miami Beach by car. Good connection to Key Biscayne. I recomend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Patrick W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent stay with us, and the high rating you granted us for our services. I am extremely glad that our staff was friendly and accommodating and that you found our rooms to be clean. I am also glad to know that you got to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, and the free parking. Thank you for the recommendation, and comeback to see us again soon.

Sincerely

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Even though my stay was overshadowed by hurricane Isaac, the Hampton Inn a great place to be on 'lock down'. The area is easy to get to when driving into Miami, and is conveniently located on the edge of the Coconut Grove/Coral Gables neighborhoods. The breakfast was good, compared to other hotels in the same price category, and the staff were very helpful and informative.The rooms are well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable. I am becoming a big fan of this chain, and will certainly return to stay here next year!

Photos taken at time of check-in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear LNT66,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to find out that hurricane Isaac overshadow your stay, but I am hopeful that you got to enjoy some of the nearby locations and attractions. I am glad you got to enjoy our hot buffet breakfast which as you mentioned is good compared to other hotels in the same price category. I am also glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and informative, specially during the time of a threat. Thank you for noting that our rooms are well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable.

Come back to see us soon. We love having you here!


With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here while moving my daughter into University of Miami. The hotel is clean, well appointed, has free parking and the staff were very helpful. Close enough to the university and Coconut Grove as well. The updated rooms were very nice and had a small fridge and microwave. My only issue is at the time I stayed the Wifi connection was having some difficulty, so if I had been on a business trip it might have been difficult. They have likely worked out that kink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear malvernmom,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel and the ammenities we offer. I am sorry to hear that the Internet was slow to meet your needs, we are currently working with AT&T looking to upgrade our circuits. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean, accommodating and convenient, while moving your daughter into "Cane Country." As you mentioned our location provides easy access to University of Miami main campus, Coco Walk, Medical Campus, and the cities nearby. Come Back to see us during Parents weekend we would love to have you back.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This no-frills option provides an excellent value for a short-stay Miami stay: complementary breakfast, free parking, secure, and all located a few minutes (by car) from the major sites, including the newly opened Marlins Park. Rooms were clean, lobby well attended, with the staff providing directions, instructions and help as needed. While there isn't beach access or a glamourous address, it is easy enough to reach any major location in minutes - bring a good map/gps, you will be happy with your choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear AOKtravel12,

Thank you so much for your recommendation and great comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our staff to be helpful and attentive and our facilities to be clean and secure. Thank you for noting our central location offering easy acces to all major locations, including restaurants, shopping centers, night entertainment and South Beach. Although we are not an ocean front location, the beaches at Key Biscayne are only a short drive away.
We love having you here, come back soon!


Sincerely,



Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. Great staff. Clean. Secure. Attractive facility. Breakfast is average. A good value especially since it has free parking and wifi throughout the facility. Neighborhood seems safe. Would stay at the facility again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Rae-48895,

Thank you for the great ratings and the reviews recently posted about your stay with us. We are extremely glad that you found our staff to be great, and our facilities to be clean and secure. We would love to have you stay with us again. Our hotel offers easy access to restaurants, museums, night entertainment and beaches, in addition to the cities of Coral Gables, South Miami, and Downtown Miami. Come back Soon!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights while moving son into apartment. It's centrally located close to Coconut Grove - but can't really walk to and from the hotel to the Grove. Free parking is a plus - the other Hampton Inns in the area charge for parking. The place is clean place is clean and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear nsb_TX,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you found our staff to be helpful and our guest rooms to be clean. We are also glad that you took advantage of the free parking, since not only other Hamptons, but every other hotel in the area of Coconut Grove charge for it. I am sorry that you could not walk to the Grove, although only seven blocks away from our hotel, we recommend to take a cab or a short drive. There is plenty of unexpensive parking options in the area.
Come back to see us when you visit your son. We would love to have you here again!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Budget, Free in...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Downtown
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#18 of 130 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Charming...
Show More
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Free internet...
Show More
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 130 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, FREE parking, business center, 32" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.